Find a nursing home

Home / Utah / Springville

Stonehenge of Springville

909 West 450 South, Springville, UT 84663 · Utah County · (801) 489-1900

50 certified beds · Government - Hospital district · Medicare and Medicaid since 1992

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
Not rated
CMS note: Not enough data available to calculate a star rating.
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 465130 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 5, 2025, inspectors cited 7 health deficiencies (the Utah average is 8.8, the national average 9.2).

Of 13 health citations since August 2021, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $1,764 in the last three years; the largest was $1,764, and the latest is dated September 18, 2023.

52.7% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Utah average 50.7%).

CMS links it to Stonehenge of Utah, an affiliated group of 5 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 13 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
9D
2E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 5, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 7 citations
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 2 of 24 sampled residents, that the facility failed to ensure that the resident environment remained as free of accident hazards as was possible and each resident received adequate supervision and assistance devices to prevent accidents. Specifically, a resident that was dependent on staff and required maximum assistance for bed mobility and toilet use was left alone, rolled out of the bed, and received a laceration and bilateral femur fractures. In addition, staff were not educated on how to keep a resident safe from choking who had a risk versus benefit signed. Resident identifiers: 5 and 35.
  2. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, and record review, for 3 of 24 residents sampled, the facility did not ensure that all alleged violations involving abuse, neglect, exploitation or mistreatment, including injuries of unknown source, were reported immediately, but not later than 2 hours after the allegation was made, to the State Survey Agency. Specifically, a resident had an assisted fall out of bed during cares, the same resident had a fall which resulted in a bilateral femur fractures, a resident threatened another resident with physical harm, and a resident choked on a plastic ring and the State Survey Agency was not notified after the allegation was identified. Resident identifiers:
  3. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, for 1 of 24 sampled residents, the facility did not develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan consistent with the resident's rights that included measurable objectives and timeframe's to meet a resident's medical, nursing, and mental and psychosocial needs that were identified in the comprehensive assessment. Specifically, a resident who had multiple falls had repeated interventions implemented after falls and staff were not aware of the interventions that were on the care plan. Resident identifier: 29.
  4. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 1 of 24 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that a resident who was continent of bladder on admission received services and assistance to maintain continence. Specifically, a resident was assessed a candidate for scheduled toileting and was not provided the services. Resident identifier: 25.
  5. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, for 1 of 24 residents, the facility did not ensure that residents who needed respiratory care were provided such care, consistent with professional standards of practice, the comprehensive person-centered care plan, and the resident's goals and preferences. Specifically, a resident did not have a physician order for the use of oxygen, and residents did not have properly labeled oxygen tubing. Resident identifiers: 20.
  6. D
    Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with mental disorder or psychosocial adjustment difficulty, or who has a history of trauma and/or post-traumatic stress disorder.
    F742 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, observation, and record review it was determined, for 1 of 24 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure residents who displayed or was diagnosed with mental disorder or psychosocial adjustment difficulty received appropriate treatment and services to correct the assessed problem or to attain the highest practicable mental and psychosocial well-being. Specifically, a resident diagnosed with depression and anxiety who verbalized she wanted to die and was ready to die, refused medications, displayed crying episodes, and threatened another resident with physical harm was not offered or provided behavioral health services. Resident identifier: 28.
  7. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 4, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 2 of 23 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure each resident's drug regimen was free from unnecessary drugs. An unnecessary drug was any drug when used in excessive dose; or for excessive duration; or without adequate monitoring; or without adequate indication for its use; or in the presence of adverse consequences which indicated that the dose should be reduced or discontinued. Specifically, resident's blood pressure (BP) support medication was administered outside of the physician's ordered parameters. Resident identifier: 20 and 238.
May 17, 2023Standard inspection · 0 citations
August 5, 2021Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
    F801 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined that the facility did not employ a clinically qualified full-time dietitian or other clinically qualified nutrition professional to serve as the director of food and nutrition services. Specifically, the facility did not employ a full time Registered Dietitian (RD) and the Dietary Manager (DM) did not meet the requirements to serve as the director of food and nutrition services.
  2. E
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 3 out of 28 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that the drug regimen of each resident was reviewed at least once a month by a licensed pharmacist, and any irregularities were reported to the attending physician, the facility's medical director and the Director of Nursing (DON) and these reports were acted upon. Additionally, the attending physician must document in the resident's medical record that the identified irregularity has been reviewed and what, if any, action has been taken to address it. Specifically, the pharmacist made recommendations to the attending physician that were not acted upon nor documented in the resident's medical record. Resident identifier: 2, 8, and 28.
  3. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 4 out of 28 sampled residents, that the facility did not maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections, including SARS-CoV-2. Specifically, observations were made of staff entering rooms on Transmission Based Precautions (TBP) without determining if aerosolized generating procedures (AGP) were in use and the necessary Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) was not donned, resident's Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) machines were not cleaned by staff, staff were observed not performing hand hygiene and changing gloves during wound care, and staff were observed not performing hand hygiene during meal delivery. Resident identifiers: [...]
  4. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 2 out of 28 sampled residents, that the facility did not develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident that included the services that were to be furnished to attain or maintain the highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being. Specifically, two resident's utilized a Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) machine and did not have a care plan in place to address this aerosol generating procedure. Resident identifiers: 14 and 22.
  5. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review it was determined, for 2 out of 28 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that a resident who needed respiratory care was provided such care, consistent with professional standards of practice, the comprehensive person-centered care plan, and the resident's goals and preferences. Specifically, two residents who utilized a Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) machine did not have orders for their CPAP equipment and treatment, and there was no resident monitoring for the use of the devices in place. Resident identifiers: 14 and 22.
  6. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review it was determined, for 2 out of 28 sampled residents, that the facility did not ensure that each resident's drug regimen was free from unnecessary drugs. An unnecessary drug was any drug when used in excessive dose (including duplicate therapy); or for excessive duration; or without adequate monitoring; or without adequate indications for its use; or in the presence of adverse consequences which indicate the dose should be reduced or discontinued; or any of these combinations. Specifically, medications were not administered per the physician ordered parameters and a resident was not monitored for complications associated with an anticoagulant use. Resident identifiers: 2 & 11.

Fire safety inspections

7 fire safety citations on file: 2 on March 5, 2025, 4 on May 17, 2023, 1 on August 5, 2021.

Every fire safety citation7 citations
  1. F
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · March 5, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · March 5, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Meet other general requirements.
    K 200 · May 17, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · May 17, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · May 17, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · May 17, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · August 5, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
September 18, 2023Fine $1,764

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeUtahUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported4.093.86
Registered nursesnot reported1.250.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.583.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)52.7%50.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover55.0%40.6%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.78 on weekdays and 3.28 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 1.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.25 in April to June 2025 to 3.64 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.641.293.783.28 1.0%0 of 9049
Oct to Dec 20253.731.363.923.23 0.3%0 of 9245
Jul to Sep 20254.221.304.463.60 0.7%0 of 9239
Apr to Jun 20254.251.264.453.73 0.9%0 of 9139
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Utah, Jan to Mar 20263.911.114.103.442.8%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeUtahUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.411.313.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.22.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.115.114.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.33.94.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.714.215.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
23.116.623.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
14.711.612.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: KANE COUNTY HUMAN RESOURCE SPECIAL SERVICE DISTRICT. CMS links this home to Stonehenge of Utah, a group of 5 nursing homes averaging 4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Cichos, TysonDirect ownership interestIndividual12/11/2017
Cloward, WyattDirect ownership interestIndividual12/11/2017
Kane County Human Resource Special Service DistrictIndirect ownership interestOrganization10/25/2021
Carrera, RoryIndirect ownership interestIndividual12/15/2022
Gillespie, DeborahIndirect ownership interestIndividual10/25/2021
Howells, StephenIndirect ownership interestIndividual10/25/2021
Loveless, KurtIndirect ownership interestIndividual10/25/2021
Pittard, JeffreyIndirect ownership interestIndividual12/31/2023
Howells, StephenCorporate officerIndividual12/20/1992
Loveless, KurtCorporate officerIndividual10/25/2021
Kane County Human Resource Special Service DistrictOperational/managerial controlOrganization10/25/2021
Salisbury Plain Healthcare LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization11/01/2025
Carrera, RoryOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/15/2022
Cichos, TysonOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/11/2017
Cloward, WyattOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/11/2017
Gillespie, DeborahOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/25/2021
Howells, StephenOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/25/2021
Loveless, KurtOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/25/2021
Pittard, JeffreyOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/31/2023
Kane County Human Resource Special Service DistrictAdp of the SNFOrganization02/26/2025
Salisbury Plain Healthcare LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization12/24/2025
Carrera, RoryAdp of the SNFIndividual12/15/2022
Cichos, TysonAdp of the SNFIndividual12/11/2017
Cloward, WyattAdp of the SNFIndividual12/11/2017
Gillespie, DeborahAdp of the SNFIndividual10/25/2021
Howells, StephenAdp of the SNFIndividual10/25/2021
Loveless, KurtAdp of the SNFIndividual10/25/2021
Pittard, JeffreyAdp of the SNFIndividual12/31/2023

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on March 5, 2025: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 5, 2025: "Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 5, 2025: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  4. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 5, 2025: "Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Utah contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Utah. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Stonehenge of Springville's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Stonehenge of Springville 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, no for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Stonehenge of Springville get at its last inspection?
7 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 5, 2025. The Utah average is 8.8.
Has Stonehenge of Springville been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $1,764 in the last three years.
Does Stonehenge of Springville accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Stonehenge of Springville?
CMS lists 28 owners and managers, and links the home to Stonehenge of Utah. Legal business name: KANE COUNTY HUMAN RESOURCE SPECIAL SERVICE DISTRICT.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection