Find a nursing home

Home / Minnesota / Duluth

The North Shore Estates LLC

7700 Grand Avenue, Duluth, MN 55807 · St. Louis County · (218) 628-2341

70 certified beds, about 64 residents a day · For profit - Partnership · Medicare and Medicaid since 1987

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 245483 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on February 12, 2026, inspectors cited 10 health deficiencies (the Minnesota average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 27 health citations since February 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.15 hours per resident per day, against 4.19 across Minnesota and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.62 of those hours.

32.1% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Minnesota average 42.2%).

CMS links it to Monarch Healthcare Management, an affiliated group of 45 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 27 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
16D
9E
2F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 8, 2026Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 24, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure allegations of potential verbal abuse and rough handling were immediately reported to the administration and State agency (SA) for 1 of 4 residents (R2) reviewed. A nursing assistant (NA) roughly handled R2 and made demeaning comments to him on 6/20/26 which were observed by another staff member; however, these allegations were not reported to the administrator until several days later; nor were they ever reported to the SA.
  2. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 24, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure allegations of physical and verbal abuse were thoroughly investigated and adequate follow up to prevent ongoing abuse for 1 of 4 residents (R2) reviewed. A nursing assistant (NA) had allegedly roughly handled R2 and made demeaning comments to him on 6/20/26 which were observed by another staff member; however, these allegations were not reported to the administrator until several days later nor thoroughly investigated to determine if abuse had occurred. Further, the delay in reporting allowed the alleged perpetrator (NA-E) to continue working unsupervised with other residents despite the allegations.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 24, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure behaviors, including behaviors which were bothersome to other residents, were comprehensively assessed and interventions developed to ensure a consistent, therapeutic approach was done for 1 of 4 residents (R2) reviewed. R2 demonstrated physical and verbal behaviors with care and others which were not assessed to develop consistent interventions the staff could attempt or use while providing care.
February 12, 2026Standard inspection · 10 citations
  1. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review the facility failed to ensure the following infection prevention measures occurred: utilization of proper isolation signage, handwashing, appropriate utilization of personal protective equipment (PPE) by staff, proper handling of laundry to prevent bacteria growth, and proper hand sanitization during meal tray pass to residents in their rooms. These deficient practices had the potential to impact all residents who resided at the facility. Isolation Signage and PPE Usage R9's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], indicated R9 was cognitively intact with diagnoses of hypertension, acute kidney failure, bipolar, and schizophrenia. R35 quarterly MDS dated [DATE], indicated R35 was cognitively intact with diagnoses of end stage renal disease with dialysis, diabetes and hypertension. [...]
  2. E
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure allegations of abuse were reported within 24 hours to the State Agency (SA) for 1 of 1 resident (R11) reviewed for abuse.
  3. E
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to ensure proper procedure, documentation and accounting procedures were followed for controlled substances reviewed for narcotic diversion.
  4. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review the facility failed to ensure medications were properly stored and secured during medication pass. In addition, the facility failed to ensure floor stock melatonin, 3 milligrams (mg) administered to residents was pharmaceutical grade. These deficient practices had the potential to impact all residents on or who could access the second floor and/or receive melatonin 3 mg.
  5. E
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    F804 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to serve food that remained at palatable temperatures through delivery of the food to the residents for 2 of 2 residents (R3, R61) reviewed for food quality concerns.
  6. E
    Ensure meals and snacks are served at times in accordance with resident’s needs, preferences, and requests. Suitable and nourishing alternative meals and snacks must be provided for residents who want to eat at non-traditional times or outside of scheduled meal times.
    F809 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure residents were offered a substantial snack when there were more than 14 hours between the dinner and breakfast meals.
  7. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure food was properly labeled and stored to prevent food-borne illness. In addition, the facility failed to ensure kitchen cleanliness was maintained in areas where food was prepared. These deficient practices had to potential to affect anyone who ate food prepared by the facility.
  8. D
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    F554 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure residents without an assessment and order to self-administer medications (SAM) were not left with prescription medications to take on their own for 1 of 1 resident (R61) reviewed for self-administration of medication.
  9. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interviews and document review the facility failed to ensure diabetic snacks were provided to 2 of 2 residents (R7, R57) reviewed for food service.
  10. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 18, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure provider-ordered interventions were in place for safe swallowing for 1 of 3 residents (R61) reviewed for accident hazards.
March 20, 2025Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review the facility failed to ensure ice packs for personal use were not stored with resident food. This had the potential to affect residents who stored or consumed food from the unit freezers.
  2. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to review and revise the care plan after discontinuation of self-administered medication for 1 of 1 residents (R50) reviewed for care planning.
  3. D
    Plan the resident's discharge to meet the resident's goals and needs.
    F660 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to provide ongoing, comprehensive discharge (DC) planning to a lower level-of-care for 1 of 2 residents (R49) reviewed for discharge planning.
  4. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review the facility failed to ensure oral cares were completed for 1 of 3 residents (R18) reviewed for personal cares.
  5. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on document review and interview, the facility failed to identify diagnoses or indications for use of medications for 1 of 5 residents (R1) reviewed for unnecessary medications.
  6. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to complete orthostatic blood pressure monitoring for an antipsychotic medication for 1 of 5 residents (R49), reviewed for unnecessary medication use.
February 1, 2024Standard inspection · 8 citations
  1. F
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    F921 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure kitchen equipment was kept in a clean and sanitary manner. This had the potential to affect all 54 residents, staff, and visitors who consumed food prepared in and/or served from the kitchen.
  2. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure that temperature-controlled medications were properly stored for 3 of 8 residents (R3, R9, R33) and any resident needing medications from the pharmacy-provided emergency kit.
  3. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure proper personal protective equipment use and hand sanitization occurred during food preparation. This had the ability to affect all residents, staff, and visitors who consumed food in the facility.
  4. D
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    F554 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review the facility failed to ensure medications were not left unattended at bedside for 1 of 1 resident (R16) reviewed for self-administration of medication.
  5. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to accurately code Minimum Data Set (MDS) for 1 of 4 residents (R25) reviewed for MDS accuracy.
  6. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to ensure provider orders for a c-pap (continuous positive airway pressure) [a machine that provides breathing support for individuals that experience pauses in breathing when they sleep] were followed for 1 of 1 resident (R206) reviewed for respiratory care.
  7. D
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    F698 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure post-dialysis access site monitoring was consistently completed to provide continuity of care and reduce the risk of complication (i.e., bleeding, clotting) for 1 of 1 residents (R33) reviewed for dialysis care.
  8. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to follow the most recent Centers for Disease Control (CDC) standards for offering and educating on pneumococcal vaccinations for 2 of 5 residents (R11, R29) reviewed for immunizations. This had the potential to affect all residents who were eligible for the pneumococcal booster.

Fire safety inspections

17 fire safety citations on file: 6 on February 12, 2026, 8 on March 20, 2025, 3 on February 1, 2024.

Every fire safety citation17 citations
  1. F
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Have restrictions on the use of highly flammable decorations.
    K 753 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. C
    Have stairways and smokeproof enclosures used as exits that meet safety requirements.
    K 225 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Install properly constructed and protected linen or trash chutes.
    K 541 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · March 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · February 1, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · February 1, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · February 1, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.154.193.86
Registered nurses0.621.060.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.833.713.42
Nurse aides2.06
Licensed practical nurses0.47
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)32.1%42.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover30.0%38.6%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.11 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.28 on weekdays and 2.83 on weekends, 14% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 1.7% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.22 in April to June 2025 to 3.15 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.150.623.282.83 1.7%0 of 9064
Oct to Dec 20253.260.703.382.98 4.9%0 of 9264
Jul to Sep 20253.250.683.372.95 8.3%0 of 9263
Apr to Jun 20253.220.773.362.87 6.7%0 of 9163
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Minnesota, Jan to Mar 20264.191.054.383.735.2%0.8% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Minnesota

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Minnesota, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$22.44$19.39 to $23.7229,120
LPNs and LVNs$30.65$28.83 to $34.2612,840
Registered nurses$48.80$42.76 to $55.1770,110
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
16.418.213.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.51.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.42.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.44.03.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
26.020.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.25.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.817.115.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
17.323.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
22.114.812.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.31.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.81.91.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: THE NORTH SHORE ESTATES LLC. CMS links this home to Monarch Healthcare Management, a group of 45 nursing homes averaging 2.2 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Hml LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization12%07/01/2016
Nij LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization14%07/01/2016
Spartan Healthcare LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization23%07/01/2016
Yazoma Holdings, LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization23%07/01/2016
Arem, Jeffrey5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual14%07/01/2016
Stern, William5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual15%07/01/2016
Halpert, Marc5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual23%07/01/2016
Jaffa, Noam5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual14%07/01/2016
Legum, Joshua5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual23%07/01/2016
Muencz, Jeffrey5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual12%07/01/2016
Legum, JoshuaW-2 managing employeeIndividual07/01/2016
Halpert, MarcCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2016
Stern, WilliamCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2016
Monarch Healthcare Operating IV LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization07/01/2016

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on July 8, 2026: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on February 12, 2026: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on February 12, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on July 8, 2026: "Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.83 hours per resident per day, below the Minnesota average of 3.71.

Other nursing homes nearby

Minnesota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Minnesota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is The North Shore Estates LLC's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates The North Shore Estates LLC 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did The North Shore Estates LLC get at its last inspection?
10 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on February 12, 2026. The Minnesota average is 7.1.
Has The North Shore Estates LLC been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does The North Shore Estates LLC accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns The North Shore Estates LLC?
CMS lists 14 owners and managers, and links the home to Monarch Healthcare Management. Legal business name: THE NORTH SHORE ESTATES LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection