Find a nursing home

Home / Oklahoma / Vian

Vian Nursing & Rehab, LLC

305 North Thornton, Vian, OK 74962 · Sequoyah County · (918) 773-5258

133 certified beds, about 56 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 2003

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 375433 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 24, 2025, inspectors cited 6 health deficiencies (the Oklahoma average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 22 health citations since August 2022, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,278 in the last three years; the largest was $8,278, and the latest is dated July 18, 2025.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.40 hours per resident per day, against 3.79 across Oklahoma and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.18 of those hours.

48.6% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Oklahoma average 55.5%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 22 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
15D
5E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 18, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident was not burned by a hot drink for 1 (#1) of 4 sampled residents reviewed for accident hazards related to hot drinks. The administrator identified 53 residents resided at the facility.
April 24, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 6 citations
  1. E
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure form CMS-10055 included an estimated cost of skilled services the resident would need to pay in the absence of Medicare coverage for 3 (#31, 37, and #60) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for beneficiary notices. MDS Coordinator #1 stated nine residents had been discharged from skilled nursing services between 10/21/24 and 04/21/25.
  2. E
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident received prescribed supplemental feedings for 1 (#50) of 1 sampled resident reviewed for neglect. The administrator reported the facility census was 56.
  3. E
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure residents were provided with a written notice of transfer prior to being transferred to a hospital for 2 (#1 and #21) of 2 sampled residents reviewed for hospitalizations. The DON stated 52 residents were transferred to a hospital between 10/23/24 and 04/23/25.
  4. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to thoroughly investigate an allegation of neglect for 1 (#50) of 2 sampled residents reviewed for neglect. The administrator reported the facility census was 56.
  5. D
    Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
    F636 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure an admission MDS assessment was completed within 14 days of admission for 1 (#110) of 5 sampled residents reviewed for MDS assessments. The administrator reported the facility census was 56.
  6. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident was not prescribed and administered an antipsychotic medication for the diagnosis of dementia for 1 (#44) of 5 sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The ADON stated 11 residents at the facility were prescribed antipsychotic medications.
March 21, 2024Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    F607 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to follow their abuse prevention policy by not obtaining criminal background checks and reporting an allegation of abuse with the two hours time frame. The DON identified 50 residents resided in the facility.
  2. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure all allegations of abuse were reported within two hours of the reported incident for one (Res #1) of four residents sampled for abuse. The DON identified 50 residents residing in the facility.
December 21, 2023Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 11 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview the facility failed to store, prepare, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. The administrator identified 44 residents resided in the facility.
  2. E
    Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
    F881 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to consistently monitor antibiotic use for two (#10 and #22) of three sampled residents whose medications were reviewed. The facility failed to evaluate the need for antibiotics prior to ordering and administering antibiotics. The ADON identified 44 residents resided in the facility.
  3. D
    Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
    F604 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure to remove a lab buddy restraint every two hours for one (#6) of one resident reviewed for restraints. The ADON identified 44 residents resided in the facility.
  4. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure misappropriation of resident's property was reported to the required agencies within the required timeframe for one (#3) of one sampled resident whose financial records were reviewed. The administrator identified 44 residents who resided in the facility
  5. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a thorough investigation was completed regarding misappropriation of resident's property for one (#3) of one sampled resident whose financial records were reviewed. The administrator identified 44 residents who resided in the facility
  6. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure MDS assessments accurately reflected the residents' status for one (#13) related to physician contraindication of a GDR and for one (#18) related to a physician prescribed weight loss regimen of 12 residents whose assessments were reviewed. The administrator identified 44 residents resided in the facility.
  7. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure wound assessments were completed to include the location of the wound for one (#45) of two resident whose pressure ulcers were reviewed and failed to follow infection control practices during wound care treatment for two (#13 and #45) of two residents reviewed for pressure ulcers. The administrator identified 44 residents resided in the facility.
  8. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure infection control practices were followed to help prevent urinary tract infections for one (#45) of one resident reviewed for catheters. The administrator identified 44 residents resided in the facility.
  9. D
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to document and make accessible to all residents and daily staffing information. The administrator identified 44 residents resided in the facility.
  10. D
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure significant medication errors did not occur for one (#13) of five residents whose medications were reviewed. The administrator identified 44 residents resided in the facility.
  11. D
    Provide timely, quality laboratory services/tests to meet the needs of residents.
    F770 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure lab tests were collected as ordered for one (#13) of five sampled residents reviewed for lab services. The administrator identified 44 residents resided in the facility.
August 8, 2022Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    F698 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 5, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to perform complete post dialysis assessments for one (#49) of one sampled residents who was reviewed for dialysis. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents form documented two residents received dialysis.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 5, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure residents with limited range of motion received services to prevent further limitation for one (#23) of two sampled residents who were reviewed for range of motion. The DON identified 12 residents who had limited range of motion.

Fire safety inspections

10 fire safety citations on file: 2 on April 24, 2025, 3 on December 21, 2023, 5 on August 8, 2022.

Every fire safety citation10 citations
  1. F
    Properly provide smoke detection systems in areas open to corridors.
    K 347 · April 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Ensure that corridors are separated from use areas by walls constructed to limit the passage of smoke.
    K 362 · April 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · December 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · December 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · December 21, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · August 8, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Have exits that are accessible at all times.
    K 271 · August 8, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · August 8, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. E
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · August 8, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. E
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · August 8, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
July 18, 2025Fine $8,278

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.403.793.86
Registered nurses0.180.340.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.803.443.42
Nurse aides3.36
Licensed practical nurses0.86
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)48.6%55.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported53.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.15 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.64 on weekdays and 3.80 on weekends, 18% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 11.7% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.45 in April to June 2025 to 4.40 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.400.184.643.80 11.7%0 of 9056
Oct to Dec 20254.360.184.593.78 2.9%1 of 9257
Jul to Sep 20254.480.244.743.81 0.5%0 of 9255
Apr to Jun 20254.450.254.773.65 1.1%2 of 9158
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Oklahoma, Jan to Mar 20263.790.323.943.422.2%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Oklahoma

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Oklahoma, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$17.27$15.82 to $18.3919,410
LPNs and LVNs$28.04$24.06 to $29.8411,540
Registered nurses$39.87$37.19 to $47.5538,270
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.913.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.01.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.82.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.94.73.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.61.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.713.714.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.14.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.617.515.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.92.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.43.01.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: VIAN NURSING & REHAB LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Montgomery, Schuyler5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual50%05/06/2009
Montgomery, Bobbie5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual50%05/12/2009
Farris, AlisonOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/20/2018
Montgomery, SchuylerOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/06/2009
Farris, AlisonAdp of the SNFIndividual08/20/2018
Sullivan, CaryAdp of the SNFIndividual12/08/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 7 problems in this area, most recently on April 24, 2025: "Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on July 18, 2025: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 24, 2025: "Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on April 24, 2025: "Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months."

Other nursing homes nearby

Oklahoma contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Oklahoma. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Vian Nursing & Rehab, LLC's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Vian Nursing & Rehab, LLC 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Vian Nursing & Rehab, LLC get at its last inspection?
6 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 24, 2025. The Oklahoma average is 6.4.
Has Vian Nursing & Rehab, LLC been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,278 in the last three years.
Does Vian Nursing & Rehab, LLC accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Vian Nursing & Rehab, LLC?
CMS lists 6 owners and managers. Legal business name: VIAN NURSING & REHAB LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection