Find a nursing home

Home / Virginia / Harrisonburg

Vmrc, Complete Living Care

1475 Virginia Avenue, Harrisonburg, VA 22802 · Rockingham County · (540) 564-3500

120 certified beds, about 106 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2005

Last standard inspection more than 2 years ago Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 495385 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 15, 2023, inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies (the Virginia average is 14.3, the national average 9.2).

None of its 11 health citations since November 2018 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 11 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
3E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
March 15, 2023Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
    F806 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 12, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, resident interview, and facility document review, the facility staff failed to accommodate food preferences, food intolerance's and/or allergies for two of 21 residents in the survey sample, Resident #71 and Resident #72.
  2. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 12, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview and facility document review the facility staff failed to ensure food temperatures were obtained prior to serving food and failed to maintain food temperature logs in 4 of six houses ([NAME], [NAME], [NAME], [NAME]).
  3. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 12, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, facility document review, and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to follow professional standards of practice for one of thirteen residents in the survey sample.
  4. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 12, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on a medication pass and pour observation, staff interview and facility document review, the facility staff failed to ensure infection control practices were followed for the administration of medications.
  5. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 12, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and staff interview, the facility failed to post nurse staffing information for all nursing areas. There was no nurse staffing posted for the six residential houses on the facility campus.
July 21, 2021Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 20, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to follow physician orders for 2 of 22 residents in the survey sample, Resident #37 and Resident #287. Fluid intake for Resident #37 and Resident #287 was not monitored and documented as ordered by the physician.
November 29, 2018Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 11, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and facility document review, the facility staff failed to implement a program for prevention of Legionella and other waterborne pathogens and failed to ensure infection control policies were reviewed annually. The facility failed to perform a risk assessment to identify where Legionella and other waterborne pathogens could grow and/or spread; failed to implement a water management program based upon industry standards and/or the CDC (centers for disease control) toolkit and; failed to perform and document specified testing for prevention of Legionella. In addition, the facility had performed no annual review of infection control policies.
  2. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 11, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview and facility document review, the facility staff failed to store, prepare and serve food in a sanitary manner in the main kitchen. [NAME] slaw, which temped at 53 degrees and was made with mayonnaise was served for the lunchtime meal in one of eight houses on the facility campus.
  3. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 11, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, facility document review and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to honor the right to refuse medications for one of 25 residents in the survey sample. A nurse forced Resident #56 to take medications against her wishes by holding down her arms, pinching her nose closed until her mouth opened and pushing her lips against her teeth.
  4. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 11, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, facility document review and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to ensure one of 25 residents was free from physical abuse that included restraint. A nurse forced Resident #56 to take medications by holding down her arms, pinching her nose closed until her mouth opened and pushing her lips against her teeth in an attempt to get her to swallow and/or take medications.
  5. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 11, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on medication pass and pour observation, staff interview and clinical record review, facility staff failed to administer a medication per manufacturer guidelines for one of 25 residents in the survey sample, Resident #52. Facility staff failed to administer Levothyroxine per manufacturer guidelines, (on an empty stomach) for Resident #52.

Fire safety inspections

11 fire safety citations on file: 2 on July 21, 2021, 9 on November 29, 2018.

Every fire safety citation11 citations
  1. E
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · July 21, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Have proper power supply for life support equipment.
    K 915 · July 21, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · November 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · November 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · November 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Install a fire alarm system that can be heard throughout the facility.
    K 341 · November 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · November 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · November 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · November 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · November 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · November 29, 2018 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeVirginiaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.763.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.690.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.293.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported48.2%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 6.03 on weekdays and 5.36 on weekends, 11% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.50 in April to June 2025 to 5.84 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.840.586.035.36 0.0%0 of 90106
Oct to Dec 20254.330.504.503.90 0.0%2 of 92111
Jul to Sep 20255.880.626.065.43 0.0%0 of 92110
Apr to Jun 20255.500.655.675.07 0.0%0 of 91111
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Virginia, Jan to Mar 20263.580.563.763.125.7%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeVirginiaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.314.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.40.40.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.11.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.43.63.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.91.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.815.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.34.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.114.215.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
25.422.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
9.811.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.81.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.81.51.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: VIRGINIA MENNONITE HOME INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Bert, DarylManaging control - governing bodyIndividual04/01/2024
Blosser, KellyManaging control - governing bodyIndividual04/01/2024
Blosser, MyronManaging control - governing bodyIndividual04/01/2024
Boshart-Yoder, TeresaManaging control - governing bodyIndividual04/01/2024
Hartman, JacquelineManaging control - governing bodyIndividual04/01/2024
Hollar, HunterManaging control - governing bodyIndividual04/01/2024
King, DebraManaging control - governing bodyIndividual04/01/2024
Seitz, RandyManaging control - governing bodyIndividual04/01/2024
Smucker, DavidManaging control - governing bodyIndividual04/01/2024
Yoder, LauraManaging control - governing bodyIndividual04/01/2024
Bert, DarylCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2020
Blosser, KellyCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2021
Blosser, MyronCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2022
Boshart-Yoder, TeresaCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2018
Hartman, JacquelineCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2014
Hollar, HunterCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2018
King, DebraCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2021
Seitz, RandyCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2020
Smucker, DavidCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2020
Yoder, LauraCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2024
Bell, DonaldCorporate officerIndividual04/01/2024
Piper, MichaelCorporate officerIndividual11/08/2002
Thorpe, RebeccaCorporate officerIndividual03/12/2018
Virginia Mennonite Retirement Community IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization10/01/1988
Bell, DonaldOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/15/2024
Bert, DarylOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/15/2024
Blosser, KellyOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/15/2024
Blosser, MyronOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/15/2024
Boshart-Yoder, TeresaOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/15/2024
Hartman, JacquelineOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/15/2024
Hollar, HunterOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/15/2024
King, DebraOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/15/2024
Piper, MichaelOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/15/2024
Seitz, RandyOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/15/2024
Smucker, DavidOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/15/2024
Thorpe, RebeccaOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/15/2024
Yoder, LauraOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/15/2024
Virginia Mennonite Retirement Community IncAdp of the SNFOrganization11/15/2024
Thorpe, RebeccaAdp of the SNFIndividual12/27/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 15, 2023: "Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 15, 2023: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 21, 2021: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 15, 2023: "Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality."

Other nursing homes nearby

Virginia contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Virginia. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Vmrc, Complete Living Care's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Vmrc, Complete Living Care 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Vmrc, Complete Living Care get at its last inspection?
5 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 15, 2023. The Virginia average is 14.3.
Has Vmrc, Complete Living Care been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Vmrc, Complete Living Care accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Vmrc, Complete Living Care?
CMS lists 39 owners and managers. Legal business name: VIRGINIA MENNONITE HOME INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection