Find a nursing home

Home / South Carolina / Rock Hill

Westminster Health & Rehab Center

831 McDow Drive, Rock Hill, SC 29732 · York County · (803) 328-5000

11 certified beds, about 7 residents a day · Non profit - Church related · Medicare since 1990

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 425291 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on February 25, 2026, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the South Carolina average is 3.7, the national average 9.2).

Of 11 health citations since May 2023, 2 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (2 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 2 fines totaling $16,997 in the last three years; the largest was $8,499, and the latest is dated January 12, 2024.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.85 hours per resident per day, against 3.84 across South Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.66 of those hours.

28.6% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (South Carolina average 45.9%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 11 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
2J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
7D
0E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
February 25, 2026Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 13, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure raw meat was stored properly in the walk-in refrigerator. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all 6 residents who currently resided in the facility.
  2. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 13, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure transfer and discharge notifications were sent to a representative of the State Long Term Care (LTC) Ombudsman for 2 (Resident (R)6 and R8) of 2 sampled closed records reviewed.
  3. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 13, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure their medication error rate was not greater than 5 percent (%). There were 2 errors out of 29 opportunities, which resulted in a medication error rate of 6.9% for 2 (Resident (R)9 and R11) of 3 residents observed for medication administration.
March 20, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to prevent potential accidents related to over the counter (OTC) medication's being at bedside for Resident (R)1, for one of one resident reviewed for accidents hazards.
  2. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure that all drugs and biologicals used in the facility were labeled in accordance to professional standards including expiration dates, for 1 of 1 treatment cart.
  3. D
    Keep all essential equipment working safely.
    F908 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure an excessive amount of lint was removed from 2 of 2 clothes dryers. The lint was noted above and behind the lint basket and on the 3 inside walls of the clothes dryers.
January 12, 2024Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. J
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    F580 · Resident Rights · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, interview and record review, the facility failed to accurately notify the physician of all pertinent information with regards to a significant medication error. Specifically, on [DATE], the facility reported to the Medical Director that Resident (R)1 received twice the dosage of insulin when R1 actually received ten times the dosage of insulin. Furthermore, the facility failed to notify the Medical Director of changes in blood sugar for a two-hour period. On [DATE] at approximately 3:00 PM, the State Agency (SA) determined that the facility's non-compliance with one or more federal health, safety, and/or quality regulations has caused or was likely to cause serious injury, serious harm, serious impairment, or death. [...]
  2. J
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, interview and record review, the facility failed to protect 1 of 4 residents from significant medication errors. Specifically, on [DATE] at 1:19 PM, Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)1 administered 80 units of insulin to Resident (R)1 when he was supposed to receive 8 units. This failure placed R1 at risk for serious harm and/or death due low blood sugars that could potentially cause seizures, hypoglycemic coma, or death. On [DATE] at approximately 3:00 PM, the State Agency (SA) determined that the facility's non-compliance with one or more federal health, safety, and/or quality regulations has caused or was likely to cause serious injury, serious harm, serious impairment, or death. On [DATE] at 6:15 PM, the facility was notified that the failure to administer the prescribed dosage of insulin to R1 constituted Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) at F760. [...]
May 18, 2023Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    F554 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 7, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and facility's policy review, the facility failed to ensure one resident (Resident (R)5) of nine sampled residents, did not self-administer her inhalant nebulizer medication without an assessment and physician's order to self-administration the medication. The facility's deficient practice increased R5's risk for adverse medication reactions.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 7, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, review of records, and review of facility policies, the facility failed to ensure: 1. a physician's order was obtained for blood sugar fingersticks for two residents ((R)4 and R2); and 2. R4's insulin physician's orders were correct on the Medication Administration Record (MAR) out of five residents sampled for unnecessary medications.
  3. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 7, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, records and facility policy review, the facility failed to post daily nurse staffing with facility name, date, census, and the total numbers/actual hours worked per shift for licensed and unlicensed staff responsible for resident's care in a prominent location (accessible to residents and visitors). The facility's failure increased the risk that residents and visitors would not know if there were sufficient staff for each shift to care for the residents.

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
January 12, 2024Fine $8,498
January 12, 2024Fine $8,499

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeSouth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.853.843.86
Registered nurses1.660.630.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.843.333.42
Nurse aides1.36
Licensed practical nurses0.84
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)28.6%45.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.40 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.26 on weekdays and 2.84 on weekends, 33% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.45 in April to June 2025 to 3.85 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.851.664.262.84 0.0%1 of 907
Oct to Dec 20254.502.014.743.85 0.0%1 of 926
Jul to Sep 20255.552.906.203.78 0.0%0 of 926
Apr to Jun 20254.451.984.783.63 0.0%1 of 917
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
South Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.620.533.813.137.2%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeSouth CarolinaUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.41.51.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
22.424.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
10.813.912.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: WESTMINSTER PRESBYTERIAN CENTER INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Redmon, GlendaW-2 managing employeeIndividual11/22/2016
Emerson, LindaCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Hayes, RobertCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Heckard, RichardCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Huitt, SigmonCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2010
Little, JohnCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2017
Richter, DonnaCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Rinehart, JohnCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2019
Rocquemore, TanyaCorporate directorIndividual07/31/2018
Bright, JamesCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2019
Cope, JacobCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2017
Thomason, JamesCorporate officerIndividual10/03/2016
Johnson, KevinOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/13/2017

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on February 25, 2026: "Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on February 25, 2026: "Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 20, 2025: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 25, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.84 hours per resident per day, below the South Carolina average of 3.33.

Other nursing homes nearby

South Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in South Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Westminster Health & Rehab Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Westminster Health & Rehab Center 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Westminster Health & Rehab Center get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on February 25, 2026. The South Carolina average is 3.7.
Has Westminster Health & Rehab Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 2 fines totaling $16,997 in the last three years.
Does Westminster Health & Rehab Center accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Westminster Health & Rehab Center?
CMS lists 13 owners and managers. Legal business name: WESTMINSTER PRESBYTERIAN CENTER INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection