Find a nursing home

Home / Tennessee / Bartlett

Ave Maria Home

2805 Charles Bryan Rd, Bartlett, TN 38134 · Shelby County · (901) 386-3211

100 certified beds, about 93 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2009

Last standard inspection more than 2 years ago Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 445490 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on May 12, 2022, inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies (the Tennessee average is 4.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 18 health citations since March 2019, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 2 fines totaling $27,921 in the last three years; the largest was $17,882, and the latest is dated March 28, 2024.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.76 hours per resident per day, against 3.80 across Tennessee and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.51 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 18 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
1J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
10D
6E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 28, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. J
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 2, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, wunderground.com, medical record review, observation and interview, the facility failed to provide adequate supervision and an environment free of accident hazards for cognitively impaired residents and residents at risk of elopement for 2 of 5 (Resident #1 and #5) sampled residents reviewed for elopement and accident hazards. On 6/7/2023, Resident #1, a severely cognitively impaired resident, left the facility around lunch time without staff knowledge in her wheelchair, went down the facility drive, down a hill toward the facility dumpster, and was out of the facility at least 15 minutes. A facility staff member found Resident #1 when the staff member was going towards the dumpster, 360 feet from the facility. [...]
May 12, 2022Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 20, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure a safe and secure environment and failed to ensure fall risk assessments were completed for 4 of 4 sampled residents (Resident #8, #49, #55, and 239) reviewed for accident hazards and falls.
  2. D
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 10, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to complete discharge assessments for 1 of 21 sampled residents (Resident #1) reviewed for completion of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment.
  3. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 23, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure assessments were completed to accurately reflect the residents' status for hospice services and Activities of Daily Living (ADL) for 2 or 21 sampled residents (Resident #28 and Resident #71) reviewed for Minimum Data Assessments (MDS).
  4. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 23, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to revise the Care Plan to reflect the residents' current status for 2 of 21 sampled residents (Resident #28) reviewed for Care Plans.
  5. D
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    F698 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and interview, the facility failed to provide communication from the dialysis center and failed to provide care and services for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #17) reviewed for dialysis.
February 21, 2020Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 6, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, observation, and interview the facility failed to revise the care plan to reflect the resident's current status for wounds and the use of a wanderguard 3 of 21 sampled residents (Residents #8, #14, and #44) reviewed.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 6, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to document treatments for pressure ulcers for 1 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #91) reviewed with pressure ulcers.
March 7, 2019Standard inspection · 10 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, monthly temperature chart review, observations and interview, the facility failed to ensure food was stored, prepared, and served under sanitary conditions when refrigerator and freezer temperatures were not documented twice per day in 4 of 9 (Green House (GH) #2, 4, 5 and 8) [NAME] Houses, food was not stored in sealed containers, and open foods were not labeled in 3 of 9 (GH #7, 8 and 9) [NAME] Houses. This had the potential to affect 61 residents that received meals from these [NAME] House kitchens.
  2. E
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, abuse investigation review, and interview, the facility failed to report an alleged abuse within the required time allotment for 2 of 4 (Resident #135 and #188) residents involved in an abuse allegation.
  3. E
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, disciplinary report review, staff working schedule review, and interview, the facility failed to prevent further potential abuse for 2 of 4 (Resident #135 and #188) residents reviewed for abuse.
  4. E
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on document review, observation, and interview the facility failed to ensure daily staffing information was posted in a prominent place, readily accessible to residents and visitors in 6 of 9 (Green House (GH) #1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 8) [NAME] Houses, and failed to document on the staffing postings the total number of actual hours worked by licensed and unlicensed nursing staff directly responsible for resident care each shift in 9 of 9 (GH #1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9) [NAME] Houses for 94 of 94 days of daily staff postings reviewed.
  5. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, observation, and interview the facility failed to ensure medications and biologicals were stored safely and securely when medications were left unattended by 2 of 4 (Staff Development Coordinator and Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #3) nurses observed during medication administration.
  6. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure practices to prevent infections and cross-contamination when staff failed to keep an indwelling catheter off the floor for 2 of 4 (Resident #3 and #186) sampled residents reviewed for indwelling urinary catheters, staff failed to maintain sterile technique during a catheter bag change, staff failed to perform site care to a peripherally inserted central catheter (PICC) for 1 of 1 (Resident #66) residents with a PICC line, and staff failed to wash a contaminated drinking container for 1 of 12 (Resident #66) residents in [NAME] House #7.
  7. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure Resident #40 was treated with respect and dignity when 1 of 18 (Shahbaz , the certified nursing assistant manager of the [NAME] House home, #3) staff referred to a clothing protector as a bib during the dining observation.
  8. D
    Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
    F636 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure a comprehensive Minimum Data Set (MDS) was completed for activities for 1 of 22 (Resident #17) sampled residents reviewed.
  9. D
    Provide timely, quality laboratory services/tests to meet the needs of residents.
    F770 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, and interview the facility failed to provide timely laboratory services to meet the needs of 1 of 5 (Resident #69) sampled residents.
  10. D
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to document significant changes in the resident's medical condition in the medical record for 1 of 3 (Resident #1) residents reviewed for hospitalization and failed to ensure medical information was kept private and confidential for 1 of 10 (Resident #187) residents in [NAME] House (GH) #8.

Fire safety inspections

4 fire safety citations on file: 2 on February 21, 2020, 2 on March 7, 2019.

Every fire safety citation4 citations
  1. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · February 21, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Ensure that gas fire places are out of the reach of patients and can be shut off if unit is working improperly.
    K 524 · February 21, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · March 7, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · March 7, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
March 28, 2024Fine $10,039
March 28, 2024Fine $17,882
March 28, 2024Payment Denial 94 days from March 30, 2024

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.763.803.86
Registered nurses0.510.600.69
All nursing staff on weekends5.133.313.42
Nurse aides3.78
Licensed practical nurses1.47
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported43.2%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.54 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 6.01 on weekdays and 5.13 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 6.3% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 6.10 in July to September 2025 to 5.76 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.760.516.015.13 6.3%0 of 9093
Oct to Dec 20256.280.646.545.59 3.9%0 of 9288
Jul to Sep 20256.100.576.375.41 8.2%0 of 9293
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Tennessee, Jan to Mar 20263.750.563.953.274.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
31.614.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.50.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.51.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.53.43.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.41.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
50.617.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.45.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.016.915.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
31.122.623.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
11.111.212.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.11.71.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.51.61.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: AVE MARIA HOME.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Johnson, Danny5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual34%01/01/2019
McGraw, William5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual33%01/01/2023
O'Toole, Jeannie5% or greater indirect ownership interestIndividual33%01/01/2023
Johnson, DannyCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2019
McGraw, WilliamCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
O'Toole, JeannieCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
Wilson, EmmanuelOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/26/2025
Hines, ElbertAdp of the SNFIndividual05/13/2026
Wilson, EmmanuelAdp of the SNFIndividual11/24/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on May 12, 2022: "Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on March 28, 2024: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 7, 2019: "Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 7, 2019: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."

Other nursing homes nearby

Tennessee contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Tennessee. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Ave Maria Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Ave Maria Home 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Ave Maria Home get at its last inspection?
5 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on May 12, 2022. The Tennessee average is 4.4.
Has Ave Maria Home been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 2 fines totaling $27,921 in the last three years.
Does Ave Maria Home accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Ave Maria Home?
CMS lists 9 owners and managers. Legal business name: AVE MARIA HOME.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection