Find a nursing home

Home / Kentucky / Clinton

Clinton Place

106 Padgett Drive, Clinton, KY 42031 · Hickman County · (270) 653-5558

91 certified beds, about 87 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 2012

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 185469 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on August 29, 2025, inspectors cited 4 health deficiencies (the Kentucky average is 2.9, the national average 9.2).

Of 14 health citations since March 2019, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,512 in the last three years; the largest was $8,512, and the latest is dated June 28, 2024.

34.7% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Kentucky average 46.4%).

CMS links it to Simcha Hyman & Naftali Zanziper, an affiliated group of 79 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 14 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
11D
0E
2F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
August 29, 2025Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure residents' rights were protected related to meal service for 2 residents out of the 20 sampled residents, (Resident (R)70 and R81).
  2. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to store medication in accordance with accepted standards of practice, which had the potential to affect 83 out of 83 facility residents.
  3. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to store food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety, which had the potential to affect 20 of the facility's 83 residents.
  4. D
    Make sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area.
    F919 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 22, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to ensure all bathrooms were equipped with call lights at each toilet that was accessible to residents who sustained a fall, and was lying on the floor.
June 28, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. G
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 29, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, interviews, and facility policy review it was determined that the facility failed to provide quality of care related to skin impairment and Activities of Daily Living for one of 33 sampled residents. (Resident #45 (R45)). On 07/15/2023 at 12:44 AM, nursing observed small white insects approximately 3 cm [centimeters] in size what appeared to look like small worms, in creases of resident's wound beds on both lower extremities. The resident had a temp of 101.6 and was complaining of chills and sweats. Resident 45 was sent to the emergency room for evaluation. Additionally, staff documented on 06/01/2024 and 06/02/2024 the resident had white particles on her outer thigh area of BLE (bilateral extremities), in the resident abdominal folds, and inner creases of BLE. [...]
  2. F
    Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
    F925 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 29, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interviews, record review, and review of the facility's policy it was determined the facility failed to maintain an effective pest control program to ensure it was free of pests. All 81 residents had the potential to be affected. On 07/15/2023, 06/01/2024, and 06/02/2024, Resident (R) 45 was found to have maggots in her skin folds and bilateral lower extremity wound beds. Observation on 06/27/2024 at 1:42 PM revealed flies in R45's room with one fly on the resident's face and one fly on the left side of the resident's neck. Refer to F684.
March 29, 2019Standard inspection · 8 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure food was stored in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. Kitchen observation on 03/26/19, revealed ice build-up on a shelf below the fan and an area of the floor of the walk-in freezer. Review of the Census and Condition, dated 03/26/19, revealed sixty-five (65) of sixty-seven (67) residents received their food from the kitchen.
  2. D
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    F580 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to notify the representative of one (1) of twenty-three (23) sampled residents of a medication change (Resident #45). On 03/02/19, an order was written to discontinue Resident #45's Celexa; however, staff failed to notify Resident #45's representative.
  3. D
    Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition
    F637 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and review of the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) 3.0 User's Manual, it was determined the facility failed to complete a Significant Change in Status Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment for three (3) of twenty-three (23) sampled residents (Residents #5, #36, and #43). Resident #36 had a decline in activities of daily living (ADL's), bowel and bladder continence, cognition, and a significant weight loss from 10/28/18 to 01/24/19; Resident #43 had a decline in four (4) areas of ADL's; and, Resident #5 had an Improvement in three (3) areas of ADL's. However, further review of the residents' MDS assessments revealed a significant change in condition was not identified and a Significant Change MDS assessment was not completed per the RAI 3.0 Users Manual.
  4. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and review of facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to develop a person-centered care plan for each resident that includes measurable objectives and time frames to meet a resident's medical, nursing, mental and psychosocial needs that are identified in the comprehensive assessment for three (3) of twenty-three (23) sampled residents, (Residents #36, #9, and #52). Record review revealed the facility failed to develop a person-centered, individualized activities of daily living care plan for Resident #36; a care plan to reflect the care of a resident with dementia for Resident #9; and a care plan for care of a resident with a Urinary Tract Infection for Resident #52.
  5. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and facility policy review it was determined the facility failed to revise the care plan for one (1) of twenty-three (23) sampled residents (Resident #60). Resident #60 received hemodialysis three (3) times a week and had a physician order for staff to palpate for bruit and thrill in left arm every shift. However, the comprehensive care plan did not reflect the intervention and there was no documented evidence the assessment of the site was completed
  6. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and review of the facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure that a resident who is continent of bladder and bowel on admission receives services and assistance to maintain continence unless his or her clinical condition is or becomes such that continence is not possible to maintain for two (2) of twenty-three (23) sampled residents (Residents #36 and #42). Resident #36 and Resident #42 had a decline in bowel and bladder status; however, a bowel and bladder assessment was not completed nor was a bowel and bladder program put in place to attempt to restore the residents to his/her previous continent status or prevent further decline per facility policy.
  7. D
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    F698 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure that residents who require dialysis receive such services, consistent with professional standards of practice, the comprehensive person-centered care plan, and the residents' goals and preferences for two (2) of twenty-three (23) sampled residents (Residents #41 and #60). Resident #41 received dialysis on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday and Resident #60 received dialysis on Monday's Wednesdays and Fridays; however, the facility failed to assess the residents' fistulas for thrill (a pulsing feeling), bruit (a whoosh), and signs and symptoms of infections per facility policy.
  8. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and review of facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility were dated/labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles. On 03/26/19, observation of one (2) of two (4) medications carts on Side Two hall and the Lighthouse Unit, revealed staff failed to date medications when opened per facility policy.

Fire safety inspections

21 fire safety citations on file: 1 on June 9, 2026, 8 on August 29, 2025, 9 on June 28, 2024, 3 on March 29, 2019.

Every fire safety citation21 citations
  1. F
    Provide a written emergency evacuation plan.
    K 711 · June 9, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · August 29, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · August 29, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · August 29, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Meet other general requirements that are deficient.
    K 500 · August 29, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · August 29, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · August 29, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · August 29, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · August 29, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · June 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · June 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · June 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. F
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · June 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · June 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · June 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. E
    Have power receptacles that are properly grounded.
    K 912 · June 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. D
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · June 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · June 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. F
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · March 29, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. E
    Ensure that gas containers are correctly designed and tested, and in locations that are labeled.
    K 905 · March 29, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · March 29, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
June 28, 2024Fine $8,512

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeKentuckyUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.953.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.790.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.493.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)34.7%46.4%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover27.3%41.8%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.13 on weekdays and 2.43 on weekends, 22% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.31 in April to June 2025 to 2.93 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20262.930.533.132.43 0.0%0 of 9087
Oct to Dec 20253.110.613.292.65 0.0%0 of 9284
Jul to Sep 20253.280.643.482.78 0.0%0 of 9285
Apr to Jun 20253.310.483.492.85 0.0%0 of 9186
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Kentucky, Jan to Mar 20263.850.714.043.403.2%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Kentucky

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Kentucky, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.45$17.38 to $21.2123,410
LPNs and LVNs$29.07$26.10 to $31.298,570
Registered nurses$38.96$36.38 to $46.7350,300
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeKentuckyUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.813.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.61.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.53.93.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.914.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.54.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
17.616.115.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
29.524.223.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
7.013.712.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.01.91.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.82.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: BIRCHWOOD NURSING AND REHABILITATION LLC. CMS links this home to Simcha Hyman & Naftali Zanziper, a group of 79 nursing homes averaging 2.7 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Vujanovic, MickIndirect ownership interestIndividual12/01/2021
Vujanovic, MickCorporate officerIndividual12/01/2021
Clearview Healthcare Management Ky LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization12/01/2021
Vujanovic, MickOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/01/2021
Clearview Healthcare Management Ky LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/23/2026
Vujanovic, MickAdp of the SNFIndividual12/01/2021
Wilson, TrellaAdp of the SNFIndividual12/11/2021

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on June 28, 2024: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 29, 2019: "Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition"
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on August 29, 2025: "Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on August 29, 2025: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."

Other nursing homes nearby

Kentucky contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Kentucky. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Clinton Place's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Clinton Place 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Clinton Place get at its last inspection?
4 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on August 29, 2025. The Kentucky average is 2.9.
Has Clinton Place been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,512 in the last three years.
Does Clinton Place accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Clinton Place?
CMS lists 7 owners and managers, and links the home to Simcha Hyman & Naftali Zanziper. Legal business name: BIRCHWOOD NURSING AND REHABILITATION LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection