Find a nursing home

Home / California / Atascadero

Coastal Oaks Special Care Center

10805 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422 · San Luis Obispo County · (805) 466-9254

65 certified beds, about 6 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1993

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
Not rated
CMS note: Not enough data available to calculate a star rating.
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 555554 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 4, 2025, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the California average is 15.6, the national average 9.2).

None of its 9 health citations since June 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

CMS links it to Compass Health, Inc., an affiliated group of 7 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 9 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
9D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 4, 2025Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 13, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure medications were properly stored and disposed in accordance with the facility's policies and procedures when an expired emergency medication kit was found stored in the medication store closet. This failure had the potential to result in reduced effectiveness and increased risk of side effects of the medications.
May 10, 2024Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
    F803 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 2, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure the menu was followed as planned during lunch tray line (a system of food preparation in which trays move along an assembly line) when 2 residents (Resident 18 and 32) small portion diet were not followed. This failure had the potential not to meet the nutritional needs as planned to maintain normal body weight and acceptable nutritional values of residents.
  2. D
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 2, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to maintain medical records for three of 3 sampled residents (Resident 46, 38 and 44) and for one unsampled resident (Resident 47) were in accordance with professional standards and practices when: 1). Resident 46, physician ordered supplement intakes were not documented in the medical record. 2). Resident 38, Skilled Nursing Facility Advance Beneficiary Notice of Non-Coverage ((SNFABN) notice of Medicare coverage ending) signature of resident representative was not legible or identified. 3) . Resident 44, Resident-Facility Arbitration Agreement ((RFAA) opting for a private dispute resolution procedure instead of going to court agreement) signature of resident representative was not legible or identified. 4). Resident 47, SNFABN date of notification was omitted. [...]
  3. D
    Provide a neutral and fair arbitration process and agree to arbitrator and venue.
    F848 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 2, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure three of three sampled residents (Resident 22, 44, and 46) binding arbitration agreements had clearly stated the selection of a neutral arbitrator agreed upon by both facility and resident or resident representative and clearly stated the selection of a venue that is convenient to both facility and resident or resident representative. This failure had the potential to result in psychosocial harm in the event of an arbitration dispute.
  4. D
    Keep all essential equipment working safely.
    F908 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 2, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to maintain essential equipment and safe operating condition, when the refrigerator gasket was found to have been torn. This failure resulted in the door not being able to seal appropriately and with potential to effect food temperatures.
June 9, 2023Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 10, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on medication pass observation. record review, and interview the facility failed to ensure that it was free from a medication error rate greater than five percent when : 1. Resident 3 (Res 3) was ordered Aspirin (pain medication also use for blot clots) 81 mg delayed release (Enteric Coated -EC), but was given Aspirin 81 mg chewable. 2. Resident 46 was with orders for Aspirin 81 mg delayed release, but was given Aspirin 81 mg chewable. These failures resulted in a 5.41% medication error rate.
  2. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 10, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure medications were stored at the right temperature in accordance with federal laws and the facility's policies and procedures. This failure had the potential for medications to lose potency and become ineffective.
  3. D
    Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
    F801 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the Registered Dietitian failed to demonstrate competency when the RD did not communicate current standards of practice to the facility's Medical Director, when the RD was aware a Low Concentrated Sweets (LCS) diet used at the facility was no longer nationally recognized, nor recommended to address residents diabetes. There were two of 12 sampled residents (Resident 48 and Resident 37) with an LCS diet order for nutrition care for diabetes. As a result, the RDs failed to utilize their expertise in the development of resident care policies and procedures to ensure that the facility provides care and services in accordance with current standards of practice, that address resident's diabetes diagnosis, and that provide clinical and technical direction to meet the needs of residents with a diagnosis of diabetes.
  4. D
    Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
    F803 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 10, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to follow the menu as planned, during lunch trayline (a system of food preparation in which trays move along an assembly line) when: 1. The small portion diet was not followed per the planned menu for one of 12 sampled residents (Resident 10). 2. The SB 6 (Soft, Bite Sized Food) diet was not followed related to the size of pork carnitas in accordance with the facility's planned menu, and Diet Manual for SB 6 diet, for one of 12 sampled residents (Resident 25). This failure had the potential to not meet the resident's nutritional needs per the planned menu as approved by the facility's Registered Dietitian. In addition, not following the correct size of meat for a SB 6 diet had the potential to place the resident at an increased risk of choking.

Fire safety inspections

9 fire safety citations on file: 4 on June 4, 2025, 2 on May 10, 2024, 3 on June 9, 2023.

Every fire safety citation9 citations
  1. D
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · June 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · June 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Have power receptacles that are properly grounded.
    K 912 · June 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · May 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · June 9, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · June 9, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. C
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · June 9, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeCaliforniaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported4.523.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.670.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported4.093.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported36.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility submitted data that did not meet the criteria required to calculate a staffing measure.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeCaliforniaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.810.313.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.80.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.63.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.74.34.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.812.015.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.22.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.01.61.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: COMPASS HEALTH INC. CMS links this home to Compass Health, Inc., a group of 7 nursing homes averaging 5 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Compass Health IncDirect ownership interestOrganization11/05/2007
Compass Holdings IncDirect ownership interestOrganization01/01/2008
Gerrish, NancyIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2005
Gerrish, WilliamIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2005
Hamilton, AmyIndirect ownership interestIndividual08/25/2021
Hodge, TimothyIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2024
McMullen, JuanitaIndirect ownership interestIndividual07/07/1997
Moya, MarieIndirect ownership interestIndividual07/22/2010
Smith, DarrenIndirect ownership interestIndividual09/26/2008
Woolpert, MarcyIndirect ownership interestIndividual08/25/2021
Woolpert, MarkIndirect ownership interestIndividual07/07/1979
Woolpert, PatriciaIndirect ownership interestIndividual07/07/1997
Moya, MarieCorporate directorIndividual03/14/2019
Smith, DarrenCorporate directorIndividual03/14/2019
Hodge, TimothyCorporate officerIndividual04/23/2004
Moya, MarieCorporate officerIndividual07/22/2010
Smith, DarrenCorporate officerIndividual09/26/2008
Woolpert, PatrickCorporate officerIndividual03/14/2019
Compass Health IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization11/19/2007
Alexander, LaceyOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/09/2006
Hamilton, AmyOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/18/2005
Hodge, TimothyOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/23/2004
Maxwell, MatthewOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/01/2024
Moya, MarieOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/22/2010
Parzych, KevinOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/01/2022
Smith, DarrenOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/31/2019
Woolpert, MarcyOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2021
Woolpert, PatrickOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/14/2019
Coastal LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization08/25/2021
Compass Health IncAdp of the SNFOrganization08/25/2021
Compass Holdings IncAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2008
Alexander, LaceyAdp of the SNFIndividual04/09/2006
Gerrish, NancyAdp of the SNFIndividual08/25/2021
Gerrish, WilliamAdp of the SNFIndividual08/25/2021
Hamilton, AmyAdp of the SNFIndividual07/18/2005
Hodge, TimothyAdp of the SNFIndividual04/23/2004
Maxwell, MatthewAdp of the SNFIndividual03/27/2025
McMullen, JuanitaAdp of the SNFIndividual08/25/2021
Moya, MarieAdp of the SNFIndividual07/22/2010
Parzych, KevinAdp of the SNFIndividual05/20/2025
Smith, DarrenAdp of the SNFIndividual12/31/2019
Woolpert, MarcyAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2021
Woolpert, MarkAdp of the SNFIndividual08/25/2021
Woolpert, PatriciaAdp of the SNFIndividual08/25/2021
Woolpert, PatrickAdp of the SNFIndividual03/14/2019

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on June 4, 2025: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on May 10, 2024: "Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on May 10, 2024: "Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards."
  4. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on May 10, 2024: "Provide a neutral and fair arbitration process and agree to arbitrator and venue."

Other nursing homes nearby

California contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in California. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Coastal Oaks Special Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Coastal Oaks Special Care Center 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, no for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Coastal Oaks Special Care Center get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on June 4, 2025. The California average is 15.6.
Has Coastal Oaks Special Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Coastal Oaks Special Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Coastal Oaks Special Care Center?
CMS lists 45 owners and managers, and links the home to Compass Health, Inc.. Legal business name: COMPASS HEALTH INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection