Find a nursing home

Home / Virginia / Mechanicsville

Covenant Woods Nursing Home

7090 Covenant Woods Drive, Mechanicsville, VA 23111 · Hanover County · (804) 569-8003

62 certified beds, about 57 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare since 2015

Last standard inspection more than 2 years ago Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 495419 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 13, 2024, inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies (the Virginia average is 14.3, the national average 9.2).

None of its 13 health citations since February 2021 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.51 hours per resident per day, against 3.76 across Virginia and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.48 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 13 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
12D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
March 13, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 5 citations
  1. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, resident interview, staff interview, and facility document review, it was determined the facility staff failed to implement the comprehensive care plan for one of 28 residents in the survey sample, Resident #34.
  2. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interviews, facility document review, and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to meet professional standards of quality for one of 28 residents in the survey sample, Resident #259.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interviews, clinical record review, and facility document review, it was determined that the facility staff failed to provide urinary catheter care and services in accordance with the physician's order for one of 28 residents in the survey sample, Resident #259.
  4. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, resident interview, clinical record review and facility document review, it was determined the facility staff failed to provide respiratory care per physician orders for one of 28 residents in the survey sample, Resident #34.
  5. D
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 25, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on resident interview, staff interview, clinical record review, and facility document review, it was determined the facility staff failed to implement bed rail requirements for two of 28 residents in the survey sample, Residents #36 and #212.
April 21, 2022Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and facility document review, it was determined the facility staff failed to assess the risks and benefits of side rails for one of 20 residents in the survey sample, Resident #52.
  2. C
    Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
    F814 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interview, and facility document review, it was determined that the facility staff failed to dispose of refuse properly. The facility staff failed to maintain clean dumpster area during the facility task- kitchen observation 4/19/22 at 12:40 PM, for one of one dumpster.
February 25, 2021Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 8, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, facility document review, and clinical record review, it was determined that the facility staff failed to provide care in a manner to maintain and promote resident dignity for one of 20 residents in the survey sample, Resident #1. The facility staff failed to ensure Resident #1 was covered during the residents bath on 2/24/21, to promote and maintain Resident #1's, dignity.
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 8, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interview, facility document review, and clinical record review, it was determined that the facility failed to provide care in a safe manner for one of 20 residents in the survey sample, Resident #1. The facility staff failed to ensure Resident #1 was provide supervision during bathing on 2/24/21. Resident #1, who was assessed as at risk for falls, was left in the bathroom unattended, while seated and reclined in an elevated shower chair.
  3. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 8, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, resident interview, staff interview, facility document review and clinical record review, it was determined, that the facility staff failed to provide care for respiratory equipment in a sanitary manner for one of 20 residents in the survey sample, Resident #30. The facility staff failed to store Resident #30's BIPAP facemask in a sanitary manner when not in use. Multiple observations revealed Resident #30's BIPAP facemask in a basket uncovered wrapped in the BIPAP tubing and head strap.
  4. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 8, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, facility document review and clinical record review it was determined that the facility staff failed to act in a timely manner on the pharmacy medication regimen review for two of 20 residents in the survey sample, Residents #6 and #30. 1. Resident #6's medication regimen review was completed on 1/17/21 with recommendations for a gradual dose reduction of the antidepressant and hypnotic medications which were not discovered by the facility in their email or presented to the physician for action until 39 days later. 2. The facility staff failed to act in a timely manner on a medication regimen review for Resident #30. Resident #30's medication regimen review was completed on 9/17/2020 with recommendations to evaluate the as needed order for Klonopin (sedative medication) which was not reviewed by the physician until January of 2021.
  5. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 8, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, facility document review and clinical record review it was determined that the facility staff failed to ensure one of 20 sampled residents, (Resident #6), was free from unnecessary medications. The facility failed to act in a timely manner on the on 1/17/21 pharmacy medication regimen review, with recommendations for a gradual dose reduction of the antidepressant and hypnotic medications prescribed and administered to Resident #6. The 1/17/21, pharmacy gradual dose reduction recommendation was not discovered by the facility in their email or presented to the physician for action until 2/24/21, a period of 39 days.
  6. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 8, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and clinical record review, it was determined that the facility staff failed to label medications in one of three medication carts and dispose of biologicals upon expiration date in one of two medication rooms. The facility staff failed to label medications; two white pills were observed in a medication cup in second medication drawer on the Unit C Wing 1. The facility staff failed to dispose of biologicals upon expiration date. Eight bottles of expired tube feeding formula and three medication wound dressings were observed in the Unit C Wing 1medication storage room.

Fire safety inspections

9 fire safety citations on file: 9 on February 25, 2021.

Every fire safety citation9 citations
  1. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · February 25, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · February 25, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · February 25, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · February 25, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · February 25, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · February 25, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · February 25, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · February 25, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · February 25, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeVirginiaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.513.763.86
Registered nurses0.480.690.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.193.293.42
Nurse aides2.75
Licensed practical nurses1.29
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported48.2%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.46 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.64 on weekdays and 4.19 on weekends, 10% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 10.2% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 6.60 in April to June 2025 to 4.51 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.510.484.644.19 10.2%0 of 9057
Oct to Dec 20254.680.574.854.26 7.4%1 of 9256
Jul to Sep 20254.370.494.514.02 9.6%0 of 9256
Apr to Jun 20256.600.606.895.86 4.6%0 of 9153
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Virginia, Jan to Mar 20263.580.563.763.125.7%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Virginia

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Virginia, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.77$17.80 to $22.5640,580
LPNs and LVNs$31.21$28.66 to $35.8415,550
Registered nurses$45.00$38.51 to $49.5377,490
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeVirginiaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
24.414.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.50.40.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.11.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.03.63.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.41.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
35.415.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.24.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
24.414.215.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
17.322.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
10.511.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.41.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.71.51.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: COVENANT WOODS.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Adams, RichardCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2013
Armor, BrandonCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2020
Ball, MelissaCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2020
Beaulieu, KelseyCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2020
Bowers, RogerCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2020
Clingman, EdCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2020
Cooke, KarenCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2017
Fuller, DavidCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2017
Graves, CharlesCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2019
Kent, JanetCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2019
O'Conner, JoeCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2021
Pearson, LindaCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2020
Russell, KyleCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2022
Satterlund, MicheleCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2020
Scholer, JohnCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2022
Jackson, LafonCorporate officerIndividual09/19/2019
Mauritsen, ErikCorporate officerIndividual12/10/2009
Parks, JuanitaCorporate officerIndividual08/12/2024
Wright, ThomasCorporate officerIndividual08/01/2021
Covenant WoodsOperational/managerial controlOrganization04/05/2014
Adams, RichardOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2022
Beaulieu, KelseyOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2020
Clingman, EdOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2020
Cooke, MarjorieOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2023
Davis, CarrieOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/15/2015
Dhaliwal, AnjuOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2025
Floyd, AbigailOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2025
Gibbons, RichardOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2024
Hamann, KatieOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2025
Jackson, LafonOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/19/2019
Kottkamp, NathanOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2024
O'Conner, JoeOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2021
Parks, JuanitaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/12/2024
Pisecki, MarieOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2023
Russell, KyleOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2022
Satterlund, MicheleOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2020
Stokes, PatriceOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2025
Tomes, MeghanOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2022
Tulli, JuliaOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2025
Wright, ThomasOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/02/2021
Baker Tilly Advisory Group LPAdp of the SNFOrganization01/11/2024
Baker Tilly Us LLPAdp of the SNFOrganization12/10/2024
Cedarfield CorporationAdp of the SNFOrganization01/11/2024
Chiles Healthcare Consulting, LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization04/01/2022
Davis, CarrieAdp of the SNFIndividual12/15/2015
Karim, KhalidAdp of the SNFIndividual10/31/2025
Oley, AnthonyAdp of the SNFIndividual04/01/2022
Tomes, MeghanAdp of the SNFIndividual04/01/2022

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on March 13, 2024: "Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on February 25, 2021: "Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 13, 2024: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 21, 2022: "Dispose of garbage and refuse properly."

Other nursing homes nearby

Virginia contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Virginia. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Covenant Woods Nursing Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Covenant Woods Nursing Home 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Covenant Woods Nursing Home get at its last inspection?
5 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 13, 2024. The Virginia average is 14.3.
Has Covenant Woods Nursing Home been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Covenant Woods Nursing Home accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Covenant Woods Nursing Home?
CMS lists 48 owners and managers. Legal business name: COVENANT WOODS.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection