Find a nursing home

Home / Illinois / Pittsfield

Eastside Health and Rehabilitation Center

1400 East Washington Street, Pittsfield, IL 62363 · Pike County · (217) 285-4491

92 certified beds, about 59 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1996

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 145851 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 6, 2025, inspectors cited 4 health deficiencies (the Illinois average is 12.6, the national average 9.2).

Of 14 health citations since April 2023, 2 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.09 hours per resident per day, against 3.45 across Illinois and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.31 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 14 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
2G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
7D
1E
4F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 6, 2025Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, observation, and record review, the Facility failed to ensure food was stored in a manner that prevents foodborne illness. This has the potential to affect all 55 residents living in the Facility.
  2. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to prevent abuse for 1 (R160) of 4 residents in a sample of 23. 1. R37's Undated Face Sheet, documents he was initially admitted to the facility on [DATE] and diagnoses included COPD (Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disorder), gastric ulcer, malignant neoplasm of ascending colon, heart attack, chronic viral hepatitis, GERD (Gastroesophageal Reflux Disorder), malaise and diabetes. R37's Annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] documents he was alert and had no physical behaviors and had verbal behavioral symptoms directed towards others 4-6 days. R37's Care Plan, dated 11/15/2024 documents focus: behavior can be easily annoyed/agitated, and impatient. He becomes rude and hateful and has verbal aggression at times. He at times will yell/cuss at staff. He will usually stop when asked to. [...]
  3. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to ensure progressive interventions are documented on resident's care plan for 1 of 5 (R12) residents in a sample of 23.
  4. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to provide adequate supervision to prevent falls and implement progressive interventions for accidents and falls for 3 of 4 residents (R35, R12, R46) reviewed for accidents and hazards in the sample of 23.
May 2, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to provide a Registered Nurse (RN) 8 hours a day seven days a week. This has the potential to affect all 50 residents residing at the facility.
  2. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to do complete hand hygiene, assist residents with handwashing, maintain a clean field during a wound dressing change, and ensure resident rooms and common resident-use areas are cleaned in a manner that prevents the spread of infection for 9 of 24 residents (R6, R7, R9, R11, R17, R18, R23, R33, R48) reviewed for infection control in the sample of 39.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, observation, and record review, the facility failed to provide complete incontinent care to prevent urinary tract infections for 2 of 3 residents (R17, R45) reviewed for incontinent care in the sample of 39.
January 8, 2024Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 19, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to provide 8 hours of consecutive Registered Nurse coverage. This failure has the potential to affect all 51 residents living in the facility.
  2. D
    Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
    F604 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 23, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to provide freedom from inappropriate physical restraint use for 1 of 1 residents (R5) reviewed for restraint in the sample of 8.
April 13, 2023Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. G
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 4, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, observation and record review, the facility failed to appropriately reposition to prevent shearing and pressure, ensure pressure ulcer treatment performed as ordered and dressing intact for 1 of 2 resident (R26) reviewed for pressure ulcers in the sample of 32. This failure resulted in R26's sustaining a shear / pressure ulcer of the right buttocks and coccyx.
  2. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 17, 2023
    Inspectors wroteTwo Deficienct Practice Statements are needed for this level due to multiple deficiencies. A. Based on interview, observation and record review, the facility failed to provide supervision, investigate falls, develop a root cause analysis and implement progressive interventions to prevent further falls for 1 of 3 residents (R30) reviewed for falls in the sample of 32. This failure resulted in R30 sustaining a head laceration which required 6 staples.
  3. F
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to provide a Registered Nurse (RN) 8 hours a day seven days a week and failed to provide a Director of Nursing (DON). This has the potential to affect all 55 residents at the facility.
  4. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 12, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, observation and record review, the facility failed to ensure a medical brace was applied for 1 of 1 resident (R13) reviewed for medical braces in the sample of 32.
  5. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 4, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to perform hand hygiene and change gloves to prevent cross contamination for 2 of 14 residents (R26, R45) reviewed for Infection Control in the sample of 32.

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 1 on June 6, 2025, 1 on May 2, 2024, 3 on April 13, 2023.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · May 2, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Provide a written emergency evacuation plan.
    K 711 · April 13, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · April 13, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · April 13, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeIllinoisUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.093.453.86
Registered nurses0.310.720.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.753.073.42
Nurse aides2.06
Licensed practical nurses0.72
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported41.8%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 5.53 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.23 on weekdays and 2.75 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 1.1% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.12 in April to June 2025 to 3.09 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.090.313.232.75 1.1%0 of 9059
Oct to Dec 20253.220.293.352.87 0.0%1 of 9253
Jul to Sep 20253.220.413.362.85 0.0%0 of 9253
Apr to Jun 20253.120.383.292.72 0.0%0 of 9156
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Illinois, Jan to Mar 20263.260.653.402.925.4%0.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Illinois

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Illinois, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$22.10$18.95 to $23.2668,640
LPNs and LVNs$36.06$30.57 to $38.2517,440
Registered nurses$46.15$38.47 to $50.94138,910
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeIllinoisUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.613.413.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.61.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.03.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.42.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.214.314.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.24.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
23.721.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
13.826.123.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
13.513.812.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.32.01.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.12.21.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on June 6, 2025: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on May 2, 2024: "Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 6, 2025: "Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 2, 2024: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.75 hours per resident per day, below the Illinois average of 3.07.
  6. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Illinois contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Illinois. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Eastside Health and Rehabilitation Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Eastside Health and Rehabilitation Center 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Eastside Health and Rehabilitation Center get at its last inspection?
4 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 6, 2025. The Illinois average is 12.6.
Has Eastside Health and Rehabilitation Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Eastside Health and Rehabilitation Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Eastside Health and Rehabilitation Center?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection