Find a nursing home

Home / Minnesota / Burnsville

Ebenezer Ridges Geriatric Care Center

13820 Community Drive, Burnsville, MN 55337 · Dakota County · (952) 898-8400

114 certified beds, about 104 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1976

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 245213 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 29, 2026, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Minnesota average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

Of 17 health citations since February 2024, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $22,925 in the last three years; the largest was $22,925, and the latest is dated August 5, 2026.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.17 hours per resident per day, against 4.19 across Minnesota and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.92 of those hours.

CMS links it to Ebenezer Senior Living, an affiliated group of 6 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 17 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
14D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
January 29, 2026Standard inspection · 0 citations
July 29, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. G
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the facility failed to ensure that 1 of 3 residents (R1) reviewed was free from a significant medication error. R1 was given another residents insulin causing her to be sent to the hospital for treatment.
November 21, 2024Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. E
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 16, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure routine personal hygiene (i.e., showers) was completed for 4 of 5 residents (R89, R103, R159, R162) reviewed for activities of daily living (ADLs) and who were dependent on staff for their care.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice.
    F561 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 16, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to accommodate bathing/shower preferences for 1 of 1 residents (R159) reviewed for choices.
  3. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 16, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure the Minimum Data Set (MDS) was accurately coded to reflect upper body impairment for 1 of 2 residents (R162) reviewed for MDS accuracy.
  4. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 16, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure care conferences were conducted upon admission for 1 of 2 residents (R103) reviewed for care conferences.
  5. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 16, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure as-needed (PRN) antipsychotic medications were limited to 14 days of use or re-evaluated by the medical provider to ensure necessity and reduce the risk of complication for 1 of 5 residents (R6) reviewed for unnecessary medication use.
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 16, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) were implemented or followed for 2 of 2 residents (R46 and R21) reviewed for EBP.
May 13, 2024Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the facility failed to promote dignity and respect to 1 of 4 (R1) residents reviewed. R1 was not properly dressed when leaving her room for therapy services. R1 did not have an incontinent brief on and upon standing urinated on herself, her wheelchair, and the floor in the presence of other residents and staff.
  2. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the facility failed to provide a systematic approach to assess and evaluate residents' fluid status to monitor the effectiveness of interventions for 2 of 2 residents (R1 and R3) assessed. R1 and R3 were on a daily fluid restriction, the facility was documenting the intake. The facility did not have a system in place to evaluate the total daily fluid intake to determine adequacy or if the provider required notification.
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility failed to follow recommended precaution process for disinfecting medical equipment between resident use for 1 of 1 resident (R4) when observed. Licensed staff failed to disinfect the vital signs machine following the use on R4 who was on contact precautions and then used on another resident. In addition, the facility had placed R4 on incorrect isolation precautions. R4 was found to be on precautions due to suspicion of Covid requiring droplet precautions and he was on contact precautions.
February 1, 2024Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 29, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure dignity was maintained for 2 of 2 residents (R2, R35) reviewed for urinary catheters.
  2. D
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    F558 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 29, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure call lights were accessible for 1 of 1 (R35) reviewed for call light accessibility.
  3. D
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    F580 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 29, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure a provider was notified in a timely manner of a change in status for 1 of 1 resident (R15) reviewed for change in condition.
  4. D
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 29, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to provide weekly baths to 1 of 1 resident (R26) reviewed for activities of daily living.
  5. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 29, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to comprehensively assess, develop, and implement interventions for ongoing weight loss for 1 of 1 resident (R15) reviewed for weight loss.
  6. D
    Arrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.
    F849 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 29, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure coordinated services were documented as scheduled for 1 of 1 resident (R70) reviewed for hospice services.
  7. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 29, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure the required nurse staffing information contained accurate staffing information. This had the potential to affect all 109 residents residing in the facility and/or visitors who may wish to view the information.

Fire safety inspections

16 fire safety citations on file: 4 on January 29, 2026, 4 on November 21, 2024, 8 on February 1, 2024.

Every fire safety citation16 citations
  1. F
    Have horizontal exits used in accordance with safety requirements.
    K 226 · January 29, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have an enclosure around a vertical opening shaft.
    K 311 · January 29, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · January 29, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · January 29, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · November 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Have an enclosure around a vertical opening shaft.
    K 311 · November 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · November 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · November 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · February 1, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · February 1, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · February 1, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. D
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · February 1, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Have horizontal exits used in accordance with safety requirements.
    K 226 · February 1, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · February 1, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · February 1, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · February 1, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
August 5, 2026Fine $22,925

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.174.193.86
Registered nurses1.921.060.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.703.713.42
Nurse aides2.57
Licensed practical nurses0.68
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported42.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.83 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.36 on weekdays and 4.70 on weekends, 12% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.91 in April to June 2025 to 5.17 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.171.925.364.70 0.0%0 of 90104
Oct to Dec 20254.991.855.194.49 0.0%0 of 92106
Jul to Sep 20254.911.855.104.40 0.0%0 of 92106
Apr to Jun 20254.911.815.134.37 0.0%0 of 91107
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Minnesota, Jan to Mar 20264.191.054.383.735.2%0.8% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
17.618.213.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.11.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.82.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.64.03.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.61.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
24.920.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.85.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.817.115.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
32.323.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
17.014.812.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.31.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.51.91.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: EBENEZER RIDGES. CMS links this home to Ebenezer Senior Living, a group of 6 nursing homes averaging 3.7 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ebenezer Society5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization100%12/01/1976
Carlson-Weinberg, SusanManaging control - governing bodyIndividual05/31/2019
Faust, KimManaging control - governing bodyIndividual09/21/2021
Hereford, JamesManaging control - governing bodyIndividual08/01/2017
Jacobson, CarolynManaging control - governing bodyIndividual10/01/2018
Kvenvold, GayleManaging control - governing bodyIndividual05/23/2024
Landreville, MarkManaging control - governing bodyIndividual02/21/2024
Milius, MargaretManaging control - governing bodyIndividual02/21/2024
Piper, KennethManaging control - governing bodyIndividual05/27/2022
Walker, RobertManaging control - governing bodyIndividual05/27/2022
Wordelman, ScottManaging control - governing bodyIndividual08/24/2017
Carlson-Weinberg, SusanCorporate directorIndividual05/31/2019
Faust, KimCorporate directorIndividual09/21/2021
Hereford, JamesCorporate directorIndividual08/01/2017
Jacobson, CarolynCorporate directorIndividual10/01/2018
Kvenvold, GayleCorporate directorIndividual05/23/2024
Landreville, MarkCorporate directorIndividual02/21/2024
Milius, MargaretCorporate directorIndividual02/21/2024
Piper, KennethCorporate directorIndividual05/27/2022
Walker, RobertCorporate directorIndividual05/27/2022
Wordelman, ScottCorporate directorIndividual08/24/2017
Anderson, BrettCorporate officerIndividual09/05/2024
Willett, ToddCorporate officerIndividual10/24/2016
Ebenezer Management Services IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/1976
Bell, BrittanyOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/06/2021
Bires, JacksonOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/08/2024
Chebli, YasserOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2020
Anderson, BrettIndividual is an owner, partner or trustee of any ADP of the SNFIndividual07/08/2025
Ebenezer Management Services IncAdp of the SNFOrganization01/29/2025
Bires, JacksonAdp of the SNFIndividual04/16/2025
Chebli, YasserAdp of the SNFIndividual04/16/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on November 21, 2024: "Honor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on November 21, 2024: "Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 29, 2025: "Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on November 21, 2024: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."

Other nursing homes nearby

Minnesota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Minnesota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Ebenezer Ridges Geriatric Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Ebenezer Ridges Geriatric Care Center 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Ebenezer Ridges Geriatric Care Center get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on January 29, 2026. The Minnesota average is 7.1.
Has Ebenezer Ridges Geriatric Care Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $22,925 in the last three years.
Does Ebenezer Ridges Geriatric Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Ebenezer Ridges Geriatric Care Center?
CMS lists 31 owners and managers, and links the home to Ebenezer Senior Living. Legal business name: EBENEZER RIDGES.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection