Find a nursing home

Home / Minnesota / Mahnomen

Mahnomen Health Center

414 West Jefferson Avenue, Mahnomen, MN 56557 · Mahnomen County · (218) 935-2511

32 certified beds, about 29 residents a day · Government - City/county · Medicare and Medicaid since 1981

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 245238 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 11, 2026, inspectors cited 6 health deficiencies (the Minnesota average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 15 health citations since March 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $12,534 in the last three years; the largest was $12,534, and the latest is dated February 6, 2024.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.24 hours per resident per day, against 4.19 across Minnesota and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.80 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 15 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
4E
5F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 11, 2026Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 16, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to accurately submit the payroll-based journal system (PBJ) staffing data to Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). This had the potential to affect all 31 residents residing in the facility.
  2. F
    Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly
    F868 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 16, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to ensure the Quality Assessment and Assurance (QAA) committee failed to ensure the medical director was present quarterly and attendance of key members was documented. In addition, the facility infection preventionist (IP) failed to provide comprehensive infection control and antibiotic infomration as required for proper QAA analysis. These findings had potential to affect all 29 residents residing within the facility.
  3. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 16, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to establish and implement an outcome surveillance program to track, trend and analyze resident actual and potential infections. This had the potential to affect all 29 residents that resided in the facility.
  4. F
    Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
    F881 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 16, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to implement their comprehensive antibiotic stewardship program to help reduce unnecessary antibiotic use and infections; and implement a facility-wide system to monitor the use of antibiotics for 2 of 2 residents (R5, R16) in the sample who were prescribed antibiotics. The lack of a follow through on a program had the potential to affect all residents prescribed antibiotics.
  5. F
    Designate a qualified infection preventionist to be responsible for the infection prevent and control program in the nursing home.
    F882 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to ensure the infection preventionist (IP) had completed specialized training in infection prevention and control and received certification. This had the potential to affect all 29 residents residing in the facility.
  6. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 16, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure medications were coded correctly on the Minimum Data Set (MDS) for 2 of 5 residents (R5, R20) reviewed for unnecessary medications.
June 4, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 26, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to ensure accurate coding of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) for 2 of 2 residents (R11, R27) reviewed for unnecessary medications; 2 of 2 residents (R8, R17) reviewed for restraints; and 7 of 7 residents (R4, R8, R26, R6, R10, R17, R20, R26) reviewed for grab bars.
  2. E
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 26, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure residents with attached grab bars were comprehensively assessed for use on the bed for 7 of 7 residents (R4, R8, R26, R6, R10, R17, R20) whom had grab bars.
  3. D
    Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
    F604 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 26, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure residents were free from physical restraints while in bed for 2 of 2 residents (R8, R17) reviewed for restraints.
May 24, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 27, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to develop and implement interventions to reduce fall risks for 1 of 3 residents (R3) reviewed for accidents.
March 14, 2024Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure soiled and potentially contaminated resident laundry was sorted in a manner to reduce the risk of cross contamination and subsequent infection spread. These findings had the potential to affect all 30 residents residing in the nursing home.
  2. E
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 2, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to provide pneumococcal conjugate vaccine 20 variant (PVC20) education as directed by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) for 4 of 5 residents (R6, R7, R8, R11) reviewed for immunizations.
  3. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to re-assess and implement interventions to keep residents free from sexual abuse following resident to resident abuse involving residents (R16 and R21) for 1 of 1 incidents of abuse reviewed.
  4. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 5, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure an allegation of sexual abuse was reported to the facility administrator and state agency (SA) within 2 hours for resident to resident potential sexual abuse involving (R16 and R21) for 1 of 1 incidents reviewed for abuse.
  5. D
    PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
    F645 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 2, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure a Level I Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review (a requirement to help ensure that individuals are not inappropriately placed in nursing homes for long term care) was completed, retained in the medical record, and readily available to ensure continuity of care with mental health needs for 1 of 1 residents (R6) reviewed for PASARR.

Fire safety inspections

8 fire safety citations on file: 5 on March 11, 2026, 2 on June 4, 2025, 1 on March 14, 2024.

Every fire safety citation8 citations
  1. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · March 11, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · March 11, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · March 11, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · March 11, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · March 11, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Ensure that building systems meet requirements determined by risk assessment procedures performed by qualified personnel.
    K 901 · June 4, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · March 14, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
February 6, 2024Fine $12,534

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.244.193.86
Registered nurses0.801.060.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.833.713.42
Nurse aides2.89
Licensed practical nurses0.55
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported42.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.17 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.41 on weekdays and 3.83 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.44 in April to June 2025 to 4.24 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.240.804.413.83 0.0%0 of 9029
Jul to Sep 20255.621.415.894.95 1.5%0 of 9227
Apr to Jun 20254.440.944.594.08 4.3%16 of 9128
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Minnesota, Jan to Mar 20264.191.054.383.735.2%0.8% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Minnesota

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Minnesota, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$22.44$19.39 to $23.7229,120
LPNs and LVNs$30.65$28.83 to $34.2612,840
Registered nurses$48.80$42.76 to $55.1770,110
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
29.318.213.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.92.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.84.03.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.31.91.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.120.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.05.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.417.115.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: MAHNOMEN HEALTH CENTER.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
City of Mahnomen5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization22%07/01/2006
Mahnomen County5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization78%07/01/2006
Guenther, LoriW-2 managing employeeIndividual10/01/2015
Kruger, DaleCorporate officerIndividual09/08/2015

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on March 11, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 11, 2026: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on June 4, 2025: "Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment."
  4. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 11, 2026: "Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data."

Other nursing homes nearby

Minnesota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Minnesota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Mahnomen Health Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Mahnomen Health Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Mahnomen Health Center get at its last inspection?
6 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 11, 2026. The Minnesota average is 7.1.
Has Mahnomen Health Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $12,534 in the last three years.
Does Mahnomen Health Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Mahnomen Health Center?
CMS lists 4 owners and managers. Legal business name: MAHNOMEN HEALTH CENTER.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection