Find a nursing home

Home / Oklahoma / Lawton

McMahon-Tomlinson Nursing Center

2007 Nw 52nd Street, Lawton, OK 73505 · Comanche County · (580) 357-3240

142 certified beds, about 129 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2014

CMS abuse icon: cited for abuse in a recent inspection Inside a hospital Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 375562 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on December 16, 2025, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Oklahoma average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 23 health citations since March 2023, 2 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $6,338 in the last three years; the largest was $6,338, and the latest is dated December 16, 2025.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.05 hours per resident per day, against 3.79 across Oklahoma and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.18 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 23 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
2G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
15E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 25, 2026Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 27, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a comprehensive care plan was developed to include skin integrity for 1 (#7) of 12 sampled residents whose care plans were reviewed. The administrator identified 122 residents resided in the facility.
  2. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure staff implemented proper infection control practices while performing incontinent care for 2 (#10 and #11) of 2 sampled residents observed for incontinent care. The director of nursing identified 68 residents required assistance with incontinent care.
March 6, 2026Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure an allegation of abuse was reported to the state agency within the 2-hour required timeframe for 1 (#1) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for abuse. The DON reported the facility census was 133. Listed below are abbreviations that will be used throughout this document. ADON - Assistant Director of Nursing APS - Adult Protective ServiceBIMs score - Brief Interview for Mental StatusDON - Director of Nursing A Abuse and Neglect policy, dated 09/12/25, read in part, The facility shall immediately report allegations, suspicions, or incidents of abuse, neglect, exploitation, misappropriation of resident property, or injuries of unknown source involving residents. The admission assessment, dated 12 /05/25, showed Resident #1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnosis of congestive heart failure. [...]
  2. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 1, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure an allegation of abuse was investigated to make certain residents were free from abuse for 1 (#1) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for abuse. The DON reported the facility census was 133. Listed below are abbreviations that will be used throughout this document. ADON - Assistant Director of NursingAPS - Adult Protective ServiceBIMS score - Brief Interview for Mental StatusDON - Director of NursingA Abuse and Neglect policy, dated 09/12/25, read in part, The facility shall immediately report allegations, suspicions, or incidents of abuse, neglect, exploitation, misappropriation of resident property, or injuries of unknown source involving residents. The admission assessment, dated 12 /05/25, showed Resident #1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnosis of congestive heart failure. [...]
December 16, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. G
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure wound care was provided per physician orders for 1 (#31) of 2 sampled residents reviewed for wound care. The DON identified 123 residents resided in the facility.
  2. G
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to follow physician's orders and care plans to prevent the worsening of wounds for 1 (#31) of 2 sampled residents reviewed for wound care. The DON identified 123 residents resided in the facility.
March 11, 2025Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure the minimum data set was coded accurately for Legionella for 1 (#1) of 1 sampled discharged resident from the hospital for skilled services. The DON/IP reported one case of Legionella.
  2. E
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to update a care plan for 1 (#1) of 1 sampled resident with a new diagnosis of Legionella. The DON/IP reported one case of Legionella.
  3. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed infection prevention and control practices to ensure identification of high risk areas to include flushing of unused outlets to prevent the spread of a waterborne illness. The DON/IP reported 118 residents resided in the facility.
April 11, 2024Standard inspection · 11 citations
  1. E
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure assessments were accurate for two (#83 and #87) of 22 sampled residents reviewed for assessments. The Administrator identified 97 residents resided in the facility.
  2. E
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure interventions were added to the care plan after a fall for two residents (#38 and #41) of 20 sampled residents reviewed for care plan revisions. The DON identified 97 Residents resided in the facility.
  3. E
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to ensure neurological checks were completed after unwitnessed falls for one (#41) of three sampled residents reviewed for falls. The Administrator identified 97 residents resided in the facility. The Resident Matrix documented 21 residents had falls.
  4. E
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure; a. oxygen tubing was labeled and dated, per the facility policy and professional standards of care, for three (#14,64, and #143) and, b. respiratory medications were administered per the standard of practice for one (#64) of three residents sampled for respiratory care. The DON identified 11 residents received oxygen services.
  5. E
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    F698 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a. the resident assessment at the dialysis center was communicated between the dialysis center and nursing staff was in place, and b. pre- and post- dialysis assessments were completed by the facility for one #63) of one resident reviewed for dialysis. The DON stated four residents received dialysis.
  6. E
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure Registered Nurse coverage was provided 8 hours per day for 7 days a week for nine (10/01/23,10/07/23,10/15/23,10/22/23,11/11/23,11/19/23,12/03/23,12/09/23, and 12/17/23 of 92 days sampled for RN coverage. The DON identified 97 Residents resided in the facility.
  7. E
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview the facility failed to ensure three extended release medications were not crushed for two (#6 and #23) of eight sampled residents reviewed during medication pass. A total of 39 opportunites were observed with three errors. The medication error rate was 6.94%. The Administrator identified 97 residents resided in the facility.
  8. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interview the facility failed to ensure staff maintained infection control measures, and a. changed gloves during provision of perineal care and personal hygiene for one (#55) of one sampled resident reviewed for perineal care, b. sanitized the blood pressure cuff and pulse oximeter during medication observation for three (#6, #64, and #23), and c. sanitized their hands between residents during medication observation for four (#17, #31, #144, #80) of eight sampled residents reviewed during medication pass observation. The Administrator identified 97 residents resided in the facility.
  9. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure interventions were implemented for one (#14) of three residents sampled for falls. The DON identified 97 Residents resided in the facility.
  10. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to identify the time frames for the steps regarding the medication regimen review, and a medication regimen review was responded to timely for one (#45) of five sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The Administrator identified 97 residents resided in the facility.
  11. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure side effect monitoring was in place for a resident who was prescribed anticoagulant therapy for one (#3) of five residents sampled for unnecessary medication. The DON identified 29 residents were prescribed anticoagulants.
March 3, 2023Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 1, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to assess residents for the use of bed rails, educate residents and/or representatives on the risks and benefits of bed rails, and obtain an informed consent prior to the installation of bed rails for two (#15 and #16) of two sampled residents reviewed for bed rails. The Director of Nursing reported 62 residents with bed rails in place.
  2. E
    Regularly inspect all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails (if any) for safety; and all bed rails and mattresses must attach safely to the bed frame.
    F909 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 1, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to conduct regular inspections of beds, mattresses, and bed rails, as part of a regular maintenance program, for two (#15 and #16) of two residents reviewed for bed and bed rail inspections. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents form documented 87 residents resided in the facility.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 1, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to have a medical justification for an indwelling urinary catheter (Foley catheter), and assess for removal of the catheter, for one (#10) of four residents reviewed for indwelling urinary catheters. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents form documented seven residents with indwelling or external catheters.

Fire safety inspections

2 fire safety citations on file: 2 on April 11, 2024.

Every fire safety citation2 citations
  1. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · April 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · April 11, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
December 16, 2025Fine $6,338

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.053.793.86
Registered nurses0.180.340.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.773.443.42
Nurse aides2.65
Licensed practical nurses1.23
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported55.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported53.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.46 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.17 on weekdays and 3.77 on weekends, 10% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 29.4% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.45 in April to June 2025 to 4.05 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.050.184.173.77 29.4%0 of 90129
Oct to Dec 20254.060.154.173.77 20.4%0 of 92119
Apr to Jun 20254.450.244.634.00 25.3%0 of 91113
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Oklahoma, Jan to Mar 20263.790.323.943.422.2%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.313.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.11.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.12.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.44.73.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.61.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.913.714.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.64.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
17.217.515.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
23.327.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
19.116.612.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.72.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.03.01.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: COMANCHE COUNTY HOSPITAL AUTHORITY.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Forrest, StacyW-2 managing employeeIndividual04/09/2022
Jones, RobertW-2 managing employeeIndividual06/19/2014
Kruger, GeorgeW-2 managing employeeIndividual08/03/2015
Smith, BrentW-2 managing employeeIndividual04/01/2014
Fitch, NatalieCorporate directorIndividual01/25/2021
Henry, MarkCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2021
Legako, EdwardCorporate directorIndividual05/17/2016
McCall, CharlesCorporate directorIndividual01/13/2020
Zelbst, JohnCorporate directorIndividual07/01/1997
Fitch, NatalieCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2021
Kruger, GeorgeCorporate officerIndividual08/03/2015
Legako, EdwardCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2018
McCall, CharlesCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2020
Smith, BrentCorporate officerIndividual04/01/2014
Comanche County Hospital AuthorityOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/13/1971
Forrest, StacyOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/09/2022
Jones, RobertOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/19/2014
Kruger, GeorgeOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/03/2015
Smith, BrentOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2014

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 7 problems in this area, most recently on December 16, 2025: "Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on June 25, 2026: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on June 25, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 6, 2026: "Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities."

Other nursing homes nearby

Oklahoma contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Oklahoma. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is McMahon-Tomlinson Nursing Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates McMahon-Tomlinson Nursing Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did McMahon-Tomlinson Nursing Center get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on December 16, 2025. The Oklahoma average is 6.4.
Has McMahon-Tomlinson Nursing Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $6,338 in the last three years.
Does McMahon-Tomlinson Nursing Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns McMahon-Tomlinson Nursing Center?
CMS lists 19 owners and managers. Legal business name: COMANCHE COUNTY HOSPITAL AUTHORITY.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection