Find a nursing home

Home / North Dakota / Lisbon

Parkside Lutheran Home

501 3rd Ave W, Lisbon, ND 58054 · Ransom County · (701) 683-5239

40 certified beds, about 36 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1992

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
1 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: This facility reported a high number of days without a registered nurse onsite.
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 355116 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on December 11, 2025, inspectors cited 9 health deficiencies (the North Dakota average is 5.6, the national average 9.2).

None of its 22 health citations since August 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.44 hours per resident per day, against 4.42 across North Dakota and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.72 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 22 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
19D
3E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
December 11, 2025Standard inspection · 9 citations
  1. E
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to review and revise care plans to reflect the residents' current status for 5 of 12 sampled residents (Resident #2, #4, #5, #8, and #41). Failure to update care plans limited the staff's ability to communicate needs and ensure continuity of care.
  2. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, review of professional reference, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure safe food practices and failed to maintain a clean and sanitary kitchen environment for 1 of 1 kitchen and 2 of 2 freezers on the Cozy Cottage Unit. Failure to properly store food items and maintain a clean and sanitary kitchen, food preparation, and storage areas has the potential for contamination of food and may result in a foodborne illness to residents, visitors, and staff. Findings Include: The 2022 Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Food Code, Chapter 3-16, Section 3-305.11 Food Storage, stated, . FOOD shall be protected from contamination by storing the FOOD: (1) In a clean, dry location; (2) Where it is not exposed to splash, dust, or other contamination . Annex 3 Page 100, stated, . 3-305.12 Food Storage, Prohibited Areas. [...]
  3. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, review of facility policy, and staff interviews, the facility failed to identify an incident of verbal abuse for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #8) who was subjected to name calling and sworn at by a staff member. Failure to ensure residents were free from verbal abuse resulted in Resident #8's experiencing emotional distress and placed him and other vulnerable residents at risk of potential and/or continued verbal abuse.
  4. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, review of facility policy, and staff interviews, the facility failed to immediately report an incident of verbal abuse for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #8) subjected to name calling and sworn at by a staff member. Failure to report the incident to the state survey agency (SSA) placed Resident #8 and other vulnerable residents at risk of potential and/or continued verbal abuse.
  5. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and review of facility policy, the facility failed to investigate an incident of verbal abuse for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #8) who was subjected to name calling and sworn at by a staff member. Failure to thoroughly investigate the incident placed Resident #8 and other vulnerable residents at risk of potential and/or continued verbal abuse.
  6. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, policy review, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide medication in accordance with professional standards for 1 of 1 resident (Resident #31) with a percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy (PEG) tube (a tube inserted through the skin and abdominal wall directly into the stomach) observed during medication administration. Failure to accurately transcribe provider's orders may result in adverse health effects.
  7. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide the necessary treatment and services for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #2) with a pressure ulcer. Failure to complete weekly assessments with measurements of pressure ulcers per facility policy, may result in new pressure ulcers, the deterioration of existing pressure ulcers, and delay healing.
  8. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, policy review, review of a professional reference, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide appropriate toileting for 1 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #31) who required staff assistance with toileting. Failure to provide toileting may result in a loss of dignity and placed the resident at risk for skin breakdown, poor grooming/hygiene, decreased self-esteem, urinary tract infections, and at risk for falls and/or injuries.
  9. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow standards of infection control and prevention for 2 of 2 residents (Resident #2 and #31) in enhanced barrier precautions (EBP). Failure to practice infection control standards related to EBP and hand hygiene has the potential to spread infection throughout the facility.
August 8, 2024Standard inspection · 9 citations
  1. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow standards of infection control and prevention for 5 of 13 sampled residents (Resident #11, #14, #25, #90, and #139) observed during cares. Failure to practice infection control standards related to enhanced barrier precautions, urinary catheters, and hand hygiene has the potential to spread infection throughout the facility.
  2. D
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    F558 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and resident and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure care and services were provided according to accepted standards of quality for 1 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #5) observed during stand-pivot transfers. Failure to ensure staff place call lights within the resident's reach placed residents at risk for falls and/or injury.
  3. D
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to provide the resident or the resident's representative a written notice of transfer for 1 of 3 residents (Resident #8) reviewed for hospital transfer. Failure to provide a written copy of the transfer notice does not allow the resident and/or their representative to make an informed decision regarding their rights.
  4. D
    Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
    F625 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to provide the resident or the resident's representative a written notice of bed hold for 1 of 3 residents (Resident #8) reviewed for hospital transfer. Failure to provide a written copy of the bed hold notice does not allow the resident and/or their representative to make an informed decision regarding their rights.
  5. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to review and revise the comprehensive care plans to reflect the current status for 1 of 13 sampled residents (Resident #5) and 2 supplemental residents (Resident #7 and #30). Failure to review and revise the care plans limited staff's ability to communicate needs and ensure continuity of care.
  6. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to follow professional standards of practice regarding physician's orders for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #139) with a catheter. Failure to ensure physician's orders are clearly understood, correctly transcribed, and entered in a timely manner may result in a resident receiving an inappropriate medication, test, treatment, and/or other intervention.
  7. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to properly utilize assistive devices necessary to prevent accidents and/or injury for 1 of 2 sampled residents (Resident #14) observed during stand-pivot transfers. Failure to utilize a gait-belt during stand-pivot transfers placed residents at risk for falls and/or injury.
  8. D
    Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.
    F699 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to assess residents with a history of trauma and identify known triggers for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #33) reviewed for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). Failure to ensure staff assess residents with PTSD upon admission, identify known triggers, and provide appropriate person-centered treatment/services may result in re-traumatization.
  9. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure each resident's entire drug regimen is managed and monitored to promote or maintain the resident's highest practicable mental, physical, and psychosocial well-being for 1 of 5 sampled residents (Resident #14) reviewed for unnecessary medications. Failure to complete an Abnormal Involuntary Movement Scale (AIMS) screening for any resident receiving an antipsychotic medication may result in the resident experiencing an adverse reaction to the medication such as tardive dyskinesia [an involuntary movement disorder].
August 1, 2023Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 25, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, review of facility policy, and resident and staff interview, the facility failed to review and revise comprehensive care plans to reflect the current status for 2 of 12 sampled residents (Resident #13 and #16). Failure to review and revise the care plan limited staffs' ability to communicate needs and ensure continuity of care.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 1, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide the necessary treatment/services to promote the healing of pressure ulcers for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #35) and 1 of 1 closed record (Resident #38) identified with a pressure ulcer. Failure to routinely assess, monitor, and measure pressure ulcers may result in delayed healing of the pressure ulcer.
  3. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 1, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to provide adequate assistance for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #17) observed during a sit-to-stand mechanical lift transfer and failed to provide adequate assistive devices for 1 of 8 sampled resident (#33) and one supplemental resident (#30) requiring staff assistance to transport/transfer. Failure to properly use the lift and use proper assistive devices placed the residents at risk for accidents with/without injury.
  4. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 1, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, review of facility policy, and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure a medication error rate of less than five percent for 1 of 7 residents (Resident #10) observed during medication administration. Three medication errors occurred during staff administration of 37 medications, resulting in an 8% error rate. Failure to properly prepare and administer medications may result in residents receiving an ineffective dose and experiencing adverse reactions.

Fire safety inspections

2 fire safety citations on file: 1 on December 11, 2025, 1 on August 1, 2023.

Every fire safety citation2 citations
  1. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · December 11, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · August 1, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNorth DakotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.444.423.86
Registered nurses0.720.930.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.813.803.42
Nurse aides3.14
Licensed practical nurses0.58
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.8%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported40.3%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 2.86 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.69 on weekdays and 3.81 on weekends, 19% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 4.5% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.20 in April to June 2025 to 4.44 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.440.724.693.81 4.5%4 of 9036
Jul to Sep 20254.140.564.323.68 6.7%0 of 9239
Apr to Jun 20254.200.644.353.82 8.0%2 of 9137
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
North Dakota, Jan to Mar 20264.570.924.813.9611.7%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNorth DakotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.519.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.41.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.82.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.05.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.817.614.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.94.94.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.922.715.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.91.51.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.31.91.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: PARKSIDE HOME.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Hansen, ArleeneCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2020
Horgeshimer, TyleaCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2021
Kennedy, TimothyCorporate officerIndividual02/01/2008
Mertz-Hack, TaraCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2024
Moehlman, EllaCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2022
Olson, DanCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2021
Schultz, KathleenCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2015
Stetson, CindyCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2021
Storhaug, NickCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2021
Parkside HomeOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2015
Kennedy, TimothyOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2015
Mertz-Hack, TaraOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/01/2024
Schultz, KathleenOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/04/1993
Kennedy, TimothyAdp of the SNFIndividual02/01/2009
Mertz-Hack, TaraAdp of the SNFIndividual07/01/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on December 11, 2025: "Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on December 11, 2025: "Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on December 11, 2025: "Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on August 8, 2024: "Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident."

Other nursing homes nearby

North Dakota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in North Dakota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Parkside Lutheran Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Parkside Lutheran Home 1 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Parkside Lutheran Home get at its last inspection?
9 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on December 11, 2025. The North Dakota average is 5.6.
Has Parkside Lutheran Home been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Parkside Lutheran Home accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Parkside Lutheran Home?
CMS lists 15 owners and managers. Legal business name: PARKSIDE HOME.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection