Find a nursing home

Home / Oklahoma / Pauls Valley

Pauls Valley Care Center

1413 South Chickasaw Street, Pauls Valley, OK 73075 · Garvin County · (405) 238-6411

71 certified beds, about 37 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 2004

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 375463 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on December 18, 2025, inspectors cited 4 health deficiencies (the Oklahoma average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 15 health citations since March 2023, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $50,778 in the last three years; the largest was $50,778, and the latest is dated December 18, 2025.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 2.87 hours per resident per day, against 3.79 across Oklahoma and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.23 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 15 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
8D
6E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
December 18, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 5 citations
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 10, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure residents were free from injuries resulting in a fracture for 1 (#3) of 4 sampled residents reviewed for accidents. The DON identified 36 residents resided in the facility.
  2. D
    Ensure the transfer/discharge meets the resident's needs/preferences and that the resident is prepared for a safe transfer/discharge.
    F627 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 10, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident was not involuntarily discharged during hospitalization for 1 (#40) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for discharge. The DON identified 36 residents resided in the facility.
  3. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 10, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide a:a. bed hold policy upon transfer;b. discharge notice to the resident and/or representative; andc. copy of the discharge notice to the ombudsman for 1 (#40) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for discharge. The DON identified 36 residents resided in the facility.
  4. D
    Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
    F636 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 10, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure comprehensive assessments were completed within 14 days for 1 (#3) of 12 sampled residents reviewed for comprehensive assessments. The DON identified 36 residents resided in the facility.
  5. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 10, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure the initiation of a comprehensive nutrition care plan for 1 (#1) of 12 sampled residents reviewed for care plans. The DON identified 36 residents resided in the facility.
April 18, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 6 citations
  1. E
    Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
    F638 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to complete and submit quarterly reviews of the minimum data set in the required timeframe's for eight (#3, 7, 11, 12, 14,16, 17, and #23) of 10 residents whose clinical records were reviewed for completion/submission of the resident assessments. The administrator identified 34 residents. Census:
  2. E
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview the facility failed to develop a comprehensive person-centered care plan for two (#1 and #80) of 12 residents reviewed for care plans. The facility failed to develop care plans related to: a) smoking for resident #1 and #80, and b) falls for one resident #80. The Administrator reported 34 residents resided in the facility.
  3. E
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to provide wound care in a manner to reduce the risk of infection or cross contamination for one (#17) of two residents observed for wound care. The director of nursing identified 4 residents with wounds. Resident census:
  4. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to store hazardous chemicals in a secure manner. The director of nursing identified one wandering resident who ambulated throughout the facility. Facility census:
  5. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to maintain sanitary conditions in the kitchen. There was standing water in the kitchen, an active water leak from the three compartment sink, and broken/missing floor tiles. This had the potential to effect all residents. The administrator identified 34 residents resided in the facility.
  6. D
    Plan the resident's discharge to meet the resident's goals and needs.
    F660 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to ensure the resident's representative was included in discharge planning for one (#30) of three residents reviewed for discharges. The Administrator reported 34 residents resided in the facility.
March 10, 2023Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. E
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 7, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to electronically transmit MDS assessments, within 14 days after completion, for 11 (#1, 4, 5, 6, 9, 14, 19, 20, 22, 23, and #24) of 11 residents reviewed for resident assessments. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents form documented 21 residents resided in the facility.
  2. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 7, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure: a. an Oxygen in Use sign was in place per the facility's policy and, b. oxygen tubing was labeled with date and initials when changed per professional nursing standards for two (#1 and #178) of two residents reviewed for oxygen therapy. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents, dated 03/08/23, documented 21 residents resided in the facility.
  3. D
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 7, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to designate a registered nurse to serve as the Director of Nursing on a full time basis. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents form documented 21 residents resided in the facility.
  4. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 7, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to act upon a pharmacy recommendation, to consider a dose reduction of an antipsychotic medication, for one (#9) of five sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents form documented 21 residents resided in the facility.

Fire safety inspections

16 fire safety citations on file: 8 on December 18, 2025, 4 on April 18, 2024, 4 on March 10, 2023.

Every fire safety citation16 citations
  1. F
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · December 18, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have an alternate power supply for its alarm system.
    K 344 · December 18, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Ensure that corridors are separated from use areas by walls constructed to limit the passage of smoke.
    K 362 · December 18, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · December 18, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have power receptacles that are properly grounded.
    K 912 · December 18, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · December 18, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · December 18, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Meet requirements for the installation and maintenance of electrical systems.
    K 911 · December 18, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. F
    Properly provide smoke detection systems in areas open to corridors.
    K 347 · April 18, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · April 18, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · April 18, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · April 18, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · March 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. C
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · March 10, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
December 18, 2025Payment Denial 3 days from February 7, 2026
April 18, 2024Fine $50,778
April 18, 2024Payment Denial 28 days from June 27, 2024

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)2.873.793.86
Registered nurses0.230.340.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.673.443.42
Nurse aides1.82
Licensed practical nurses0.82
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported55.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported53.6%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.07 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 2.95 on weekdays and 2.67 on weekends, 9% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 2.93 in April to June 2025 to 2.87 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20262.870.232.952.67 0.0%0 of 9037
Oct to Dec 20253.060.243.132.86 0.0%0 of 9235
Jul to Sep 20252.720.212.802.50 0.0%0 of 9238
Apr to Jun 20252.930.252.952.86 0.0%0 of 9137
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Oklahoma, Jan to Mar 20263.790.323.943.422.2%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
25.013.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.41.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.94.73.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.913.714.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.74.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
32.917.515.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.82.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.83.01.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: PRO HEALTH AND REHAB.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Smith, Brooke5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual50%03/01/2022
Smith, Layne5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual50%03/01/2022
Smith, LayneW-2 managing employeeIndividual03/01/2022
Smith, BrookeCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2022
Smith, LayneCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2022

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on December 18, 2025: "Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on December 18, 2025: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on December 18, 2025: "Ensure the transfer/discharge meets the resident's needs/preferences and that the resident is prepared for a safe transfer/discharge."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 18, 2024: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.67 hours per resident per day, below the Oklahoma average of 3.44.
  6. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Oklahoma contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Oklahoma. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Pauls Valley Care Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Pauls Valley Care Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Pauls Valley Care Center get at its last inspection?
4 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on December 18, 2025. The Oklahoma average is 6.4.
Has Pauls Valley Care Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $50,778 in the last three years.
Does Pauls Valley Care Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Pauls Valley Care Center?
CMS lists 5 owners and managers. Legal business name: PRO HEALTH AND REHAB.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection