Find a nursing home

Home / Pennsylvania / St. Marys

Pinecrest Manor

763 Johnsonburg Rd, St. Marys, PA 15857 · Elk County · (814) 788-8488

138 certified beds, about 106 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1978

Inside a hospital Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 395279 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 30, 2026, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Pennsylvania average is 10, the national average 9.2).

None of its 11 health citations since March 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.82 hours per resident per day, against 3.89 across Pennsylvania and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.98 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 11 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
8D
3E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 20, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to organize and participate in resident/family groups in the facility.
    F565 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Not yet corrected
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, facility documents, and resident and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to correct Resident Council concerns for a period of three months (April 2026 through June 2026).
January 30, 2026Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of clinical records and Minimum Data Set (MDS - federally mandated standardized assessment conducted at specific intervals to plan resident care), and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that MDS assessments accurately reflected the status of five of 24 residents reviewed (Residents R94, R30, R105, R70, and R42).
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy and clinical records, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to develop a comprehensive care plan for one of 24 residents reviewed (Resident R7).
  3. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy and drug manufacturer instructions, observation, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to appropriately date and store medications in one of four medication carts reviewed (C Hall Medication Cart).
February 13, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 4 citations
  1. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policies, observations, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to store schedule II-V medications in a separately locked, permanently affixed compartment in three of four medication rooms reviewed (A/B, C/D and E/F); the facility failed to prevent the opportunity for potential unauthorized access of medications on two of four medication carts observed (D and F); and the facility failed to appropriately discard outdated medications for one of four medication carts reviewed (E wing).
  2. D
    Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
    F655 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy and clinical records, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to initiate a baseline care plan for one of 23 residents reviewed (Resident R99).
  3. D
    Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
    F725 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on reveiew of clinical records, observations and staff and resident interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to provide sufficient nursing staff to promote the physical and mental well-being and meet the needs of seven of 23 residents interviewed (Residents R80, R12, R34, R37, R93, R79, and R51).
  4. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 10, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, review of clinical records and facility policy, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to prevent the potential for cross contamination (the spreading of germs/microorganisms from one surface to another) during wound care for one of 23 residents reviewed (Resident R13).
March 14, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
    F655 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy and clinical records, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to initiate a baseline care plan for one of 22 residents reviewed (Resident R201) and failed to provide a written summary of the baseline care plan and order summary to the resident and/or representative for one of 22 residents reviewed (Resident R99).
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy and clinical records, and staff interview it was determined that the facility failed to develop a comprehensive care plan for one of 22 residents reviewed (Resident R7).
  3. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy and manufacturer's instructions, observation, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that medications were properly dated when opened and discarded in a timely manner for one of two medication rooms observed (Unit A/B medication room).

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.823.893.86
Registered nurses0.980.790.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.223.533.42
Nurse aides2.15
Licensed practical nurses0.70
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.9%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.09 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.07 on weekdays and 3.22 on weekends, 21% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.47 in April to June 2025 to 3.82 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.820.984.073.22 0.0%0 of 90106
Oct to Dec 20253.740.843.953.19 2.4%0 of 92105
Jul to Sep 20253.570.683.802.97 2.0%0 of 92107
Apr to Jun 20253.470.693.722.87 2.6%0 of 91100
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Pennsylvania, Jan to Mar 20263.690.653.823.3411.3%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Pennsylvania

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Pennsylvania, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$21.44$18.88 to $22.5267,740
LPNs and LVNs$30.74$29.02 to $35.0138,260
Registered nurses$46.36$38.75 to $50.35146,520
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.816.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.31.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.83.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
25.917.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.64.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.517.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
16.622.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
5.89.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.81.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.61.21.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ELK REGIONAL HEALTH CENTER.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Bolden, MeganW-2 managing employeeIndividual08/01/2015
Strishock, JourdanW-2 managing employeeIndividual08/01/2021
Bolden, MeganCorporate directorIndividual08/01/2015
Schneider, HeatherCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2020
Bassi, BradleyCorporate officerIndividual10/01/2021
Belczyk, CarlynCorporate officerIndividual10/01/2021
Carnevale, ThomasCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2021
Conrad, DonaldCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2021
Devlin, JamesCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2022
Elkassas, HazemCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2020
Foradora, ScottCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2020
Kiefer, LawrenceCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2022
Lewis, SamuelCorporate officerIndividual02/01/2021
Lezzer, DavidCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2021
McGinley, MarkCorporate officerIndividual10/01/2021
O'Leary, RobertCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2021
Ordiway, RobertCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2019
Pfingstler, RichardCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2021
Price, FredCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2022
Ryan, JamesCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2020
Ryan, JoanneCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2022
Stoltz, ToddCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2022
Young, WilliamCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2021
Penn Highlands Healthcare, Inc.Operational/managerial controlOrganization10/01/2013

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on January 30, 2026: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on January 30, 2026: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 20, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to organize and participate in resident/family groups in the facility."
  4. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 13, 2025: "Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.22 hours per resident per day, below the Pennsylvania average of 3.53.

Other nursing homes nearby

Pennsylvania contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Pennsylvania. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Pinecrest Manor's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Pinecrest Manor 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Pinecrest Manor get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on January 30, 2026. The Pennsylvania average is 10.
Has Pinecrest Manor been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Pinecrest Manor accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Pinecrest Manor?
CMS lists 24 owners and managers. Legal business name: ELK REGIONAL HEALTH CENTER.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection