Find a nursing home

Home / Massachusetts / Boston

Recuperative Services Unit-Hebrew Rehab Center

1200 Centre Street, Boston, MA 02131 · Suffolk County · (617) 325-8000

50 certified beds, about 30 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare since 2001

CMS high performing icon Inside a hospital Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 225759 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 17, 2026, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Massachusetts average is 6.8, the national average 9.2).

None of its 8 health citations since July 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.02 hours per resident per day, against 3.86 across Massachusetts and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.19 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 8 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
4D
1E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
2B
0C
June 17, 2026Standard inspection · 0 citations
January 21, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 13, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on records reviewed and interviews, for one of three sampled residents (Resident #1), who was severely cognitively impaired, unable to give consent and had an activated Health Care Proxy (HCP), the facility failed to ensure Resident #1 was treated in a dignified and respectful manner, when on 12/22/25 during the day shift, Resident #1's hair had been cut (which was against his/her cultural beliefs) by a staff member, and was cut without consent from his/her Health Care Agent (HCA).
July 24, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 7, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to electronically submit direct care staffing data to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) for the entire reporting period, Fiscal Year (FY) Quarter 2 2025 (January 1 - March 31), in accordance with the schedule specified by CMS.
  2. B
    Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
    F636 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 7, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment review and interview, the facility failed to ensure staff completed comprehensive MDS assessments within the required time frame for 11 Residents (#46, #17, #21, #40, #73, #51, #7, #66, #60, #23, and #10), out of a total sample of 20 residents.
July 17, 2024Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, policy review, and interview, the facility failed to serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. Specifically, the facility failed to ensure staff did not use contaminated gloves to directly handle ready-to-eat food.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to implement the plan of care for one Resident (#434) out of a total sample of 12 residents. Specifically, the facility failed to provide supervision with eating for Resident #434.
  3. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, interview and observation for one Resident (#81) of 12 sampled residents, the facility failed to provide respiratory care consistent with professional standards of practice. Specifically, the facility failed to develop a resident care policy for oxygen administration and failed to obtain a physician's order for oxygen use, which staff were actively administering to the Resident.
  4. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, policy review, record review and interview for one Resident (#18) of 12 sampled residents, the facility failed to ensure staff stored drugs and biologicals in accordance with State and Federal requirements. Specifically, for Resident #18 the facility failed to ensure nursing stored his/her physician's ordered nasal spray and timolol (medicated eye drops used to treat high pressure in the eyes) according to State and Federal requirements.
  5. B
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 26, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews the facility failed to ensure a Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment was accurately coded for one Resident (#28) out of three sampled closed records. Specifically, for Resident #28, the facility failed to accurately code the correct discharge location on the MDS assessment.

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMassachusettsUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.023.863.86
Registered nurses1.190.650.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.633.483.42
Nurse aides2.79
Licensed practical nurses1.04
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported38.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 4.04 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.17 on weekdays and 4.63 on weekends, 10% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 14.8% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.01 in April to June 2025 to 5.02 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.021.195.174.63 14.8%0 of 9030
Oct to Dec 20254.560.954.734.14 13.1%1 of 9232
Jul to Sep 20254.551.144.853.77 9.8%0 of 9234
Apr to Jun 20255.011.215.224.45 6.2%0 of 9130
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Massachusetts, Jan to Mar 20263.790.613.943.415.0%0.4% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMassachusettsUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.21.41.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
23.925.723.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
7.111.912.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: HEBREW REHABILITATION CENTER.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Bane, HarrisonManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2023
Cohen, HowardManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2020
Desimone, ThomasManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2013
Edmonds, JaneManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2021
Fleishman, ValerieManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2024
Flier, StevenManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2015
Florence Smith, SusanManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2011
Genser, MauriceManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2014
Kotler, HaroldManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2011
Rosenthal, DavidManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2011
Webber, JayManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2011
Zeidel, MarkManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2012
Cohen, MarshaCorporate directorIndividual11/07/2013
Henken, RichardCorporate directorIndividual05/22/2024
Cohen, MarshaCorporate officerIndividual11/07/2013
Henken, RichardCorporate officerIndividual05/22/2024
Johnson, MarkCorporate officerIndividual11/20/2024
Mandel, ErnestCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2023
Woolf, LouisCorporate officerIndividual10/15/2009
Mandel, ErnestOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2023
Masterson, AnnOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2021
Retalic, TammyOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/13/2004
Cliftonlarsonallen LLPAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2017
Forvis Mazars LLPAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2020
Cohen, MarshaAdp of the SNFIndividual11/07/2013
Mandel, ErnestAdp of the SNFIndividual02/12/2025
Masterson, AnnAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2021
Retalic, TammyAdp of the SNFIndividual09/13/2004
Woolf, LouisAdp of the SNFIndividual10/15/2009

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on July 24, 2025: "Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 21, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights."
  3. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 24, 2025: "Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 17, 2024: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."

Other nursing homes nearby

Common questions

What is Recuperative Services Unit-Hebrew Rehab Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Recuperative Services Unit-Hebrew Rehab Center 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Recuperative Services Unit-Hebrew Rehab Center get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 17, 2026. The Massachusetts average is 6.8.
Has Recuperative Services Unit-Hebrew Rehab Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Recuperative Services Unit-Hebrew Rehab Center accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Recuperative Services Unit-Hebrew Rehab Center?
CMS lists 29 owners and managers. Legal business name: HEBREW REHABILITATION CENTER.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection