Find a nursing home

Home / New Hampshire / Exeter

Riverwoods at Exeter

6 White Oak Drive, Exeter, NH 03833 · Rockingham County · (603) 772-4700

8 certified beds, about 3 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare since 1995

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
Not rated
CMS note: Not enough data available to calculate a star rating.
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 305049 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 18, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the New Hampshire average is 4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 4 health citations since March 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 4 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
2D
0E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
March 18, 2026Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 16, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, and record review, the facility failed to implement water management control measures, potentially exposing a census of 3 residents to waterborne pathogens.
March 6, 2025Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 24, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that equipment used to prepare food was properly cleaned in the main kitchen.
  2. C
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, it was determined that the facility failed to submit complete and accurate data for Payroll Based Journal for Fiscal Year Quarter 4 (July 1, 2024 - September 30, 2024).
March 28, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 16, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and policy review, it was determined that the facility failed to store food in accordance with professional standards.

Fire safety inspections

11 fire safety citations on file: 1 on March 18, 2026, 4 on March 6, 2025, 6 on March 28, 2024.

Every fire safety citation11 citations
  1. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 18, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. C
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · March 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · March 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · March 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · March 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · March 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · March 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. C
    Install emergency lighting that can last at least 1 1/2 hours.
    K 291 · March 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNew HampshireUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.903.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.780.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.473.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported40.9%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility submitted data that did not meet the criteria required to calculate a staffing measure.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In October to December 2025, nursing staff hours per resident were 12.18 on weekdays and 9.11 on weekends, 25% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 5.1% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 7.51 in April to June 2025 to 11.29 in October to December 2025.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Oct to Dec 202511.294.8412.189.11 5.1%0 of 925
Jul to Sep 20257.411.207.836.38 12.6%2 of 9216
Apr to Jun 20257.511.107.786.85 1.5%4 of 9116
United States, Oct to Dec 20253.760.623.933.345.3%0.5% of days
New Hampshire, Oct to Dec 20253.850.734.013.4513.7%1.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNew HampshireUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.722.713.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.10.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.04.43.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.34.24.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
28.122.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
36.613.412.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: THE RIVERWOODS COMPANY AT EXETER NEW HAMPSHIRE.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Vogel, JustineW-2 managing employeeIndividual06/01/2007
Riddell, DeborahCorporate directorIndividual06/01/2017
Brownell, DavidCorporate officerIndividual06/01/2020
Chartrand, DanielCorporate officerIndividual06/01/2020
Desjardins, SusanCorporate officerIndividual06/01/2020
Goyette, KevinCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2007
Hickory, J MichaelCorporate officerIndividual06/01/2020
Maccraken Donnelly, SarahCorporate officerIndividual06/01/2020
Prue, PatriciaCorporate officerIndividual05/01/2022
Stafford, WilliamCorporate officerIndividual06/01/2020
Towers, CathyCorporate officerIndividual06/01/2016
Ulfelder, HowardCorporate officerIndividual06/01/2016

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 6, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 18, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 6, 2025: "Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data."

Other nursing homes nearby

Common questions

What is Riverwoods at Exeter's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Riverwoods at Exeter 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, no for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Riverwoods at Exeter get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on March 18, 2026. The New Hampshire average is 4.
Has Riverwoods at Exeter been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Riverwoods at Exeter accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Riverwoods at Exeter?
CMS lists 12 owners and managers. Legal business name: THE RIVERWOODS COMPANY AT EXETER NEW HAMPSHIRE.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection