Find a nursing home

Home / Virginia / Wytheville

Wythe Cnty Community Hosp Ecu

600 W Ridge Rd, Wytheville, VA 24382 · Wythe County · (276) 228-0200

8 certified beds, about 3 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1987

Inside a hospital Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 495167 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on November 25, 2025, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Virginia average is 14.3, the national average 9.2).

None of its 6 health citations since February 2020 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 8.67 hours per resident per day, against 3.76 across Virginia and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 7.62 of those hours.

CMS links it to Lifepoint Health, an affiliated group of 8 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 6 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
4D
0E
2F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
November 25, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
    F655 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 12, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to provide residents and/or resident representatives with a copy of the baseline care plan.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 12, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to ensure the correct code status was in place for 1 of 6 residents, Resident #1.
  3. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to offer a pneumococcal vaccine in accordance with nationally recognized standards for 1 of 5 sampled residents, Resident #1.
December 29, 2022Standard inspection · 0 citations
February 6, 2020Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 16, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and staff interview, the facility staff failed to store food and items used to prepare food in a manner to prevent the outbreak of foodborne illness. As evidenced by outdated items in the kitchen area and nesting of wet pans.
  2. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 16, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and clinical record review, the facility staff failed to ensure an accurate MDS (minimum data set) assessment for 1 of 7 records, Resident # 7.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 16, 2020
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview and clinical record review the facility staff failed to ensure that residents receive treatment and care by following physician's orders for medication administration for 1 of 7 residents (Resident #107).

Fire safety inspections

6 fire safety citations on file: 1 on November 25, 2025, 5 on December 29, 2022.

Every fire safety citation6 citations
  1. E
    Meet other general requirements.
    K 932 · November 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · December 29, 2022 · Waiver
  3. E
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · December 29, 2022 · Waiver
  4. E
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · December 29, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · December 29, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Provide a written emergency evacuation plan.
    K 711 · December 29, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeVirginiaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)8.673.763.86
Registered nurses7.620.690.69
All nursing staff on weekends8.093.293.42
Nurse aides0.28
Licensed practical nurses0.78
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported48.2%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 4.05 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 8.91 on weekdays and 8.09 on weekends, 9% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 10.03 in July to September 2025 to 8.67 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20268.677.628.918.09 0.0%1 of 903
Oct to Dec 20256.075.576.315.50 0.0%2 of 914
Jul to Sep 202510.037.2410.538.66 1.3%6 of 883
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Virginia, Jan to Mar 20263.580.563.763.125.7%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeVirginiaUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.31.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
22.422.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
9.111.512.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: WYTHE COUNTY COMMUNITY HOSPITAL, LLC. CMS links this home to Lifepoint Health, a group of 8 nursing homes averaging 4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Lifepoint Holdings 2 LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%06/01/2005
Historic Lifepoint Hospitals, LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization06/01/2005
Legacy Lifepoint Health LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization06/01/2005
Lifepoint Hospitals Holdings LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization06/01/2005
Parks, VickiContracted managing employeeIndividual12/14/2020
Davis, DanielCorporate officerIndividual09/19/2022
Grooms, JohnCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2016
Haugh, WilliamCorporate officerIndividual09/19/2022
Lawrence, CharlotteCorporate officerIndividual01/21/2022
Monte, ChristopherCorporate officerIndividual01/05/2008
Poppell, MarcusCorporate officerIndividual11/02/2009
Lifepoint Corporate Services General PartnershipOperational/managerial controlOrganization06/01/2015

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on November 25, 2025: "Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted"
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on November 25, 2025: "Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on November 25, 2025: "Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 6, 2020: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."

Other nursing homes nearby

Virginia contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Virginia. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Wythe Cnty Community Hosp Ecu's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Wythe Cnty Community Hosp Ecu 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Wythe Cnty Community Hosp Ecu get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on November 25, 2025. The Virginia average is 14.3.
Has Wythe Cnty Community Hosp Ecu been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Wythe Cnty Community Hosp Ecu accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Wythe Cnty Community Hosp Ecu?
CMS lists 12 owners and managers, and links the home to Lifepoint Health. Legal business name: WYTHE COUNTY COMMUNITY HOSPITAL, LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection