Find a nursing home

Home / Louisiana / Houma

Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF

8166 Main Street, Houma, LA 70360 · Terrebonne County · (985) 873-4141

6 certified beds, about 2 residents a day · Non profit - Other · Medicare since 1985

Inside a hospital Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
Not rated
CMS note: Not enough data available to calculate a star rating.
Quality measures
1 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 195185 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on February 11, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Louisiana average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 10 health citations since February 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 10 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
4E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
1B
0C
February 11, 2026Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
    F693 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record reviews the facility failed to ensure percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy tube flushes before and after medication administration for 1 (Resident #11) of 1 sampled resident with a percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy tube (a feeding tube inserted through the abdomen into the stomach, commonly used for long-term nutrition, fluids, and medication delivery).
  2. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 28, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to implement Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) for 2 (Resident #5, Resident #11) of 2 sampled residents observed for infection control practices.
February 5, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and record reviews, the facility failed to ensure a Notice of Medicare Non-Coverage (NOMNC) Form (CMS-10123) was given to all Medicare beneficiaries who were discharged home with benefit days remaining, at least two days before the end of a Medicare covered Part A stay, for 3 (Resident #201, Resident #202, Resident #203) of 3 (Resident #201, Resident #202, Resident #203) sampled residents reviewed for beneficiary notification.
  2. D
    Verify that a nurse aide has been trained; and if they haven't worked as a nurse aide for 2 years, receive retraining.
    F729 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 7, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) registry verification was completed prior to hire for 1 (S6Nursing Assistant [NA]) of 5 (S3CNA, S4CNA, S5NA, S6CNA, S7CNA) personnel records reviewed for registry verification.
  3. D
    Provide behavior health training consistent with the requirements and as determined by a facility assessment.
    F949 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record reviews, the facility failed to ensure a staff member received dementia trainings for 1 (S3Certified Nursing Assistant [CNA]) of 5 (S3CNA, S4CNA, S5Nursing Assistant [NA], S6CNA, S7CNA) personnel records reviewed for required trainings.
February 15, 2024Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record reviews, and interviews the facility failed to: 1. Ensure the registered nurse (RN) performed hand hygiene and applied gloves after contact with equipment and prior to touching and administering medication for 4 (Resident #56, Resident #57, Resident #58, and Resident #59) of 4 (Resident #56, Resident #57, Resident #58, and Resident #59) sampled residents observed during medication administration; 2. Ensure the RN and certified nursing assistant (CNA) performed hand hygiene and changed gloves appropriately as required during wound care for 1 (Resident #58) of 1 (Resident #58) sampled residents observed during wound care; and, 3. [...]
  2. E
    Give their staff education on dementia care, and what abuse, neglect, and exploitation are; and how to report abuse, neglect, and exploitation.
    F943 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and interviews, the facility: 1. Failed to ensure staff were provided abuse and neglect training (S8Agency Registered Nurse (RN), S9Agency RN, and S10Agency RN); and 2. Failed to ensure staff were provided dementia management training (S6Certfied Nursing Assistant (CNA) and S11CNA). This deficient practice was identified for 5 (S6CNA, S8Agency RN, S9Agency RN, S10Agency RN, and S11CNA) of 8 (S6CNA, S8Agency RN, S9Agency RN, and S10Agency RN, S11CNA, S12Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), S13CNA, and S14CNA) personnel records reviewed.
  3. D
    Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
    F607 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure their policy and procedure included: 1. A process of screening employees to prevent abuse, neglect, and exploitation of residents; and, 2. A process for training employees on abuse, neglect, and exploitation of residents.
  4. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure medications were locked and not available for use at a resident's bedside for 1 (Resident #56) of 4 (Resident #56, Resident #57, Resident #58, and Resident #59) sampled residents observed for medications left at the bedside.
  5. B
    Allow residents to easily view the nursing home's survey results and communicate with advocate agencies.
    F577 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record reviews, and interviews, the facility failed to post the most recent survey results.

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeLouisianaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.763.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.310.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.213.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported47.6%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported41.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility submitted data that did not meet the criteria required to calculate a staffing measure.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeLouisianaUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.43.11.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
23.728.023.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
13.414.812.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: TERREBONNE PARISH HOSPITAL SERVICE DISTRICT #1.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Terrebonne Parish Hospital Service District #15% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization07/11/1985
Adams, BenCorporate directorIndividual08/12/2020
Alexander, RobertCorporate directorIndividual08/12/2015
Barker, AngeliqueCorporate directorIndividual10/02/2013
Bergeron, MichaelCorporate directorIndividual07/29/2016
Chauvin, KerryCorporate directorIndividual08/12/2020
Eues, EarlCorporate directorIndividual08/01/2019
Fakier, MikeCorporate directorIndividual10/09/2008
Magee, TannerCorporate directorIndividual07/29/2022
Morrison, JamesCorporate directorIndividual05/15/2024
Pickett, BernadetteCorporate directorIndividual07/28/2015
Williams, ArlandaCorporate directorIndividual07/29/2022
McKee, NicoleCorporate officerIndividual04/01/2018
Peoples, PhyllisCorporate officerIndividual04/24/2003
Yeates, FrancesCorporate officerIndividual10/09/2008
Terrebonne Parish Hospital Service District #1Operational/managerial controlOrganization07/11/1985
Peoples, PhyllisOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/24/2003
McKee, NicoleAdp of the SNFIndividual05/09/2025
Peoples, PhyllisAdp of the SNFIndividual05/09/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on February 11, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on February 5, 2025: "Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on February 15, 2024: "Give their staff education on dementia care, and what abuse, neglect, and exploitation are; and how to report abuse, neglect, and exploitation."
  4. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 11, 2026: "Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube."

Other nursing homes nearby

Louisiana contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Louisiana. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, no for staffing and 1 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on February 11, 2026. The Louisiana average is 6.4.
Has Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF?
CMS lists 19 owners and managers. Legal business name: TERREBONNE PARISH HOSPITAL SERVICE DISTRICT #1.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection