Find a nursing home

Home / Pennsylvania / Lower Gwynedd

Willowbrooke Court-Spring Hous

728 Norristown Road, Lower Gwynedd, PA 19002 · Montgomery County · (215) 628-3545

16 certified beds, about 10 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare since 1981

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 395495 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 2, 2026, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Pennsylvania average is 10, the national average 9.2).

None of its 2 health citations since May 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.05 hours per resident per day, against 3.89 across Pennsylvania and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.25 of those hours.

CMS links it to Acts Retirement-Life Communities, an affiliated group of 27 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 2 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
2D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 23, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Not yet corrected
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, review of clinical records, review of facility documentation, and staff interview it was determined that the facility failed to provide adequate supervision for one of five residents reviewed (Resident R1). Findings Include: Review of facility policy titled, Elopement, Unescorted Exit last revised July 2023 states, Policy- To strive to report an unauthorized, unescorted, and/or unsafe exit of a cognitively impaired resident from the community and to locate and report any resident suspected of being missing. [...]
April 2, 2026Standard inspection · 0 citations
April 17, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
May 28, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 28, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the facility policies, facility documentation, and staff interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to implement procedures to promote accurate narcotic medication records on one of one medication storage room reviewed. (Pine nursing unit)

Fire safety inspections

11 fire safety citations on file: 5 on April 17, 2025, 6 on May 28, 2024.

Every fire safety citation11 citations
  1. E
    Install a two-hour-resistant firewall separation.
    K 133 · April 17, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · April 17, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Have a complete alarm system manually initiated and initiated by fire sprinkler system connection.
    K 342 · April 17, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Meet requirements for the installation and maintenance of electrical systems.
    K 911 · April 17, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · April 17, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · May 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Meet requirements for sections of health care facilities separated by fire resistive construction.
    K 131 · May 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · May 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. E
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · May 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. E
    Meet requirements for the installation and maintenance of electrical systems.
    K 911 · May 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · May 28, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.053.893.86
Registered nurses1.250.790.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.813.533.42
Nurse aides2.19
Licensed practical nurses0.60
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.9%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.49 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.14 on weekdays and 3.81 on weekends, 8% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.87 in April to June 2025 to 4.05 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.051.254.143.81 0.0%0 of 9010
Oct to Dec 20254.141.324.313.73 0.0%0 of 929
Jul to Sep 20253.711.163.833.42 1.4%0 of 928
Apr to Jun 20253.871.193.933.74 0.0%0 of 919
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Pennsylvania, Jan to Mar 20263.690.653.823.3411.3%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.21.41.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
22.322.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
6.29.512.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ACTS RETIREMENT-LIFE COMMUNITIES INC. CMS links this home to Acts Retirement-Life Communities, a group of 27 nursing homes averaging 4.9 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Acts Acquisition and Development Company LLCIndirect ownership interestOrganization01/01/2003
Acts Alliance Management LLCIndirect ownership interestOrganization12/31/2022
Acts Communities of Maryland, Inc.Indirect ownership interestOrganization04/01/2019
Acts Legacy Foundation, Inc.Indirect ownership interestOrganization12/31/2022
Acts Retirement Services, IncIndirect ownership interestOrganization03/24/2009
Acts Retirement-Life Communities Management, LLCIndirect ownership interestOrganization12/31/2022
Acts Signature Community Services IncIndirect ownership interestOrganization03/24/2009
Bonita Springs Retirement Village IncIndirect ownership interestOrganization11/01/2024
Mease Life IncIndirect ownership interestOrganization10/01/2023
Acts Retirement-Life Communities Inc5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization01/01/1990
Allmond, SusanCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2015
Brod, KathrynCorporate directorIndividual02/15/2024
Callaway, WarrenCorporate directorIndividual03/30/2022
Chamberlain, LindaCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2025
Christiansen, KarenCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2020
Detweiler, HaroldCorporate directorIndividual01/26/2009
Esterhai, JohnCorporate directorIndividual01/26/2009
Gerner, ElricCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2009
Glynn, JamesCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2023
Grant, GeraldCorporate directorIndividual05/04/2017
Greer, JasonCorporate directorIndividual03/30/2022
Kelly, MichaelCorporate directorIndividual02/11/2020
Lammers, JohnCorporate directorIndividual12/15/2020
Lawson, DanielCorporate directorIndividual06/11/2019
Mashner, MarvinCorporate directorIndividual01/26/2009
Middlebrooks, DanielCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2023
Reichard, DawnCorporate directorIndividual06/01/2025
Ahern, SusanCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2020
Christiansen, KarenCorporate officerIndividual08/01/2014
Fox, GlennCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2017
Gerner, ElricCorporate officerIndividual04/01/2009
Grant, GeraldCorporate officerIndividual08/01/2014
Lawson, DanielCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2025
Mashner, MarvinCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2025
Acts Management Services, Inc.Operational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2012
Acts Retirement-Life Communities IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization12/31/2022
Acts Retirement-Life Communities Management, LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization12/31/2022
Ahern, SusanOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2020
Christiansen, KarenOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/26/2009
Fox, GlennOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2017
Grant, GeraldOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/01/2014
U.s. BankTrustee of the SNFOrganization07/09/2025
Acts Management Services, Inc.Adp of the SNFOrganization07/20/2025
Acts Retirement-Life Communities IncAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/1990
Acts Retirement-Life Communities Management, LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization07/20/2025
Baker Tilly Advisory Group LPAdp of the SNFOrganization02/03/2025
Baker Tilly Us LLPAdp of the SNFOrganization11/05/2024
U.s. BankAdp of the SNFOrganization07/11/2025
Ahern, SusanAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2020
Chalfin, RobertAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2022
Christiansen, KarenAdp of the SNFIndividual08/01/2014
Fox, GlennAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2017
Grant, GeraldAdp of the SNFIndividual08/01/2014
Siegfried, SusanAdp of the SNFIndividual01/26/2015

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 23, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on May 28, 2024: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."

Other nursing homes nearby

Pennsylvania contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Pennsylvania. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Willowbrooke Court-Spring Hous's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Willowbrooke Court-Spring Hous 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 5 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Willowbrooke Court-Spring Hous get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 2, 2026. The Pennsylvania average is 10.
Has Willowbrooke Court-Spring Hous been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Willowbrooke Court-Spring Hous accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Willowbrooke Court-Spring Hous?
CMS lists 54 owners and managers, and links the home to Acts Retirement-Life Communities. Legal business name: ACTS RETIREMENT-LIFE COMMUNITIES INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection