Find a nursing home

Home / Maryland / Silver Spring

Althea Woodland Nursing Home

1000 Daleview Drive, Silver Spring, MD 20901 · Montgomery County · (301) 434-2646

50 certified beds, about 49 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1991

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 215228 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 25, 2025, inspectors cited 13 health deficiencies (the Maryland average is 17, the national average 9.2).

None of its 30 health citations since July 2019 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.70 hours per resident per day, against 3.87 across Maryland and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.57 of those hours.

18.9% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Maryland average 40.2%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 30 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
25D
3E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
1B
1C
June 23, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview with facility staff, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure clean, safe, and comfortable environment. This was evident in 3 (Rooms 5, 26 and 27) of 4 rooms reviewed during the annual survey.
April 25, 2025Standard inspection · 13 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, it was determined that the facility failed to maintain proper sanitation for storage of food in the nursing units and in the kitchen. This was evident on 1 of 2 nursing units and on the initial tour of the kitchen during review of food storage and sanitation.
  2. E
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to maintain resident records completely and accurately. This was evident for 4 (Resident #15, #6, #34, #21) out of 16 sampled residents reviewed during the annual survey.
  3. D
    Allow resident to participate in the development and implementation of his or her person-centered plan of care.
    F553 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to facilitate the inclusion of the resident and/or resident representative in care plan meetings. This was evident for 1 (Resident #21) out of 3 residents reviewed for care planning during the annual survey.
  4. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility staff interview and surveyor record review it was determined that the facility failed to document if Residents had an advance directive, wished to formulate an advance directive and were provided the educational information on advance directives. This finding was found to be evident in 2 out of 2 Residents (#16 & #31) reviewed for advance directives.
  5. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, it was determined that the facility failed to implement and develop comprehensive care plans to address the residents' use of (1) anti-psychotic medications and (2) Anti-coagulant medications. This was evident in 2 (Resident #39 and #40) of 17 residents reviewed the development of comprehensive care plans during the recertification survey.
  6. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, facility staff interview and surveyor record review it was determined that the facility failed to revise a Resident's care plan. This finding was found to be evident in 1 (Resident #31) out of 2 Residents reviewed for care plan timing and revision.
  7. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, it was determined that the facility failed to assess the nutritional needs of newly admitted residents in a timely manner. This was evident of 2 (Resident #42 and #10) of 17 residents reviewed for nutrition during the recertification survey.
  8. D
    Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
    F697 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews, it was determined that the facility failed to provide appropriate pain management for residents. This was evident for 1 (Resident #10) of 17 residents reviewed for pain during the recertification survey.
  9. D
    Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
    F730 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility staff interviews and employee record reviews it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the required nurse aide performance reviews - 12 hour/year in-services were completed. This finding was found to be evident in 3 out of 3 employee personnel files (#10, #11 and #14) reviewed for annual required nurse aide performance review - 12 hour/year in-service.
  10. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, clinical record review and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure a medication error rate of less than 5% for 1 (Resident #7) of 3 residents observed during the medication pass observation. This was evident for 3 medication errors out of 33 opportunities which resulted in an error rate of 9.09%.
  11. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, facility staff interviews and surveyor record review it was determined that the facility failed to follow infection prevention and control practices and ongoing infection surveillance. This finding was found to be evident in the review of infection prevention and control practices and medication administration.
  12. D
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    F921 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, and interview, it was determined that the facility failed to keep a sanitary environment. This was evident in the Kitchen during the facility's annual recertification survey.
  13. D
    Ensure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.
    F947 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 23, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility staff interviews and employee record reviews, it was determined that the facility failed to ensure that the required in-service training for nurse aides was completed. This finding was found to be evident in 3 out of 3 employee personnel files (#10, #11 and #14) reviewed for the annual required in-service training for nurse aides.
August 2, 2024Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
    F625 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and interview, the facility failed to provide written notice to the resident or resident representative of the facility's bed hold policy. (Resident # 2). This was evident in 1 of 5 residents reviewed during a complaint survey.
  2. D
    Permit a resident to return to the nursing home after hospitalization or therapeutic leave that exceeds bed-hold policy.
    F626 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and interview, the facility failed to allow a resident (resident #2) to return to the facility after transfer for emergency treatment. This was evident for 1 of 5 residents reviewed during a complaint survey.
  3. D
    Ensure necessary information is communicated to the resident, and receiving health care provider at the time of a planned discharge.
    F661 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, it was determined that the facility failed to place a discharge summary on a resident's (resident #2) medical record after discharge. This was evident for 1 of 5 residents reviewed in a complaint survey.
April 9, 2021Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
    F655 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 7, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor review of the clinical records and staff interviews, it was determined that facility staff failed to provide evidence that a baseline care plan was done and provided to the resident/representative. This finding was evident for 3 out of 19 residents reviewed during the annual survey (Residents #6, #11, and #193).
  2. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 7, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record reviews and interviews with the facility staff, it was determined that the facility staff failed to follow a physician's order and failed to provide care in accordance with professional standards of practice. This was evident for 2 out of 19 residents selected for review during the survey (Resident #7 and #11).
  3. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 7, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor review of the clinical record, it was determined that the facility staff failed to ensure that a resident receiving psychotropic medication had an appropriate clinical indication for the use of the psychotropic medication and failed to provide behavior monitoring for the use of the medication. This finding was evident for 1 of 5 residents selected for unneccessary medication review during the survey (#32).
July 11, 2019Standard inspection · 10 citations
  1. E
    Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
    F925 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor tour of the facility's kitchen and nursing units, it was determined that the facility staff failed to ensure that the facility was free of pests. This was evident in the kitchen and the first- floor unit.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor observation and review of the clinical record, it was determined that facility staff failed to develop a plan of care to address a resident's restorative care program. This finding was evident in 1 of 16 residents reviewed during the survey. (#25)
  3. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor observation, review of the clinical record and resident interview, it was determined that the facility staff failed to demonstrate the residents active participation in care planning, failure to adhere to the interventions documented in the care plan, and failure to revise the care plan to reflect the resident's current physical and psychosocial needs. This finding was evident in 1 of 3 residents selected for the care plan review. (#32)
  4. D
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor observation, review of the clinical record, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility staff failed to ensure that a recommended restorative care program was implemented. This finding was evident in 1 of 3 residents selected for review of the limited range of motion care area.(#25)
  5. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor review of resident #42's clinical record and interview of the facility staff, it was determined that the consultant pharmacist failed to identify an irregularity during the monthly drug regimen reviews. This finding was evident for 1 of 6 residents selected for the unnecessary medication review. (#42)
  6. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor review of the clinical record and interviews with facility staff, it was determined that the facility failed to discontinue or re-assess the need for the use of a PRN (as needed) psychotropic medication beyond 14 days. This finding was evident for 1 of 6 residents selected for the Unnecessary Medication Review. (#42)
  7. D
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides drinks consistent with resident needs and preferences and sufficient to maintain resident hydration.
    F807 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor observation, review of clinical records, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to provide liquids thickened to a consistency determined necessary to meet the resident's clinical needs. This finding was evident for 1 (#35) of 2 residents selected for review of the hydration care area.
  8. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor review of facility antibiotic stewardship program and policies and infection control policies, it was determined that the facility staff failed to review and revise infection control policies and practices annually. In addition, facility staff failed to utilize the appropriate product to disinfect a glucometer. This finding was evident on 1 of 2 nursing units.
  9. C
    Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
    F730 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor review of employee files and facility staff interview, it was determined that the facility staff failed to complete a performance review for nurses aides at least once every 12 months. This was evident in 3 of 3 employee records reviewed during the survey.
  10. B
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 10, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on surveyor review of the clinical record and interview of the facility staff, it was determined that the resident's attending physician failed to accurately document on a resident's Maryland Medical Orders for Life-Sustaining Treatment (MOLST) form. Maryland MOLST is a portable and enduring form for orders about cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and other life-sustaining treatments including artificial ventilation, blood transfusion, hospital transfer, medical work up, antibiotics, artificially administered fluids and nutrition and dialysis. This finding was evident for 1 of 1 residents selected for the advance directive review (#6).

Fire safety inspections

30 fire safety citations on file: 18 on April 25, 2025, 6 on April 9, 2021, 6 on July 11, 2019.

Every fire safety citation30 citations
  1. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Meet other general requirements.
    K 200 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. E
    Have elevators that firefighters can control in the event of a fire.
    K 531 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Ensure proper usage of power strips and extension cords.
    K 920 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. D
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Have exits that are accessible at all times.
    K 271 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. D
    Have a complete alarm system manually initiated and initiated by fire sprinkler system connection.
    K 342 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. D
    Ensure that corridors are separated from use areas by walls constructed to limit the passage of smoke.
    K 362 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. D
    Enure that solid fuel-burning fireplaces are not in patient sleeping areas.
    K 525 · April 25, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. D
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · April 9, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. D
    Meet requirements for the use of electrical equipment.
    K 919 · April 9, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  21. C
    Establish emergency prep training and testing.
    E 36 · April 9, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  22. C
    Establish staff and initial training requirements.
    E 37 · April 9, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  23. C
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · April 9, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  24. C
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · April 9, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  25. D
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · July 11, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  26. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · July 11, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  27. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · July 11, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  28. C
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · July 11, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  29. B
    Construct fire resistant interior walls.
    K 331 · July 11, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  30. B
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · July 11, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMarylandUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.703.873.86
Registered nurses0.570.840.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.383.473.42
Nurse aides2.31
Licensed practical nurses0.82
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)18.9%40.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.7%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.55 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.83 on weekdays and 3.38 on weekends, 12% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.61 in April to June 2025 to 3.70 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.700.573.833.38 0.0%1 of 9049
Oct to Dec 20253.850.593.963.55 0.0%0 of 9248
Jul to Sep 20253.840.443.923.64 0.0%1 of 9246
Apr to Jun 20253.610.493.813.12 0.0%1 of 9143
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Maryland, Jan to Mar 20263.730.743.883.348.0%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMarylandUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
23.020.413.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.60.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.51.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.32.43.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.922.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.45.94.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
26.813.815.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.41.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.91.21.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SILVER SPRING HEALTH, LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Meyer, Toni5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual50%05/01/2010
Meyer, PhilipDirect ownership interestIndividual05/01/2010
Meyer, Philip5% or greater mortgage interestIndividual05/01/2010
Meyer, PhilipManaging control - governing bodyIndividual05/01/2010
Meyer, PhilipCorporate directorIndividual05/01/2010
Meyer, PhilipCorporate officerIndividual05/01/2010
Meyer, PhilipOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/01/2010
Meyer, PhilipAdp of the SNFIndividual05/01/2010

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 8 problems in this area, most recently on April 25, 2025: "Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on June 23, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on April 25, 2025: "Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on April 25, 2025: "Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.38 hours per resident per day, below the Maryland average of 3.47.

Other nursing homes nearby

Maryland contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Maryland. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Althea Woodland Nursing Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Althea Woodland Nursing Home 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Althea Woodland Nursing Home get at its last inspection?
13 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 25, 2025. The Maryland average is 17.
Has Althea Woodland Nursing Home been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Althea Woodland Nursing Home accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Althea Woodland Nursing Home?
CMS lists 8 owners and managers. Legal business name: SILVER SPRING HEALTH, LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection