Find a nursing home

Home / Ohio / New Philadelphia

Amberwood Manor

245 South Broadway, New Philadelphia, OH 44663 · Tuscarawas County · (330) 339-2151

48 certified beds, about 36 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 2002

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 366253 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 23, 2025, inspectors cited 10 health deficiencies (the Ohio average is 10.5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 22 health citations since May 2021 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

44.8% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Ohio average 48.7%).

CMS links it to Saber Healthcare Group, an affiliated group of 126 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 22 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
20D
2E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
January 23, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 10 citations
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to maintain air temperatures at a comfortable level and failed to ensure floors and bathtubs were cleaned on the South unit. This affected all 22 residents (#2, #3, #5, #8, #9, #10, #11, #13, #15, #16, #17, #19, #20, #22, #24, #26, #28, #29, #31, #32, #238, and #240) who resided on the South unit. Findings Included: 1. Review of an email dated 07/31/24 at 2:35 P.M. revealed the Heating and Cooling company emailed the Administrator indicating the packaged terminal air conditioner (P-TAC ) units needed to be replaced in the facility due to the fact that they were [AGE] years old and could not be repaired anymore. Review of an email dated 09/11/24 at 4:18 P.M. [...]
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to manage his or her financial affairs.
    F567 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, review of personal funds records and interview, the facility failed to obtain appropriate witness signatures on the authorization for handling funds. This affected one (Resident #8) of five residents whose funds were reviewed.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews, the facility failed to administer medications as ordered to Resident #5 and Resident #238. This affected two (Resident #5 and #238) out of six residents reviewed for medications. Facility census was 37.
  4. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the medical record and interview the facility failed to ensure weekly wound assessments were completed for Resident #5. This affected one resident (Resident #5) of three reviewed for pressure ulcers.
  5. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to ensure fall interventions were in place and appropriate for Resident #14. The facility also failed to ensure Resident #26's wheelchair was not locked when Resident #26 was left unattended. This affected two (Resident #14 and #26) out of five residents reviewed for accidents. The facility census was 37.
  6. D
    Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
    F692 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, medical record review, staff interview and facility policy the facility failed to ensure Resident #137 was provided fluids to maintain hydration. This affected one resident (Resident #137) of one residents reviewed for hydration.
  7. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review, interview and policy review, the facility failed to ensure monthly drug regimen reviews identified irregularities in a resident's drug regimen and failed to ensure pharmacy recommendations were responded to in a timely manner. This affected two (Residents #17 and #26) of five residents reviewed for medication use.
  8. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, pharmacy recommendations, and interview, the facility failed to ensure as needed psychotropic drugs were limited to 14 days without a rationale for the order to be extended. This affected one (Resident #26) out of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Facility census was 37.
  9. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased of observations, review of the medical record and interview the facility failed to ensure medications were not left at bedside for Resident #15. This affected one resident ( Resident #15) of five residents reviewed for accidents.
  10. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, interview and policy review the facility failed to ensure staff performed hand hygiene to prevent possible cross contamination during Resident #7's medication administration. This affected one resident (Resident #7) of five observed for medication administration. The facility census was 37.
December 20, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
    F602 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteTHE FOLLOWING DEFICIENCY REPRESENTS AN INCIDENT OF PAST NON-COMPLIANCE THAT WAS SUBSEQUENTLY CORRECTED PRIOR TO THIS SURVEY. Based on medical record review, staff interview, facility investigation, self-reported incident (SRI) review, policy and procedure for Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation and, policy and procedure for Inventory Control of Controlled Substances review, the facility failed to ensure controlled medication was not misappropriated. This affected six (Residents #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, and #6) out of 41 residents that resided in the facility at the time of misappropriation.
January 19, 2023Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on beneficiary protection notification review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure residents discharged from skilled services were provided appropriate notification of services ending. This affected one Resident (#5) of three Residents reviewed for beneficiary protection notification. The facility census was 41.
  2. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the facility failed to hold quarterly plan of care meetings for Resident #24 for the developement of and updates to the plan of care for Resident #24. This affected one out of one resident reviewed for care conferences. The facility census was 41.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, interview, and policy and procedure review, the facility failed to follow the bowel protocol when Resident #9 went five days without a bowel movement. This affected one Resident (#9) out of five Residents reviewed for bowel elimination. The facility also failed to notify the physician when Resident #26 gained three to five pounds in one day. This affected one Resident (#26) out of six Residents reviewed for weights. The facility census was 41.
  4. D
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, family interview, medical record review and staff interview the facility failed to provide care and services to prevent worsening of identified joint contractures. This affected one Resident (#11) of one Resident reviewed for range of motion services. The facility census was 41.
  5. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the facility failed to provide a proper indication for Resident # 32's Depakote use. This affected one Resident (#32) out of five Residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The facility census was 41.
  6. D
    Provide or obtain laboratory tests/services when ordered and promptly tell the ordering practitioner of the results.
    F773 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure physician ordered laboratory testing was obtained and completed as ordered. This affected one Resident (#21) of five Residents reviewed for medication use. The facility census was 41.
May 7, 2021Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 16, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, interview and policy review the facility failed to ensure a physician ordered pressure ulcer treatment was implemented timely for Resident #6. This affected one resident (#6) of three residents reviewed for pressure ulcers.
  2. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 16, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure the prescribing physician provided resident specific rationale for declining pharmacy review recommendations, acted upon pharmacy recommendations timely and/or identified missed laboratory studies. This affected three resident (#9, #14 and #24) of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medication use.
  3. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 16, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to ensure Resident #9, who received routine diuretic medication had laboratory testing completed as ordered to monitor for the effectiveness and correct dosage of the medication and to monitor the resident's potassium level. This affected one resident (#9) of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medication use.
  4. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 16, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interview the facility failed to appropriately monitor Resident #14 who received psychotropic medications for resident specific behaviors. This affected one resident (#14) of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medication use.
  5. D
    Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
    F803 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 16, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, menu review, diet card review and interview the facility failed to ensure Resident #9 was provided a diet as ordered. This affected one resident (#9) of 12 residents who received meals on the south wing meal cart. The facility census was 31.

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOhioUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.693.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.640.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.283.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)44.8%48.7%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover50.0%43.9%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.56 on weekdays and 3.00 on weekends, 16% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 3.6% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.13 in April to June 2025 to 3.40 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.400.923.563.00 3.6%0 of 9036
Oct to Dec 20253.570.983.723.16 4.4%0 of 9234
Jul to Sep 20253.390.933.533.05 7.7%0 of 9238
Apr to Jun 20253.130.943.292.74 4.8%0 of 9141
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Ohio, Jan to Mar 20263.640.603.803.244.6%0.4% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Ohio

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Ohio, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.76$17.93 to $21.4463,280
LPNs and LVNs$29.78$27.34 to $31.6839,900
Registered nurses$39.67$38.08 to $47.61143,730
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOhioUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.15.313.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.20.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.53.23.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.26.114.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.13.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.98.815.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SOUTH BROADWAY HEALTHCARE GROUP, INC. CMS links this home to Saber Healthcare Group, a group of 126 nursing homes averaging 2.9 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Volpe, BenjaminCorporate directorIndividual03/01/2019
Weisberg, WilliamCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2002
Nicoluzakis, GregoryCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2019
Volpe, BenjaminCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2019
Weisberg, WilliamCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2002
Shg Management LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization09/01/2019
Hohlefelder, JasonOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/02/2024
Weber, KelliOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2021
Amberwood Re Group, LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization06/01/2018
Citrin Cooperman Advisors LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization11/01/2002
Saber Governance LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization09/01/2019
Shg Management LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization09/01/2019
Hohlefelder, JasonAdp of the SNFIndividual06/02/2024
Jones, RichardAdp of the SNFIndividual04/01/2019
Nicoluzakis, GregoryAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2019
Volpe, BenjaminAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2019
Weber, KelliAdp of the SNFIndividual10/01/2021

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 7 problems in this area, most recently on January 23, 2025: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 7 problems in this area, most recently on January 23, 2025: "Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on January 23, 2025: "Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on January 23, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Ohio contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Ohio. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Amberwood Manor's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Amberwood Manor 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Amberwood Manor get at its last inspection?
10 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on January 23, 2025. The Ohio average is 10.5.
Has Amberwood Manor been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Amberwood Manor accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Amberwood Manor?
CMS lists 17 owners and managers, and links the home to Saber Healthcare Group. Legal business name: SOUTH BROADWAY HEALTHCARE GROUP, INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection