Find a nursing home

Home / South Carolina / Charleston

Ashley River Healthcare

1137 Sam Rittenburg Blvd., Charleston, SC 29407 · Charleston County · (843) 763-0233

125 certified beds, about 103 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1999

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 425362 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 18, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the South Carolina average is 3.7, the national average 9.2).

Of 11 health citations since January 2024, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (1 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $46,164 in the last three years; the largest was $46,164, and the latest is dated January 10, 2024.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.59 hours per resident per day, against 3.84 across South Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.60 of those hours.

CMS links it to The Ensign Group, an affiliated group of 344 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 11 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
1L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
3E
2F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 18, 2026Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure proper storage of medications. Specifically, loose pills were found in 3 of 3 medication carts. Findings Include: Review of the facility policy with a revision date of 07/2022, titled Medication Access and Storage, E Kit Access, revealed, Procedures: 1. The provider pharmacy dispenses medication containers that meet legal requirements, including requirement of good manufacturing practices where applicable. Medications are kept and stored in these containers. Any compromised or deteriorated medications or med packs shall be discarded upon discovery, according to procedures for medication destruction. During an observation on 03/17/2026 at 2:13 PM, of North 1 medication cart, revealed six (6) loose pills not packed for resident use. [...]
  2. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, observation and interview, the facility failed to follow a process when handling and transporting soiled linen to reduce the possible spread of infection. Specifically, the bins in the soiled utility room on the 200 Hall had soiled linen and resident clothes that were not bagged at the point of use and brought to the soiled utility, room for 1 of 1 soiled utility rooms observed. Review of the facility policy titled, Departmental (Environmental Services) - Laundry and Linen, states, The purpose of this procedure is to provide a process for the safe and aseptic handling, washing, and storage of linen. The General Guidelines for Bagging and Handling Soiled Linen. 1. All soiled linen must be placed directly into a covered laundry hamper which can contain the moisture . 3. Transport soiled linen in a bag to soiled utility room. [...]
April 10, 2025Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 9, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the facility policy, record review and interviews, the facility failed to ensure Resident (R)1 was invited to attend care planning meetings and to have input on focused care areas, goals and interventions recognized by the facility for 1 of 2 residents reviewed.
January 10, 2024Standard inspection · 8 citations
  1. L
    Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
    F925 · Environmental · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 19, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the facility policy, observations, record review, and interviews, the facility failed to maintain an effective, ongoing pest control program after the identification of rodents and bugs in the facility. Specifically, (1) roach like bugs were observed in 1 residents bathroom. Additionally, (2) evidence of rodents were found in the facility's dry food storage room. On 01/07/24 at 3:23 PM, the Administrator was notified that the failure to implement interventions after the identification of rodents in the dry food storage room constituted Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) at F925. On 01/07/24 at 3:23 PM, the survey team provided the Administrator with a copy of the CMS Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) Template and informed the facility IJ existed as of 01/05/24. The IJ was related to 42 CFR 483.90 - Physical Environment. On 01/08/24, the facility provided an acceptable IJ Removal Plan. [...]
  2. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 11, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to store food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety in 1 of 1 main kitchen. Specifically, the facility failed to label and date food being stored in the [NAME] refrigerator, [NAME] freezer, and dry storage. Additionally, the facility failed discard expired and spoiled foods. This had the potential to affect all residents who receive food from the kitchen.
  3. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 11, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, interview and review of the facility policy, the facility failed to handle, store, process, provide laundry services and transport of laundry using safe and sanitary techniques to prevent the transmission and spread of infection.
  4. E
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 5, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on the facility policy titled, Medication Errors and Adverse Reactions, the facility failed to ensure there were no significant medication errors during medication administration. Additionally, the facility failed to ensure medications were given as ordered and held when parameters were met as documented.
  5. E
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and interviews, the facility failed to ensure that multiple medications and biological's that were expired and or outdated were removed from use and not stored with medications and biologicals in use for residents in 3 of 4 medications carts and 3 of 3 medication storage rooms.
  6. D
    Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
    F693 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 6, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the facility's policy, record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure that the nursing staff had a physician's order related to the care of Resident (R) 44's peg tube site, for one of one resident reviewed for tube feeding.
  7. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 6, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to administer oxygen per physician ' s orders for 1 of 1 resident reviewed for respiratory care, Resident (R)21.
  8. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 5, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on the facility policy titled, Medication Errors and Adverse Reactions, and Medication Administration: Insulin Injections, the facility failed to ensure an error rate of less than 5% during medication administration. Specifically 2 errors were observed out of 26 opportunities for error for a medication error rate of 7.69 percent.

Fire safety inspections

14 fire safety citations on file: 4 on March 18, 2026, 1 on April 10, 2025, 9 on January 10, 2024.

Every fire safety citation14 citations
  1. D
    Establish emergency prep training and testing.
    E 36 · March 18, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · March 18, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · March 18, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Ensure precautions for handling oxygen cylinders and equipment are correctly followed.
    K 929 · March 18, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · April 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Address subsistence needs for staff and patients.
    E 15 · January 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    List the names and contact information of those in the facility.
    E 30 · January 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · January 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Have stairways and smokeproof enclosures used as exits that meet safety requirements.
    K 225 · January 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · January 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · January 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. D
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · January 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Meet requirements for the installation and maintenance of electrical systems.
    K 911 · January 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · January 10, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
January 10, 2024Fine $46,164
January 10, 2024Payment Denial 17 days from February 13, 2024

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeSouth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.593.843.86
Registered nurses0.600.630.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.133.333.42
Nurse aides1.98
Licensed practical nurses1.01
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported45.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.78 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.78 on weekdays and 3.13 on weekends, 17% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 22.2% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.83 in April to June 2025 to 3.59 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.590.603.783.13 22.2%0 of 90103
Jul to Sep 20253.690.403.883.19 15.1%0 of 9299
Apr to Jun 20253.830.404.033.32 14.3%0 of 9193
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
South Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.620.533.813.137.2%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeSouth CarolinaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.911.913.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.20.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.01.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.53.23.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.01.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.012.714.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.25.14.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.315.315.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
20.124.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
16.013.912.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.42.01.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.11.81.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ORANGE GROVE HEALTHCARE INC. CMS links this home to The Ensign Group, a group of 344 nursing homes averaging 3.2 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Newlands, FrankManaging control - governing bodyIndividual08/05/2024
Pabon, YaribeyManaging control - governing bodyIndividual09/01/2023
Peterson, ForrestCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Burnam, SoonCorporate officerIndividual07/26/2023
Keetch, ChadCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2011
Sato, AmiCorporate officerIndividual09/09/2024
Thatcher, BrentCorporate officerIndividual07/26/2023
Onshift IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization09/01/2023
Newlands, FrankOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/05/2024
Pabon, YaribeyOperational/managerial controlIndividual09/01/2023
Port, BarryIndividual is an owner, partner or trustee of any ADP of the SNFIndividual08/08/2025
Ensign Services IncAdp of the SNFOrganization07/26/2023
Newlands, FrankAdp of the SNFIndividual08/05/2024
Pabon, YaribeyAdp of the SNFIndividual09/01/2023

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on March 18, 2026: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 18, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 10, 2024: "Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 10, 2025: "Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.13 hours per resident per day, below the South Carolina average of 3.33.

Other nursing homes nearby

South Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in South Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Ashley River Healthcare's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Ashley River Healthcare 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Ashley River Healthcare get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 18, 2026. The South Carolina average is 3.7.
Has Ashley River Healthcare been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $46,164 in the last three years.
Does Ashley River Healthcare accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Ashley River Healthcare?
CMS lists 14 owners and managers, and links the home to The Ensign Group. Legal business name: ORANGE GROVE HEALTHCARE INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection