Find a nursing home

Home / South Carolina / Charleston

Kempton of Charleston

194 Spring St., Charleston, SC 29403 · Charleston County · (315) 576-5726

23 certified beds, about 20 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare since 2022

CMS high performing icon Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 425418 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 23, 2026, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the South Carolina average is 3.7, the national average 9.2).

None of its 7 health citations since February 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $6,032 in the last three years; the largest was $6,032, and the latest is dated February 29, 2024.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.04 hours per resident per day, against 3.84 across South Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.43 of those hours.

64.7% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (South Carolina average 45.9%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
0E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 23, 2026Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice.
    F561 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 17, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to honor Resident (R)38's request for a room change after another resident entered her room uninvited for 1 of 1 residents reviewed for choices and Resident-to-Resident interactions.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 17, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure rooms were free from dust, debris, and spills on the floors in 3 of 5 rooms reviewed for cleanliness and homelike environment.
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 17, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observation, interview, and review of the facility policy, the facility failed to ensure Resident (R)17's catheter bag was stored off the floor and properly secured to an appropriate fixture to minimize the risk of contamination and infection. This deficient practice was identified for 1 of 1 resident reviewed with an indwelling urinary catheter.
May 6, 2025Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 16, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to maintain an effective infection control and prevention program for one of three residents (Resident (R) 14) reviewed for indwelling urinary catheters out of 12 sampled residents. This failure placed the resident at an increased risk of developing an urinary tract infection (UTI).
February 29, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the facility policy, observation and interview, the facility failed to properly label and store food items in the kitchen. Furthermore, the facility failed to ensure cold foods were held at an appropriate temperature of 41 degrees Fahrenheit or lower to prevent the potential of food borne illness.
  2. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 1, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the facility policy, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure that the pharmacy had properly labeled medication to ensure medication expiration dates where visable for 2 medications stored in the medication room.
  3. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 1, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and facility policy, the facility failed to ensure that medication and biologicals that were outdated or without proper labeling were removed from the medication room and resident room for 1 of 1 medication rooms and 1 of 12 resident rooms.

Fire safety inspections

2 fire safety citations on file: 1 on May 6, 2025, 1 on February 29, 2024.

Every fire safety citation2 citations
  1. D
    Address subsistence needs for staff and patients.
    E 15 · May 6, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · February 29, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
February 29, 2024Fine $6,032

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeSouth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.043.843.86
Registered nurses1.430.630.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.553.333.42
Nurse aides2.66
Licensed practical nurses0.95
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)64.7%45.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 4.17 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.24 on weekdays and 4.55 on weekends, 13% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.85 in April to June 2025 to 5.04 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.041.435.244.55 0.0%0 of 9020
Oct to Dec 20254.881.385.124.28 0.0%0 of 9220
Jul to Sep 20254.911.315.014.64 0.0%0 of 9220
Apr to Jun 20254.851.285.064.31 0.0%0 of 9121
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
South Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.620.533.813.137.2%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeSouth CarolinaUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.11.51.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
21.724.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
9.113.912.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SPRING STREET SENIOR HOUSING OPCO, LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Spring Street Senior Housing Jv Opco, LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%05/04/2020
Purifoy, PennyW-2 managing employeeIndividual03/11/2022
Purifoy, PennyCorporate directorIndividual03/11/2022
Bork, MatthewCorporate officerIndividual05/04/2020
Purvis, WilliamCorporate officerIndividual05/04/2020
Rabil, AlbertCorporate officerIndividual05/04/2020
Reiter, RussellCorporate officerIndividual05/04/2020
Selznick, DavidCorporate officerIndividual05/04/2020
Wain, JohnCorporate officerIndividual05/04/2020
Spring Street Senior Housing Jv Opco, LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization05/04/2020
French, LindsayOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2022
Purvis, WilliamOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/04/2020

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 23, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 23, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on February 29, 2024: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 29, 2024: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."

Other nursing homes nearby

South Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in South Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Kempton of Charleston's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Kempton of Charleston 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Kempton of Charleston get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 23, 2026. The South Carolina average is 3.7.
Has Kempton of Charleston been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $6,032 in the last three years.
Does Kempton of Charleston accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Kempton of Charleston?
CMS lists 12 owners and managers. Legal business name: SPRING STREET SENIOR HOUSING OPCO, LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection