Find a nursing home

Home / Tennessee / Clarksville

Brigadier General Wendell H Gilbert Tn State Veter

250 Arrowood Drive, Clarksville, TN 37042 · Montgomery County · (931) 245-4700

108 certified beds, about 99 residents a day · Government - State · Medicare and Medicaid since 2016

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 445524 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 4, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Tennessee average is 4.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 8 health citations since June 2019, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.34 hours per resident per day, against 3.80 across Tennessee and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.56 of those hours.

CMS links it to Tennessee State Veterans' Home, an affiliated group of 5 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 8 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
0E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 4, 2026Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 29, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to develop and implement an individualized Comprehensive Care Plans for 3 of 21 (Resident #33, #101, and #104) residents sampled.
  2. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 29, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to follow physician's orders for oxygen administration for 1 of 1 (Resident #84) residents reviewed for respiratory care.
November 21, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 12, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, medical record review, facility camera footage recording review, police report review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure the residents' right to be free from sexual abuse for 2 of 3 (Resident #1 and Resident #2) sampled residents reviewed for abuse.
April 8, 2022Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility investigation, policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to follow interventions to prevent falls and injury for 2 of 13 sampled residents (Resident #22 and #25) reviewed for accidents. [...]
  2. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 3, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines, policy review, review of Employee Screening Logs, Employee Schedules, assignment sheets, and interview, the facility failed to follow CDC infection control guidelines to ensure practices to prevent the potential spread of COVID-19 when 9 of 113 employees (Registered Nurse (RN) #1, #2, and #3, Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #1 and #2, and Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) #1, #2, #3, and #4) failed to complete screenings for prevention and detection of COVID-19 prior to working 4 of 4 days (3/25/2022, 3/26/2022, 3/27/2022, and 3/28/2022) reviewed. This had the potential to affect the 83 residents residing in the facility.
June 12, 2019Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 27, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to maintain resident dignity for 1 of 2 (Resident #18) residents observed during insulin administration.
  2. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 27, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and interview, the facility failed to accurately assess residents for contractures and medications for 3 of 24 (Resident #4, #19, and #55) sampled residents reviewed.
  3. D
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    F760 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 27, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the GERIATRIC MEDICATION HANDBOOK, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure 1 of 8 (Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #1) nurses administered medications free of significant medication errors. LPN #1 failed to administer insulin within the proper time frame related to food intake for Resident #18, which resulted in a significant medication error.

Fire safety inspections

2 fire safety citations on file: 2 on June 4, 2026.

Every fire safety citation2 citations
  1. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · June 4, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 4, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.343.803.86
Registered nurses0.560.600.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.643.313.42
Nurse aides3.22
Licensed practical nurses1.55
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported43.2%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.30 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.62 on weekdays and 4.64 on weekends, 17% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.44 in July to September 2025 to 5.34 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.340.565.624.64 0.0%1 of 9099
Oct to Dec 20255.630.595.884.99 0.0%0 of 92100
Jul to Sep 20255.440.535.724.72 0.0%0 of 92105
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Tennessee, Jan to Mar 20263.750.563.953.274.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.814.013.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.80.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.31.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.33.43.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.01.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.217.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.55.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.016.915.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
14.022.623.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
5.511.212.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.41.71.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.41.61.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: TENNESSEE STATE VETERANS HOME BOARD. CMS links this home to Tennessee State Veterans' Home, a group of 5 nursing homes averaging 3.4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ferland, RobertOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/21/2024
Fleming, AdamOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/20/2024
Harries, EdwardOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/11/2010
Hogan, SuzanneOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/05/2020
Ferland, RobertAdp of the SNFIndividual06/21/2024
Hogan, SuzanneAdp of the SNFIndividual03/19/2026

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 4, 2026: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 4, 2026: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on November 21, 2025: "Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 8, 2022: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

Tennessee contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Tennessee. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Brigadier General Wendell H Gilbert Tn State Veter's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Brigadier General Wendell H Gilbert Tn State Veter 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Brigadier General Wendell H Gilbert Tn State Veter get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 4, 2026. The Tennessee average is 4.4.
Has Brigadier General Wendell H Gilbert Tn State Veter been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Brigadier General Wendell H Gilbert Tn State Veter accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Brigadier General Wendell H Gilbert Tn State Veter?
CMS lists 6 owners and managers, and links the home to Tennessee State Veterans' Home. Legal business name: TENNESSEE STATE VETERANS HOME BOARD.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection