Find a nursing home

Home / Oklahoma / Madill

Brookside Nursing Center

310 Brookside Drive, Madill, OK 73446 · Marshall County · (580) 795-2100

140 certified beds, about 46 residents a day · For profit - Individual · Medicare and Medicaid since 1995

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
1 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 375235 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 12, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the Oklahoma average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 7 health citations since August 2023, 3 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (2 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $31,530 in the last three years; the largest was $31,530, and the latest is dated April 11, 2025.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.76 hours per resident per day, against 3.79 across Oklahoma and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.39 of those hours.

56.7% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Oklahoma average 55.5%).

CMS links it to Elmbrook Management Company, an affiliated group of 11 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
2J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
0D
3E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 12, 2026Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure food items stored in the refrigerator was labeled and dated per the facility policy. This deficient practice had the potential to affect all 46 residents who currently resided in the facility.
April 11, 2025Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. J
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteOn 04/10/25 at 11:40 a.m., the Oklahoma State Department of Health was notified and verified the existence of an immediate jeopardy situation related to the facility's failure to protect a resident from sexual abuse from another resident with a known history of sexually inappropriate behaviors. Resident #1 was observed to place their hand under Resident #2's shirt and rub the resident's breast area. On 04/10/25 at 12:03 p.m., the administrator and DON were notified of the immediate jeopardy and provided the immediate jeopardy template. On 04/11/25 at 9:04 a.m., an acceptable plan of removal was approved by the Oklahoma State Department of Health. The plan of removal, read in part, Plan Of Removal 4/10/2025: 1. Facility staff observed the incident reported. Staff intervened and stopped the incident from occurring and made sure resident #2 was safe. [...]
  2. J
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteOn 04/10/25 at 11:40 a.m., the Oklahoma State Department of Health was notified and verified the existence of an immediate jeopardy situation related to the facility's failure to update Resident #1's care plan related to sexually inappropriate behaviors. Resident #1 was observed to place their hand under Resident #2's shirt and rub the resident's breast area. Resident #1 had a history of a similar incident involving another resident of the opposite sex. Resident #1 was sent to a behavioral health hospital after the first and second incident with no updated interventions to the resident's care plan to prevent recurrence. On 04/10/25 at 12:03 p.m., the administrator and DON were notified of the immediate jeopardy and provided the immediate jeopardy template. On 04/11/25 at 9:04 a.m., an acceptable plan of removal was approved by the Oklahoma State Department of Health. [...]
August 15, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 1, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to refer residents with newly diagnosed mental illnesses to the OHCA for a level II PASARR evaluation for two (#12 and #18) of three sampled residents reviewed for PASRR's. The Administrator reported 56 residents resided in the facility.
August 2, 2023Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 7, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to develop and implement fall interventions to include supervision to decrease or lessen the risk for injury for one (#40) of four sampled residents reviewed for falls. The facility failed to ensure fall interventions were implemented after three of six documented falls. The last fall resulted in a fractured right humerus. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents form, dated 07/25/23, documented 53 residents resided in the facility.
  2. E
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 7, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to individualize and implement fall interventions in the plan of care for one (#40) of one sampled resident reviewed for care plans. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents form, dated 07/25/23, documented 53 residents resided in the facility.
  3. E
    Provide timely, quality laboratory services/tests to meet the needs of residents.
    F770 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 7, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to obtain routine laboratory values per physician orders for two (#13 and #26) of five sampled residents reviewed for laboratory results. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents, dated 07/25/23, documented 53 residents residing in the facility.

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 5 on August 15, 2024.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. F
    Have a fire alarm with audible and visual signals that transmits the alarm automatically to notify emergency forces in event of fire.
    K 343 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Properly provide smoke detection systems in areas open to corridors.
    K 347 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Have power receptacles that are properly grounded.
    K 912 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · August 15, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
April 11, 2025Fine $31,530

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.763.793.86
Registered nurses0.390.340.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.443.443.42
Nurse aides2.47
Licensed practical nurses0.90
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)56.7%55.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported53.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.15 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.89 on weekdays and 3.44 on weekends, 12% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.29 in April to June 2025 to 3.76 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.760.393.893.44 0.0%0 of 9046
Oct to Dec 20253.540.283.633.31 0.0%0 of 9247
Jul to Sep 20253.520.373.643.21 0.0%0 of 9250
Apr to Jun 20253.290.333.432.92 0.0%0 of 9150
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Oklahoma, Jan to Mar 20263.790.323.943.422.2%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.913.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.01.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.84.73.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.81.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.913.714.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.04.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
32.317.515.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
25.727.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
11.216.612.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.22.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.03.01.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: MADILL OPERATING CO, LLC. CMS links this home to Elmbrook Management Company, a group of 11 nursing homes averaging 3.5 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Coble, TomDirect ownership interestIndividual02/26/2021
Coble, TomCorporate officerIndividual02/26/2021
Hassanshahi, AmberCorporate officerIndividual08/01/2024
Lodes, JasonCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2023
Madill Property Co LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization02/26/2021
Coble, TomOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/26/2021
Gordon, ElyOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/01/2019
Hassanshahi, AmberOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/01/2025
Lodes, JasonOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/01/2023
Madill Property Co LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization02/26/2021
Coble, TomAdp of the SNFIndividual02/26/2021
Gordon, ElyAdp of the SNFIndividual03/01/2019
Hassanshahi, AmberAdp of the SNFIndividual08/01/2024
Lodes, JasonAdp of the SNFIndividual07/01/2023

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on April 11, 2025: "Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 12, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 11, 2025: "Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody."
  4. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 2, 2023: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."

Other nursing homes nearby

Oklahoma contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Oklahoma. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Brookside Nursing Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Brookside Nursing Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 1 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Brookside Nursing Center get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on June 12, 2026. The Oklahoma average is 6.4.
Has Brookside Nursing Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $31,530 in the last three years.
Does Brookside Nursing Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Brookside Nursing Center?
CMS lists 14 owners and managers, and links the home to Elmbrook Management Company. Legal business name: MADILL OPERATING CO, LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection