Find a nursing home

Home / Florida / Ormond Beach

Coquina Center

170 N Center Street, Ormond Beach, FL 32174 · Volusia County · (386) 672-7113

120 certified beds, about 115 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1987

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 105589 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on February 26, 2026, inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies (the Florida average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 8 health citations since May 2022 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.42 hours per resident per day, against 3.82 across Florida and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.26 of those hours.

CMS links it to Aston Health, an affiliated group of 38 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 8 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
7D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
February 26, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 27, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews and record review, the facility failed to ensure that three (Residents #1, #8 and #20) of three residents reviewed for dignity were able to exercise their right to dignity. Staff referred to Residents #1 and #8 as feeders, and were observed standing over Residents #1, #8 and #20 while assisting them with their meals.
  2. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 27, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and record review, the facility failed to send a copy of the notice to a representative of the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman for one (Resident #128) of two residents reviewed for transfer/discharge.
  3. D
    PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
    F645 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 27, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews, the facility failed to review the accuracy and completion of the Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) forms for two (Residents #70 and #44) of two residents reviewed for PASRR completion. Failure to ensure the accuracy/completion of the residents' PASRRs placed the residents at risk for not receiving needed services.
  4. D
    Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
    F693 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 27, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interviews and record review, the facility failed to check gastric residual volume (GRV) for one (Resident #52) of three residents reviewed for enteral nutrition. Failure to check for gastric residual volume can result in accidental inhalation of food/liquid into the airway and lungs instead of the esophagus, which can lead to choking, lung infections and/or breathing difficulty.
  5. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 27, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews and record review, the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe and sanitary environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections, by repeatedly failing to ensure that one (Resident #1) of one resident who was reviewed for urinary catheter care, had a urinary catheter bag that was kept off the floor. Failure to ensure a urinary catheter bag remains off the floor can result in a catheter-associated urinary tract infection.
May 9, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations
May 19, 2022Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 17, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record reviews, the facilty failed to provide treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice for one (Resident #48) of 39 residents sampled. Resident #48 received no flushes to her Peripherally Inserted Central Catheter (PICC) line.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 17, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to 1) Ensure that a resident with limited range of motion received appropriate treatment and services to increase range of motion and/or to prevent further decrease in range of motion, and 2) Ensure residents received appropriate services, equipment, and assistance to maintain or improve mobility with maximum practicable independence for one (Resident #107) of 39 residents sampled.
  3. D
    Arrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.
    F849 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 17, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and interviews, the facility failed to 1) Maintain a hospice plan of care and documentation of care in the resident record, 2) Designate a member of the facility's interdisciplinary team to coordinate care, and 3) Coordinate Hospice care for one (Resident #111) of five residents reviewed for hospice services/coordination of care, from a total sample of 39 residents.

Fire safety inspections

1 fire safety citation on file: 1 on February 26, 2026.

Every fire safety citation1 citation
  1. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · February 26, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeFloridaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.423.823.86
Registered nurses0.260.730.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.113.493.42
Nurse aides2.07
Licensed practical nurses1.09
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported41.4%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported46.0%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.59 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.54 on weekdays and 3.11 on weekends, 12% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 6.5% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.53 in April to June 2025 to 3.42 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.420.263.543.11 6.5%0 of 90115
Oct to Dec 20253.240.233.303.08 5.8%0 of 92114
Jul to Sep 20253.190.303.263.00 11.0%0 of 92111
Apr to Jun 20253.530.673.693.14 13.4%0 of 91111
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Florida, Jan to Mar 20263.760.703.903.441.1%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeFloridaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.78.713.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.30.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.82.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.61.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.79.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.24.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.78.615.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
27.826.123.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
12.29.112.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.92.11.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.41.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: COQUINA CENTER LLC. CMS links this home to Aston Health, a group of 38 nursing homes averaging 2.7 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Coquina Center Holdco LLCDirect ownership interestOrganization12/15/2023
Lce Partners LLCIndirect ownership interestOrganization01/01/2021
Kruse, TrishaManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/02/2024
Lorjuste, ThamaraManaging control - governing bodyIndividual04/23/2025
Thacker, TriciaCorporate officerIndividual04/04/2022
Kruse, TrishaOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/02/2024
Lorjuste, ThamaraOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/23/2025
Nichols, GinaOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/03/2024
Aston Healthcare LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization07/09/2025
Heise, DavidAdp of the SNFIndividual06/28/2025
Kruse, TrishaAdp of the SNFIndividual06/28/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on February 26, 2026: "Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on February 26, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 26, 2026: "PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities"
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 26, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.11 hours per resident per day, below the Florida average of 3.49.

Other nursing homes nearby

Florida contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Florida. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Coquina Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Coquina Center 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Coquina Center get at its last inspection?
5 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on February 26, 2026. The Florida average is 7.1.
Has Coquina Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Coquina Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Coquina Center?
CMS lists 11 owners and managers, and links the home to Aston Health. Legal business name: COQUINA CENTER LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection