Find a nursing home

Home / Florida / Daytona Beach

Coastal Health and Rehabilitation Center

820 N Clyde Morris Blvd, Daytona Beach, FL 32117 · Volusia County · (386) 274-4575

120 certified beds, about 111 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1987

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 105565 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on April 10, 2025, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Florida average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 15 health citations since September 2021 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.60 hours per resident per day, against 3.82 across Florida and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.34 of those hours.

CMS links it to Aston Health, an affiliated group of 38 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 15 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
13D
0E
2F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
September 11, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
    F628 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, interviews, and review of the facility's Transfer and Discharges policy, the facility failed to notify resident/responsible parties in writing of discharges and transfers, and omitted required information including the date of and the reason for the transfer, the location to which the resident was being transferred, a statement of appeal rights, information about the appeal process, and the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman contact information for one (Resident #1) of four residents reviewed for discharge. The facility also failed to provide a copy to the local Ombudsman office.
April 10, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
June 14, 2024Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 5, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, observations, interviews, and review of facility standards and guidelines for elopement and wandering, the facility failed to immediately report, or within 24 hours of the event, an alleged violation of neglect for one (Resident #2) of two residents sampled for elopement, to the State Survey Agency.
December 6, 2023Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interviews, record review, and facility policy and procedure review, the facility failed to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan that addressed the sexual relationship for two (Residents #1 and #2) out of 5 residents whose care plans were reviewed.
May 18, 2023Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Arrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.
    F849 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 21, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews, facility policy review, the facility's hospice contract review, and medical record review, the facility failed to 1) Ensure residents receiving hospice services had evidence of medical record communication with the hospice provider for seven (Residents #13, #81, #1, #38, #4, #100, and #89) of eight residents receiving hospice services, 2) Ensure evidence of signed contracts for services in the Electronic Medical Record (EMR) for six (Residents #13, #81, #1, #38, #101, and #89) of eight residents receiving hospice services, and 3) Designate a facility hospice coordinator for eight (Residents #13, #81, #1, #38, #4, #101, #100, and #89) of eight residents receiving hospice services.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 21, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, resident and staff interviews, and a review of resident records and facility policies, the facility failed to promote a dignified existence and respect resident privacy and personal spaces by failing to 1) Ensure staff knocked and asked permission before entering six (Rooms 204, 205, 207, 208, 209, 210) of six resident rooms observed, and 2) Prevent one resident (#39) from posting another resident's (#43) name in full view of other residents, staff and visitors, out of a total of 39 residents in the sample.
  3. D
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 21, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, medical record review, and interviews, the facility failed to update and resubmit a Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) for one (Resident #48) of two residents reviewed for PASRR, from a total sample of 39 residents. Resident #48 received a new diagnosis which required a new PASRR to be submitted.
  4. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 21, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, interviews, a review of the facility's policy and procedure for Antipsychotic Medication Use, and the facility's Pharmacy Consultant Services Agreement, the facility failed to ensure that its pharmacy consultant reported irregularities to the attending physician, the facility's medical director, and the director of nursing, and that these reports were acted upon for one (Resident #78) of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications, from a total sample of 39 residents. Resident #78 was receiving psychotropic medications (Seroquel, Lexapro, and Remeron), but he was not being monitored for behaviors or side effects related to these medications, and the pharmacy consultant did not identify or report this as required when completing the monthly review.
  5. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 21, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, interviews, and a review of the facility's policy and procedure for Antipsychotic Medication Use, the facility failed to ensure that one (Resident #78) of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications, from a total sample of 39 residents, received behavior monitoring and monitoring of side effects for the use of psychotropic medications (Seroquel, Lexapro, and Remeron).
  6. D
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 21, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, a review of resident records, and interviews with staff, the facility failed to maintain accurate medical records for one (Resident #9) of one resident reviewed for skin impairment, from a total of 39 sampled residents.
September 10, 2021Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 17, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and staff interviews, the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety, that included labeling and dating food food items, and thawing food in a safe and sanitary manner, placing the residents at risk of exposure to food-bourne illnesses.
  2. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 17, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews and clinical record review, the facility failed to implement care plan interventions for one (Resident #197) of five residents reviewed for oxygen use, from a total of 42 residents in the sample.
  3. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 17, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, resident and staff interviews, clinical record review and facility policy and procedure review, the facility failed to ensure that three (Resident #59, #62 and #85) of five residents on oxygen therapy, had a physician's order for oxygen use, and failed to administer oxygen at the ordered flow rate for one (Resident #197) of five residents reviewed for oxygen use, from a total of 42 residents in the sample. This could result in the resident not receiving appropriate care and/or clinical complications.
  4. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 17, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, staff interviews and facility policy and procedure review, the facility failed to monitor resident behaviors and potential side effects related to the use of psychotropic medication for one (Resident #85) of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications, from a total of 42 residents in the sample.
  5. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 17, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, record reviews and facility policy and procedure review, the facility failed to ensure medications were properly labeled for two (Resident #78 and Resident #79) of 6 residents who were selected for medication administration observation. This placed the resident at risk for a medication error related to unsafe medication administration.
  6. D
    Make sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area.
    F919 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 17, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews and record review, the facility failed to ensure the resident call system was functioning for 2 (Resident #28 and Resident #75) of 96 residents reviewed for access to a functioning resident call system.

Fire safety inspections

3 fire safety citations on file: 3 on April 10, 2025.

Every fire safety citation3 citations
  1. E
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · April 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · April 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · April 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeFloridaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.603.823.86
Registered nurses0.340.730.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.273.493.42
Nurse aides2.21
Licensed practical nurses1.05
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported41.4%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported46.0%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.38 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.73 on weekdays and 3.27 on weekends, 12% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 4.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.61 in April to June 2025 to 3.60 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.600.343.733.27 4.0%0 of 90111
Oct to Dec 20253.460.333.573.18 4.9%0 of 92113
Jul to Sep 20253.360.333.453.11 8.4%0 of 92111
Apr to Jun 20253.610.543.783.18 11.2%0 of 91111
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Florida, Jan to Mar 20263.760.703.903.441.1%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeFloridaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.28.713.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.70.30.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.72.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.21.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.09.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.94.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
17.48.615.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
22.926.123.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
8.89.112.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.72.11.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.51.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: COASTAL CENTER OPERATIONS LLC. CMS links this home to Aston Health, a group of 38 nursing homes averaging 2.7 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Coastal Center Operations Holdings LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%08/13/2020
Blue Spring Healthcare Partners LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization100%08/13/2020
Friedman, LeopoldIndirect ownership interestIndividual01/01/2026
Gutman, SamuelIndirect ownership interestIndividual08/13/2020
Blair, AnnekaOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/20/2021
Eddin, HusamOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/11/2022
Garcia, JoshuaOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/23/2023
McDonald, AlleciaOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/03/2020
Wildes, DonnaOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/28/2025
Aston Healthcare LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2022
Eddin, HusamAdp of the SNFIndividual09/26/2025
Garcia, JoshuaAdp of the SNFIndividual10/08/2025
Wildes, DonnaAdp of the SNFIndividual08/28/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on December 6, 2023: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on May 18, 2023: "Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on September 11, 2025: "Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies."
  4. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 14, 2024: "Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.27 hours per resident per day, below the Florida average of 3.49.
  6. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Florida contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Florida. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Coastal Health and Rehabilitation Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Coastal Health and Rehabilitation Center 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Coastal Health and Rehabilitation Center get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on April 10, 2025. The Florida average is 7.1.
Has Coastal Health and Rehabilitation Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Coastal Health and Rehabilitation Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Coastal Health and Rehabilitation Center?
CMS lists 13 owners and managers, and links the home to Aston Health. Legal business name: COASTAL CENTER OPERATIONS LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection