Find a nursing home

Home / North Carolina / Greenville

Cypress Glen Retirement Community

1000 Hickory Street, Greenville, NC 27858 · Pitt County · (252) 830-0036

6 certified beds, about 3 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare since 2002

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 345512 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on August 14, 2025, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the North Carolina average is 4.7, the national average 9.2).

None of its 1 health citation since July 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 7.29 hours per resident per day, against 3.85 across North Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.44 of those hours.

CMS links it to Life Care Services, an affiliated group of 43 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 1 health citation on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
0D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
August 14, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
September 19, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 10, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interviews the facility failed to accurately code the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment in the areas of antidepressant medication (Resident #2), discharge status (Resident #4), antiplatelet medication (Resident #106), and insulin injections (Resident #1). This was for 4 of 6 resident Minimum Data Set assessments reviewed.
July 26, 2023Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

3 fire safety citations on file: 1 on September 19, 2024, 2 on July 26, 2023.

Every fire safety citation3 citations
  1. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · September 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Install a fire alarm system that can be heard throughout the facility.
    K 341 · July 26, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · July 26, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)7.293.853.86
Registered nurses1.440.620.69
All nursing staff on weekends6.323.423.42
Nurse aides4.80
Licensed practical nurses1.05
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported49.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported45.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.41 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 7.69 on weekdays and 6.32 on weekends, 18% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.90 in April to June 2025 to 7.29 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20267.291.447.696.32 0.0%0 of 903
Oct to Dec 20257.051.357.356.26 0.0%2 of 923
Jul to Sep 20255.221.105.544.37 0.0%0 of 673
Apr to Jun 20255.901.066.284.99 0.0%0 of 913
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
North Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.650.533.823.258.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for North Carolina

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
North Carolina, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.49$17.28 to $21.0864,010
LPNs and LVNs$30.42$28.50 to $33.5118,010
Registered nurses$40.56$37.87 to $49.06111,120
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.01.41.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
19.922.923.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
4.712.912.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: THE UNITED METHODIST RETIREMENT HOMES, INCORPORATED. CMS links this home to Life Care Services, a group of 43 nursing homes averaging 4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Incorporated5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%10/01/2013
Us Bank, N.a.5% or greater security interestOrganization09/01/2014
Davison, JohnCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2026
Erickson, JonathanCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2006
Evans, SpenceCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2026
Harriss, WilliamCorporate directorIndividual11/07/2019
Lee, WooCorporate directorIndividual12/31/2018
Little, NancyCorporate directorIndividual02/23/2023
Martin, JamesCorporate directorIndividual02/23/2023
Parker, MackCorporate directorIndividual11/03/2022
Patterson, GaynelleCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2026
Southern, HarveyCorporate directorIndividual10/29/2020
Steinweg, KennethCorporate directorIndividual11/04/2021
Taylor, SherylCorporate directorIndividual02/23/2023
Van Antwerp, NancyCorporate directorIndividual11/07/2019
Dobson, StacyCorporate officerIndividual07/10/2006
Erickson, JonathanCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2006
Harriss, WilliamCorporate officerIndividual11/03/2022
Parker, MackCorporate officerIndividual10/30/2025
Southern, HarveyCorporate officerIndividual10/30/2025
Van Antwerp, NancyCorporate officerIndividual10/30/2025
Life Care Services LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2000
Gonzalez Rodriguez, GerardoOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/01/2023
Hayes, TerryOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/17/2022
Stallings, LaurieOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/24/1994
Life Care Services LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization04/16/2025
Gonzalez Rodriguez, GerardoAdp of the SNFIndividual03/26/2025
Hayes, TerryAdp of the SNFIndividual01/02/2026

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on September 19, 2024: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."

Other nursing homes nearby

North Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in North Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Cypress Glen Retirement Community's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Cypress Glen Retirement Community 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 5 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Cypress Glen Retirement Community get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on August 14, 2025. The North Carolina average is 4.7.
Has Cypress Glen Retirement Community been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Cypress Glen Retirement Community accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Cypress Glen Retirement Community?
CMS lists 28 owners and managers, and links the home to Life Care Services. Legal business name: THE UNITED METHODIST RETIREMENT HOMES, INCORPORATED.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection