Find a nursing home

Home / Tennessee / Knoxville

Fort Sanders Tcu

1901 Clinch Ave, Knoxville, TN 37916 · Knox County · (865) 541-1111

24 certified beds, about 18 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare since 1994

Inside a hospital Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: This facility reported a high number of days without a registered nurse onsite.
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 445328 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 17, 2026, inspectors cited 1 health deficiency (the Tennessee average is 4.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 1 health citation since April 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.18 hours per resident per day, against 3.80 across Tennessee and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 2.77 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 1 health citation on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
0D
0E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 17, 2026Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 2, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility policy review, observations, and interview, the facility failed to properly store refrigerated and dry storage food items, which had the potential to affect 19 of 19 residents.
June 11, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
April 17, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.183.803.86
Registered nurses2.770.600.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.503.313.42
Nurse aides1.63
Licensed practical nurses0.78
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported48.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported43.2%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.91 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.45 on weekdays and 4.50 on weekends, 17% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 6.25 in April to June 2025 to 5.18 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.182.775.454.50 0.0%31 of 9018
Oct to Dec 20256.693.506.966.00 0.0%0 of 9220
Jul to Sep 20256.863.787.355.56 0.0%0 of 9218
Apr to Jun 20256.253.986.705.08 0.0%0 of 9119
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Tennessee, Jan to Mar 20263.750.563.953.274.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Tennessee

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Tennessee, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.27$17.09 to $19.6627,040
LPNs and LVNs$28.31$23.64 to $30.1220,830
Registered nurses$39.18$36.28 to $45.7972,200
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeTennesseeUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.21.71.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
20.822.623.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.211.212.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: FORT SANDERS REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Covenant Health5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%07/22/1996
Carringer, RickCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2026
Culbertson, TabithaCorporate officerIndividual04/14/2025
Delong, AmyCorporate officerIndividual03/04/2024
Dolan, JosephCorporate officerIndividual07/31/2023
Ross, YashetaCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2024
Vandersteeg, JamesCorporate officerIndividual04/01/2016
Orthoefer, CarlOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/01/2022
Ross, YashetaOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2025
Newstat PLLCAdp of the SNFOrganization05/01/2022
Orthoefer, CarlAdp of the SNFIndividual05/01/2022
Ross, YashetaAdp of the SNFIndividual04/14/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 17, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."

Other nursing homes nearby

Tennessee contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Tennessee. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Fort Sanders Tcu's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Fort Sanders Tcu 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Fort Sanders Tcu get at its last inspection?
1 health deficiency at the standard inspection on June 17, 2026. The Tennessee average is 4.4.
Has Fort Sanders Tcu been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Fort Sanders Tcu accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Fort Sanders Tcu?
CMS lists 12 owners and managers. Legal business name: FORT SANDERS REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection