Find a nursing home

Home / Oklahoma / Nowata

Nowata Nursing Center

436 South Joe, Nowata, OK 74048 · Nowata County · (918) 273-2236

65 certified beds, about 32 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1998

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 375354 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on November 21, 2024, inspectors cited 7 health deficiencies (the Oklahoma average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 18 health citations since May 2021 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.18 hours per resident per day, against 3.79 across Oklahoma and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.48 of those hours.

53.5% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Oklahoma average 55.5%).

CMS links it to Oklahoma Nursing Homes, Ltd., an affiliated group of 7 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 18 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
4D
13E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
January 30, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to report an allegation of a crime toward a resident to OSDH and local law enforcement within 2 hours for 1 (#4) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for abuse. The DON identified 32 residents resided in the facility.
November 21, 2024Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide staffing data to CMS for the third quarter of 2024. The ADON stated 34 residents resided at the facility.
  2. E
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide accurate CMS-10055 forms to residents who discharged from part A services for two (#31 and #32) of three sampled residents reviewed for accurate skilled services beneficiary notices. The ADON reported four residents had discharged from skilled services in the previous six months.
  3. E
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure: a. an antianxiety medication was not prescribed on an as needed basis without a 14-day limit or a physician's explanation why it should be used beyond 14 days for one (#24); and b. gradual dose reductions were recommended or attempted for antidepressants for two (#17 and #30) of five sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The ADON reported 27 residents at the facility were prescribed psychotropic medications.
  4. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure kitchen staff with beards wore beard guards while preparing food for the resident. The ADON stated 34 residents at the facility routinely ate meals provided by the facility kitchen staff.
  5. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 19, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to implement a policy related to enhanced barrier precautions to prevent the spread of MDROs in the facility. The ADON reported 34 residents resided in the facility.
  6. D
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide a written notice of transfer to a resident prior to a transfer to an acute care hospital for one (#32) of two sampled residents reviewed for hospitalizations and discharges. The ADON reported that seven residents had transferred to a hospital in the previous six months.
  7. D
    Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
    F625 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 31, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to provide a written notice of the bed hold policy when a resident was sent to a hospital for one (#32) of two sampled residents reviewed for hospitalizations and discharges. The ADON reported that seven residents had transferred to a hospital in the previous six months.
August 3, 2023Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a dose reduction recommendation was provided for one (#9) of five sampled residents who were reviewed for unnecessary medications. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report, dated 07/27/23, documented 15 residents who received psychoactive medications.
May 26, 2021Standard inspection · 9 citations
  1. E
    Ensure residents have reasonable access to and privacy in their use of communication methods.
    F576 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews, it was determined the facility failed to deliver mail to the residents on Saturdays for 10 of 10 residents who attended the resident council meeting. The facility identified 30 residents who resided in the facility.
  2. E
    Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
    F636 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure a comprehensive assessment was accurate related to hospice services for one (#23) of 12 sampled residents whose assessments were reviewed. The facility identified 30 residents who resided in the facility.
  3. E
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined the facility failed to electronically transmit data to the CMS system within 14 days after completion of an annual assessment for one (#1) of 19 sampled residents whose MDS assessments were reviewed. This had the potential to affect all 30 residents who resided in the facility.
  4. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, it was determined the facility failed to: ~Ensure chemicals were secured for one of one utility closets observed for hazardous materials; and ~Ensure equipment was properly stored and the room locked for one of five resident room on the north hall, and one of 12 resident rooms on the dining room hall observed for storage. The facility identified 30 residents who resided in the facility.
  5. E
    Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
    F725 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined the facility failed to: ~Provide sufficient qualified nursing staff to provide nursing and related services; and ~Ensure staffing met the state minimum requirement. This had the potential to affect all 30 residents who resided in the facility.
  6. E
    Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
    F727 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined the facility failed to utilize a Registered Nurse at least eight consecutive hours a day, seven days a week. The facility identified 25 residents who resided in the facility.
  7. E
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the physician had provided a clinical rationale when he/she disagreed with a recommendation made by the consulting pharmacist during a medication regimen review for three (#1, 15, and #22) of five sampled residents whose records were reviewed for unnecessary medications. This had the potential to affect all 30 residents who resided in the facility.
  8. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the dishwasher temperatures were maintained at the manufacturer's recommended temperature during use. The facility identified 30 residents who received meals from the kitchen.
  9. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2021
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure infection control had been maintained by serving meals in a manner to prevent cross contamination for three (noon meals) of three meal services observed for infection control. The facility identified 30 residents who received nourishment from the kitchen and 18 resident who routinely ate in the dining room.

Fire safety inspections

7 fire safety citations on file: 1 on November 21, 2024, 1 on August 3, 2023, 5 on May 26, 2021.

Every fire safety citation7 citations
  1. E
    Properly provide smoke detection systems in areas open to corridors.
    K 347 · November 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · August 3, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · May 26, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · May 26, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Ensure that corridors are separated from use areas by walls constructed to limit the passage of smoke.
    K 362 · May 26, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · May 26, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · May 26, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.183.793.86
Registered nurses0.480.340.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.203.443.42
Nurse aides2.72
Licensed practical nurses0.99
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)53.5%55.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported53.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.30 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.17 on weekdays and 4.20 on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 25.4% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.37 in April to June 2025 to 4.18 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.180.484.174.20 25.4%1 of 9032
Oct to Dec 20254.260.454.324.11 20.7%2 of 9237
Jul to Sep 20254.400.404.444.29 21.8%3 of 9237
Apr to Jun 20254.370.324.454.18 25.8%2 of 9136
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Oklahoma, Jan to Mar 20263.790.323.943.422.2%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
29.913.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.71.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.22.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.24.73.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
32.713.714.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.44.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.117.515.4
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.72.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
5.43.01.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: NOWATA LTC LLC. CMS links this home to Oklahoma Nursing Homes, Ltd., a group of 7 nursing homes averaging 2.4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Midwest Nursing Homes, LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization07/01/2024
Cheek, Barnie5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual07/01/2024
Cheek, Sandra5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual07/01/2024
Estep, Patsy5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual07/01/2024
Haskins, Lloyd5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual07/01/2024
McGrew, Justin5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual07/01/2024
Tubbs, Steven5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual07/01/2024
Brown, JackDirect ownership interestIndividual07/01/2024
Oklahoma Nursing Homes, Inc.Operational/managerial controlOrganization12/11/2024
Oklahoma Nursing Homes, LtdOperational/managerial controlOrganization12/11/2024
McGrew, JustinOperational/managerial controlIndividual12/11/2024
Oklahoma Nursing Homes, Inc.Adp of the SNFOrganization01/07/2025
Oklahoma Nursing Homes, LtdAdp of the SNFOrganization01/07/2025
Brown, JackAdp of the SNFIndividual07/01/2024
Huxall, MaryAdp of the SNFIndividual07/01/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on November 21, 2024: "Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on November 21, 2024: "Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on November 21, 2024: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on November 21, 2024: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."

Other nursing homes nearby

Oklahoma contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Oklahoma. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Nowata Nursing Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Nowata Nursing Center 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Nowata Nursing Center get at its last inspection?
7 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on November 21, 2024. The Oklahoma average is 6.4.
Has Nowata Nursing Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Nowata Nursing Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Nowata Nursing Center?
CMS lists 15 owners and managers, and links the home to Oklahoma Nursing Homes, Ltd.. Legal business name: NOWATA LTC LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection