Find a nursing home

Home / Louisiana / Mer Rouge

Oak Woods Home for the Elderly

1400 Davenport Avenue, Mer Rouge, LA 71261 · Morehouse County · (318) 647-3691

119 certified beds, about 55 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 2004

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
1 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: This facility reported a high number of days without a registered nurse onsite.
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 195598 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 25, 2026, inspectors cited 8 health deficiencies (the Louisiana average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 24 health citations since January 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $4,587 in the last three years; the largest was $4,587, and the latest is dated March 25, 2026.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 0.80 hours per resident per day, against 3.76 across Louisiana and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.04 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 24 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
17E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
March 25, 2026Standard inspection · 8 citations
  1. E
    Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
    F605 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and interviews, the facility failed to ensure residents have the right to be free from any chemical restraints by having PRN orders for psychotropic drugs exceeding the 14 day limit for 2 (#1 and #7) of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications.
  2. E
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to provide assistance for residents who were unable to carry out activities of daily living (ADL) by failing to maintain good grooming and personal hygiene for 3 (#2, #42, #57) of 3 residents reviewed for activities of daily living.
  3. E
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure it provided routine drugs and biologicals to its residents by failing to have a medication available for administration for 1 (#57) of 2 residents observed during a medication pass.
  4. E
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure each resident's drug regimen was free from unnecessary drugs by 1) failing to monitor the heart rate with the administration of metoprolol succinate for Resident #1 and 2) failing to obtain a lipid panel as ordered for Resident #1 of 5 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications.
  5. E
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and interviews, the facility failed to ensure that its medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater by having a medication error rate of 17% for 2 (#57, #58) of 2 residents observed for a medication pass.
  6. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews and record reviews, the facility must establish and maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and to help prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections. The facility failed to 1) implement enhanced barrier precautions for 1 (#6) of 1 residents reviewed for enhanced barrier precautions and 2) follow facility policy for the cleaning, storage and replacement of piston syringes for 1 (#26) of 1 residents reviewed for tube feedings.
  7. D
    Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
    F638 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure each resident was assessed using the quarterly review instrument approved by CMS not less frequently than once every 3 months by failing to ensure a quarterly MDS was completed timely for 1 (#18) of 1 residents reviewed for resident assessments.
  8. D
    Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
    F726 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 3, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record reviews, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure that licensed nurses have the specific competencies, and skill sets necessary to care for resident needs by having a nurse leave prescription medications at Resident #30's bedside unattended for 1 (#30) of 1 residents reviewed for nurse competency.
February 4, 2025Standard inspection · 13 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to accurately submit mandatory direct care staffing information, based on payroll, to Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) for Fiscal Year (FY) Quarter 4 2024 (July 1 - September 30).
  2. E
    Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
    F693 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to ensure appropriate treatment and services were provided to prevent potential complications from enteral feeding by failing to record feedings and water flush amounts for 1 (#7) of 2 (#7 and #22) residents reviewed for tube feedings.
  3. E
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews and record reviews the facility failed to provide respiratory care consistent with professional standards for 4 (#2, #18, #35, #22) of 4 (#2, #18, #35, #22) sampled residents reviewed for respiratory care. The facility failed to ensure respiratory equipment was: 1) stored properly for resident #2, #18, #35, and #22, 2) changed in a timely manner for resident #2 and #35 and, 3) dated for resident #2 and #18.
  4. E
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteResident #18 Review of the medical record for resident #18 revealed an admit date of 05/02/2023with diagnoses of essential hypertension, paroxysmal atrial fibrillation, generalized osteoarthritis, and unspecified dementia with behavioral disturbance. Review of the annual MDS assessment dated [DATE] revealed resident #18's BIMS score was 99, which indicated they were unable to complete the test. Further review of the MDS revealed she was dependent on staff for all activities of daily living. Review of the February 2025 physician orders revealed an order dated 01/31/2025 that resident #18 may use bilateral quarter rails to aide in bed mobility. Review of the current care plan revealed resident #18 required quarter bed rails. Interventions included that resident #18 may use bilateral quarter rails to assist with turning and repositioning. [...]
  5. E
    Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
    F725 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and interview, the facility failed to ensure there was sufficient staff available at all times to provide nursing and related services to meet the resident's needs and safety in a manner that promotes each resident rights, physical, mental and psychosocial well-being. The facility failed to ensure there was sufficient staff on 07/21/2024, 07/28/2024 and on 08/31/2024 to provide care and services to the residents residing in the facility.
  6. E
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and interview the facility failed to ensure the nurse staffing data was posted daily. The facility failed to ensure the nurse staffing data was readily accessible to residents and visitors.
  7. E
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and interviews, the pharmacist failed to identify and report irregularities to the attending physician, the facility's medical director and director of nursing (DON) for 2 (#8 and #19) of 6 (#2, #8, #19, #24, #46 and #154) residents reviewed for unnecessary medications.
  8. E
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteResident #8 Review of the medical record revealed resident #8 received the blood thinner Clopidogrel 75mg daily with a supporting diagnosis of cerebral infarction. Review of resident #8's medication administration record revealed there was no documentation that the facility was monitoring the resident for bleeding. On 02/03/2025 at 4:00 p.m., interview with S2DON confirmed there was no recorded monitoring for bleeding related to resident #8. Based on record reviews and interviews, the facility failed to ensure each resident's medication regimen was free from unnecessary medications by failing to 1) monitor edema for a resident who received a diuretic for 2 (#2, and #19), and 2) monitor for bleeding for a resident who received an anticoagulant for 3 (#8, #19 and #46) of 6 (#2, #8, #19, #24, #46 and #154) residents reviewed for unnecessary medications.
  9. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. The failed practice was made evident by uncleanliness of the kitchen which included the food storage areas, meal serving area, cooking areas and the three compartment sink.
  10. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record reviews and interviews the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program to provide a safe, sanitary and comfortable environment and help to prevent the development and transmission of communicable diseases and infections by failing 1) to have signage on residents' doors that were COVID positive and/or Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) that included specific personal protective equipment (PPE) required for staff use for 4 (#35, #43, #47, and #154), and 2) to ensure indwelling catheter tubing was not touching the floor for 2 (#35 and #154) of 5 (#14, #35, #43, #47, and #154) residents reviewed for infection control.
  11. E
    Make sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area.
    F919 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure it was adequately equipped to allow residents to call for staff assistance from toileting facilities. The failed practice was evidenced by a public bathroom having a call light pull cord wrapped around a grab bar which prevented it from being available to activate if a resident needed to activate the call light from the floor.
  12. D
    Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
    F638 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and interview, the facility failed to assess a resident using the quarterly review instrument specified by the State and approved by CMS (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services) not less frequently than once every 3 months for 2 (#36, #46) of 2 (#36, #46) residents reviewed for resident assessment out of a total of 18 sampled residents.
  13. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, interview, and observation, the facility failed to ensure that residents received adequate supervision and assistive devices to prevent accidents by failing to implement a new intervention following a fall for 1 (#51) of 2 (# 24, #51) residents reviewed for falls.
January 24, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
    F677 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 5, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record reviews, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure a resident who is unable to carry out activities of daily living received the necessary services to maintain grooming and personal and oral hygiene for 2 (#42 and #201) of 2 sampled residents reviewed for activities of daily living. The facility failed to ensure Resident #42's fingernails were cleaned and trimmed in a timely manner and the facility failed to provide oral care for Resident #201.
  2. D
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 5, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to electronically transmit encoded, accurate, and complete Minimum Data Set (MDS) data to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) system in a timely manner for 3 (#6, #18, & #25) of 5 (#6, #18, #25, #26, & #37) residents reviewed for the timeliness of MDS submissions.
  3. D
    Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
    F655 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 5, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews, the facility failed to develop a baseline care plan for each resident that included the instructions needed to provide effective and person-centered care of the resident that meet professional standards of quality care for 1 (#201) of 1 sampled resident who was recently admitted .

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
March 25, 2026Payment Denial 8 days from June 25, 2026
September 25, 2023Fine $4,587

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeLouisianaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)0.803.763.86
Registered nurses0.040.310.69
All nursing staff on weekends0.573.213.42
Nurse aides0.55
Licensed practical nurses0.21
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported47.6%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported41.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.06 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 0.90 on weekdays and 0.57 on weekends, 37% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 3.1% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.53 in April to June 2025 to 0.80 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20260.800.040.900.57 3.1%74 of 9055
Oct to Dec 20253.980.274.313.13 1.6%1 of 9255
Jul to Sep 20254.350.344.633.66 1.3%0 of 9255
Apr to Jun 20254.530.394.923.57 1.0%1 of 9152
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Louisiana, Jan to Mar 20263.640.263.863.103.6%0.9% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeLouisianaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
29.717.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.81.20.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.52.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.03.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.03.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
23.317.914.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.75.64.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
24.622.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
32.628.023.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
29.814.812.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.62.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.32.71.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: MER ROUGE COMMUNITY SVC INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Anderson, TerriW-2 managing employeeIndividual11/30/2018
Bonner, WilliamCorporate officerIndividual07/01/2012

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 6 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2026: "Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2026: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2026: "Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months."
  4. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2026: "Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 0.57 hours per resident per day, below the Louisiana average of 3.21.

Other nursing homes nearby

Louisiana contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Louisiana. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Oak Woods Home for the Elderly's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Oak Woods Home for the Elderly 1 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Oak Woods Home for the Elderly get at its last inspection?
8 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 25, 2026. The Louisiana average is 6.4.
Has Oak Woods Home for the Elderly been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $4,587 in the last three years.
Does Oak Woods Home for the Elderly accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Oak Woods Home for the Elderly?
CMS lists 2 owners and managers. Legal business name: MER ROUGE COMMUNITY SVC INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection