Find a nursing home

Home / Georgia / Augusta

Place at Deans Bridge, the

3235 Deans Bridge Road, Augusta, GA 30906 · Richmond County · (706) 798-1430

100 certified beds, about 78 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1982

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 115290 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 2, 2025, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Georgia average is 5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 7 health citations since January 2022 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

37.3% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Georgia average 46.0%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
4D
2E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 2, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, policy review, and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure that open food items in the dry storage area were securely wrapped, labeled, and dated, and also failed to discard food items by their expiration dates. This deficient practice had the potential to place residents who received an oral diet from the kitchen at risk of foodborne illness. The census was 78.
  2. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, and review of the facility's policies titled Handwashing/ Hand Hygiene, Infection Prevention and Control Program, and Laundry Policy, the facility failed to ensure staff follow proper hand hygiene techniques when performing blood glucose testing on one resident (R) (R5). In addition, the facility failed to ensure the infection control process was followed when transporting clean linen to residents' rooms and for clean clothing in the laundry room. These deficient practices had the potential to place the residents at risk of infections due to cross-contamination.
  3. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 5, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, record review, and review of the facility's policy titled Medication Labeling and Storage, the facility failed to ensure that expired medications were removed from active medication storage in one medication storage room and one of two medication carts. This deficient practices had the potential to place the residents at risk of receiving expired medications and had the potential to allow unauthorized access to controlled medications.
August 3, 2023Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    F921 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, resident and staff interviews, and review of facility policies titled, Homelike Environment and The Place Facilities Environmental Services Cleaning and Repair, the facility failed to maintain a safe, functional, and sanitary environment in 10 of 50 resident rooms (N 3, N 4, N 5, N 6, N 7, N 10, S 11, S 17, S 18, and S 23). Specifically, resident rooms were observed to contain debris in packaged terminal air conditioner (PTAC) units, eroded/broken dressers/nightstands, dirty air vents in bathrooms, holes/cracks in drywall, and rusted/peeling toilet commode frames.
  2. D
    Assure the security of all personal funds of residents deposited with the facility.
    F570 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on staff interview, record review, and review of the facility policy The Place Facilities Resident Personal Funds-Surety Bond Policy, the facility failed to maintain a surety bond sufficient to cover the current total funds in the resident trust account. The deficient practice had the potential to affect 29 residents with funds managed by the facility.
January 12, 2022Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 4, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to obtain a concurring Physician's signature for a Physician Orders for Life Sustaining Treatment (POLST) for Do Not Resuscitate (DNR) consents for Residents (R) (R#19 and R#66). The sample size was 31 residents.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 4, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and interviews the facility failed to ensure that privacy curtains for three of sixteen rooms on the South Hall were clean and provided complete privacy for one resident (R) R#66. The facility also failed to repair a hole in the wall in room five on the South Hall.

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 1 on July 2, 2025, 4 on August 3, 2023.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. D
    Install a fire alarm system that can be heard throughout the facility.
    K 341 · July 2, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Provide exit doors that are held open by devices that will automatically close on the activation of a fire alarm or smoke detector.
    K 223 · August 3, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 3, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · August 3, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · August 3, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeGeorgiaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.563.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.500.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.103.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)37.3%46.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover50.0%44.5%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.63 on weekdays and 2.86 on weekends, 21% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 12.6% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.25 in April to June 2025 to 3.41 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.410.283.632.86 12.6%0 of 9078
Oct to Dec 20253.220.263.392.80 14.8%1 of 9281
Jul to Sep 20253.160.233.342.69 16.7%0 of 9280
Apr to Jun 20253.250.233.432.80 17.0%1 of 9177
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Georgia, Jan to Mar 20263.500.463.683.033.3%0.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Georgia

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Georgia, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.12$17.06 to $20.6643,440
LPNs and LVNs$29.82$25.43 to $33.9921,060
Registered nurses$44.98$38.02 to $51.12100,950
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeGeorgiaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.715.313.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.12.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.73.23.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.22.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
29.115.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.65.64.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.419.915.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
43.125.023.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
14.311.612.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.22.11.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.51.91.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: THE PLACE AT DEANS BRIDGE, LLC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Bell, ThomasDirect ownership interestIndividual03/08/2006
Oden, WyneeDirect ownership interestIndividual03/08/2006
Oden, WyneeManaging control - governing bodyIndividual05/15/2015
Oden, JamesOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/14/2012
Oden, WyneeOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/08/2006
Pursley, GeorgeOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/01/2006
Bell, ThomasAdp of the SNFIndividual05/28/2015
Oden, JamesAdp of the SNFIndividual05/14/2012
Pursley, GeorgeAdp of the SNFIndividual07/01/2006

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on August 3, 2023: "Assure the security of all personal funds of residents deposited with the facility."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 2, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 2, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 2, 2025: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."

Other nursing homes nearby

Georgia contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Georgia. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Place at Deans Bridge, the's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Place at Deans Bridge, the 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Place at Deans Bridge, the get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 2, 2025. The Georgia average is 5.
Has Place at Deans Bridge, the been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Place at Deans Bridge, the accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Place at Deans Bridge, the?
CMS lists 9 owners and managers. Legal business name: THE PLACE AT DEANS BRIDGE, LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection