Find a nursing home

Home / North Carolina / Matthews

Willowbrooke Court Sc Ctr at Matthews Glen

740 Pavilion View Drive, Matthews, NC 28105 · Mecklenburg County · (704) 845-6220

15 certified beds, about 14 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare since 1990

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 345326 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 8, 2025, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the North Carolina average is 4.7, the national average 9.2).

None of its 6 health citations since May 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.67 hours per resident per day, against 3.85 across North Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.92 of those hours.

CMS links it to Acts Retirement-Life Communities, an affiliated group of 27 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 6 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
4D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
July 8, 2025Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and staff interviews, the facility failed to discard expired food and milk available for use in 1 of 2 walk-in refrigerators (produce refrigerator) in the main kitchen and 1 of 2 nourishment refrigerators. This practice had the potential to affect the food served to residents.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record reviews and interviews with the resident, staff and Medical Doctor (MD), the facility failed to ensure treatment for a non-pressure related area of skin impairment was completed daily per the standing order for 1 of 1 sampled resident (Resident #5) reviewed for skin conditions.
  3. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure daily nurse staffing sheets accurately reflected the nursing staff who worked for 32 of 72 days reviewed (01/01/25, 01/02/25, 01/03/25, 01/04/25, 01/05/25, 01/07/25, 01/08/25, 01/10/25, 01/12/25, 01/18/25, 01/21/25, 01/26/25, 02/07/25, 02/09/25, 02/15/25, 02/20/25, 02/21/25, 02/24/25, 02/25/25, 02/27/25, 02/28/25, 03/01/25, 03/03/25, 03/05/25, 03/06/25, 03/07/25, 03/09/25, 03/14/25, 03/15/25, 03/21/25, 03/24/25, and 03/29/25).
May 30, 2024Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 27, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, staff, Nurse Practitioner (NP), and Pharmacist interviews the facility failed to maintain a medication error rate of less than 5% by having 3 errors out of 25 opportunities which resulted in an 12% medication error rate. This affected 1 of 3 residents observed for medication administration (Resident #57).
  2. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 27, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, and staff and resident interviews the facility failed to store a medication and left it unattended at the bedside for 1 of 1 resident (Resident #5) reviewed for medication storage.
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 27, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, staff, and Nurse Practitioner (NP) interview the facility failed to wear personal protective equipment (PPE) while administering medications through a peripherally inserted central catheter (PICC line) for a resident requiring Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP). This deficit practice occurred for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for EBP (Resident #57).
May 11, 2023Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

11 fire safety citations on file: 7 on May 30, 2024, 1 on May 11, 2023, 3 on January 8, 2020.

Every fire safety citation11 citations
  1. D
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · May 30, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · May 30, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · May 30, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · May 30, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · May 30, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · May 30, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · May 30, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · May 11, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. E
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · January 8, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · January 8, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · January 8, 2020 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.673.853.86
Registered nurses0.920.620.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.363.423.42
Nurse aides2.72
Licensed practical nurses1.02
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported49.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported45.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.37 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.80 on weekdays and 4.36 on weekends, 9% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.23 in April to June 2025 to 4.67 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.670.924.804.36 0.0%0 of 9014
Oct to Dec 20254.630.974.734.37 0.7%0 of 9212
Jul to Sep 20254.971.065.074.71 0.2%0 of 928
Apr to Jun 20255.231.175.364.90 0.5%0 of 9110
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
North Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.650.533.823.258.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.21.41.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
10.822.923.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
14.412.912.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ACTS RETIREMENT-LIFE COMMUNITIES INC. CMS links this home to Acts Retirement-Life Communities, a group of 27 nursing homes averaging 4.9 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Acts Acquisition and Development Company LLCIndirect ownership interestOrganization01/01/2003
Acts Alliance Management LLCIndirect ownership interestOrganization12/31/2022
Acts Communities of Maryland, Inc.Indirect ownership interestOrganization04/01/2019
Acts Legacy Foundation, Inc.Indirect ownership interestOrganization12/31/2022
Acts Retirement Services, IncIndirect ownership interestOrganization03/24/2009
Acts Retirement-Life Communities Management, LLCIndirect ownership interestOrganization12/31/2022
Acts Signature Community Services IncIndirect ownership interestOrganization03/24/2009
Bonita Springs Retirement Village IncIndirect ownership interestOrganization11/01/2024
Mease Life IncIndirect ownership interestOrganization10/01/2023
Acts Retirement-Life Communities Inc5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization11/01/1988
Allmond, SusanCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2017
Brod, KathrynCorporate directorIndividual02/15/2024
Callaway, WarrenCorporate directorIndividual03/30/2022
Chamberlain, LindaCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2025
Christiansen, KarenCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2020
Detweiler, HaroldCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2009
Esterhai, JohnCorporate directorIndividual05/01/1996
Gerner, ElricCorporate directorIndividual04/01/2009
Glynn, JamesCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2023
Grant, GeraldCorporate directorIndividual05/04/2017
Greer, JasonCorporate directorIndividual03/30/2022
Kelly, MichaelCorporate directorIndividual02/11/2020
Lammers, JohnCorporate directorIndividual12/15/2020
Lawson, DanielCorporate directorIndividual06/11/2019
Mashner, MarvinCorporate directorIndividual01/01/1991
Middlebrooks, DanielCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2023
Reichard, DawnCorporate directorIndividual06/01/2025
Ahern, SusanCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2020
Allmond, SusanCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2025
Christiansen, KarenCorporate officerIndividual05/25/2010
Fox, GlennCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2017
Gerner, ElricCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2010
Grant, GeraldCorporate officerIndividual06/01/2005
Lawson, DanielCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2025
Mashner, MarvinCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2025
Acts Management Services, Inc.Operational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2012
Acts Retirement-Life Communities IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2012
Acts Retirement-Life Communities Management, LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization12/31/2022
Ahern, SusanOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2020
Christiansen, KarenOperational/managerial controlIndividual05/25/2010
Fox, GlennOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/01/2017
Grant, GeraldOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/01/2005
Acts Management Services, Inc.Adp of the SNFOrganization07/21/2025
Acts Retirement-Life Communities IncAdp of the SNFOrganization11/01/1988
Acts Retirement-Life Communities Management, LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization07/21/2025
Baker Tilly Advisory Group LPAdp of the SNFOrganization02/03/2025
Baker Tilly Us LLPAdp of the SNFOrganization11/05/2024
U.s. BankAdp of the SNFOrganization07/09/2025
Ahern, SusanAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2020
Christiansen, KarenAdp of the SNFIndividual05/25/2010
Clements, ThadAdp of the SNFIndividual09/17/2021
Fleming, ShacanaAdp of the SNFIndividual11/13/2020
Fox, GlennAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2017
Grant, GeraldAdp of the SNFIndividual06/01/2005

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 30, 2024: "Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 8, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 8, 2025: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  4. How many nurses and aides work each shift, nights and weekends included?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on July 8, 2025: "Post nurse staffing information every day."

Other nursing homes nearby

North Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in North Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Willowbrooke Court Sc Ctr at Matthews Glen's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Willowbrooke Court Sc Ctr at Matthews Glen 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 5 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Willowbrooke Court Sc Ctr at Matthews Glen get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 8, 2025. The North Carolina average is 4.7.
Has Willowbrooke Court Sc Ctr at Matthews Glen been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Willowbrooke Court Sc Ctr at Matthews Glen accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Willowbrooke Court Sc Ctr at Matthews Glen?
CMS lists 54 owners and managers, and links the home to Acts Retirement-Life Communities. Legal business name: ACTS RETIREMENT-LIFE COMMUNITIES INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection