Find a nursing home

Home / Pennsylvania / West Chester

Barclay Friends

700 North Franklin, West Chester, PA 19380 · Chester County · (610) 696-5211

64 certified beds, about 59 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1991

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 395848 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 16, 2026, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Pennsylvania average is 10, the national average 9.2).

None of its 1 health citation since May 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.47 hours per resident per day, against 3.89 across Pennsylvania and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.98 of those hours.

CMS links it to Kendal, an affiliated group of 5 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 1 health citation on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
0D
0E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 16, 2026Standard inspection · 0 citations
June 13, 2025Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on facility requirements according to the Affordable Care Act (ACA), review of Payroll Based Journal (PBJ) Staffing Data Reports, and staff interview, it was determined that the facility failed to electronically submit accurate direct care staffing information for one of the last four quarters (Quarter One of 2025).
May 17, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

10 fire safety citations on file: 3 on June 13, 2025, 4 on May 17, 2024, 3 on July 20, 2023.

Every fire safety citation10 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · June 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · June 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · June 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · May 17, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Install a two-hour-resistant firewall separation.
    K 133 · May 17, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · May 17, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · May 17, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · July 20, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · July 20, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · July 20, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.473.893.86
Registered nurses0.980.790.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.263.533.42
Nurse aides2.63
Licensed practical nurses0.86
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported44.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.9%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.69 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.56 on weekdays and 4.26 on weekends, 7% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.48 in April to June 2025 to 4.47 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.470.984.564.26 0.0%0 of 9059
Oct to Dec 20254.400.954.504.13 0.0%0 of 9261
Jul to Sep 20254.440.994.544.20 0.0%0 of 9262
Apr to Jun 20254.481.154.584.21 0.0%0 of 9161
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Pennsylvania, Jan to Mar 20263.690.653.823.3411.3%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homePennsylvaniaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
31.416.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.31.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.43.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.31.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.417.014.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.14.84.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.117.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
15.222.523.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
8.89.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.91.61.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.51.21.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: BARCLAY FRIENDS. CMS links this home to Kendal, a group of 5 nursing homes averaging 4.6 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Wilmington Trust CompanyIndirect ownership interestOrganization12/22/2009
Boyd, TimothyCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Charter, DavidCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Davis, MatthewCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Gemberling, CendrineCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Gerhardt, JohnCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Gilbert, EllenCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Gleason, KevinCorporate directorIndividual09/23/2024
Hacking, MarinaCorporate directorIndividual04/21/2025
Karp, JolieCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Lawrence, ThomasCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Pessognelli, MarianneCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Randolph, TerranceCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Scheuren, MichaelCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Spangler, JohnCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Santangelo, MariaCorporate officerIndividual04/03/2024
Barclay FriendsOperational/managerial controlOrganization07/01/2014
The Kendal CorporationOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/1991
Santangelo, MariaOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/03/2024
Functional Pathways of Tennessee LLCGeneral partnership interestOrganization03/05/2024
Peace Church Risk Retention GroupGeneral partnership interestOrganization04/01/2020
Rkl LLPGeneral partnership interestOrganization01/01/2025
The Kendal CorporationGeneral partnership interestOrganization01/01/1991
Wilmington Trust CompanyGeneral partnership interestOrganization12/22/2009
Lawrence, ThomasGeneral partnership interestIndividual02/01/2019
Peace Church Risk Retention GroupAdp of the SNFOrganization12/29/2025
Rkl LLPAdp of the SNFOrganization12/29/2025
Wilmington Trust CompanyAdp of the SNFOrganization12/29/2025
Hacking, MarinaAdp of the SNFIndividual04/21/2025
Lawrence, ThomasAdp of the SNFIndividual02/01/2019

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on June 13, 2025: "Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data."

Other nursing homes nearby

Pennsylvania contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Pennsylvania. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Barclay Friends's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Barclay Friends 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Barclay Friends get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 16, 2026. The Pennsylvania average is 10.
Has Barclay Friends been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Barclay Friends accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Barclay Friends?
CMS lists 30 owners and managers, and links the home to Kendal. Legal business name: BARCLAY FRIENDS.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection