Find a nursing home

Home / New York / Fort Edward

Fort Hudson Nursing Center Inc

319 Upper Broadway, Fort Edward, NY 12828 · Washington County · (518) 747-2811

196 certified beds, about 185 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1970

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 335300 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on December 6, 2024, inspectors cited 6 health deficiencies (the New York average is 8.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 14 health citations since July 2019 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.40 hours per resident per day, against 3.63 across New York and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.42 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 14 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
11D
2E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
December 6, 2024Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
    F725 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interviews during the recertification, the facility did not ensure provision of sufficient nursing staff to assure resident safety and attain or maintain the highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of each resident throughout the facility. Specifically, the facility's minimum staffing levels of Certified Nursing Aides and Licensed Practical Nurses were not met every day on multiple shifts and multiple units, from 12/01/2024 - 12/05/2024. In addition, record review indicated resident grievances related to staffing shortages, there were observations of delayed call light responses times, and resident complaints of low staffing. This is evidenced by: Based on the facility assessment, dated 8/28/2024, the following was the current staffing plan, presented as the number of Full Time Employees by position by shift. [...]
  2. D
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    F554 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interviews during a recertification survey, the facility did not ensure residents could safely self-administer medication when clinically appropriate for 2 (Residents #35 and #168) of 2 residents reviewed for medication administration. Specifically, (a) Resident #35 was observed with their prescribed Albuterol inhaler on their overbed table on 12/02/2024 and 12/04/2024, and (b) Resident #168 was observed changing their empty oxygen tank to a full oxygen tank on 12/03/2024 and setting the flow rate. There was no documented evidence that Resident #'s 35 and 168 were assessed to determine their ability to safely self-administer medications, or for physician orders for self-administration of medications. This is evidenced by: [...]
  3. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 14, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, and interviews conducted during a recertification survey, the facility did not ensure the development and implementation of a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident, that includes measurable objectives and timeframes to meet a resident's medical, nursing, mental and psychosocial needs for 1 (Residents #334) of 35 residents reviewed. Specifically, Resident #334 received oxygen that was not noted in the care plan. This is evidenced by: The Policy titled Care Planning dated 09/21/2017, documented the purpose of the policy was to have a written plan for staff to follow to provide care to a resident of the facility. Upon admission the 48-hour care plan would be developed and reviewed with the resident and/or the health care proxy within 48 hours. [...]
  4. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 17, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on records review and interviews during the recertification survey, the facility did not ensure each resident's drug/medication regimen was managed and monitored to promote or maintain the resident's highest practicable mental, physical, and psychosocial well-being for 2 (Residents #59 and #86) of 6 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. Specifically, for Residents #59 and #86, as-needed psychotropic medication orders did not include stop dates. This is evidenced by: The policy and procedure titled Psychotropic Medication Use, dated 6/2024, stated as needed orders for psychotropic medications would be time limited. Resident #59 Resident #59 was admitted to the facility with diagnoses of dementia, anxiety disorder and depression. The Minimum Data Set, dated [DATE] documented the resident was usually able to be understood and could usually understand others; [...]
  5. D
    Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
    F806 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 17, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, record review, and interviews during the recertification survey, the facility did not ensure that each resident received accommodated resident choices, intolerances, and preferences. This was identified for one (Resident #82) of 35 residents reviewed. Specifically, Resident #82 had a dietician recommendation, signed by the physician, to discontinue a collagen supplement. For 35 days after the recommendation, the collagen was still ordered. This is evidenced by: The Policy titled Pressure Injury (PI)/ and Wound Care dated 11/15/2024 documented the facility was to ensure that the residents would receive wound care consistent with resident needs, goals, and recognized standards of practice. [...]
  6. D
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 31, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interviews during the recertification survey, the facility did not maintain medical records in accordance with accepted professional standards and practices that were accurately documented and completed for 3 (Residents #21, 144. and #171) of 35 residents reviewed. Specifically, (a.) for Resident #21, the facility incontinence care provided was not documented; (b.) for Residents #144 and #171 the care provided by Certified Nurse Aides were not consistently documented, including the amount of meals consumed, consumption of supplements, and nourishment for bedtime snacks. This is evidenced by: A review of policy titled Documentation for Certified Nursing Assistants dated 11/22/2010 documented all documentation of care delivered to a resident by a Certified Nursing Assistant would be done using the Point Click Care (PCC) kiosks. [...]
December 13, 2021Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 31, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, manufacturer directions review, and staff interview during the recertification survey, the facility did not store, prepare, distribute, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. Specifically, the concentration of quaternary ammonium compound chemical sanitizing rinse (QAC) was less than that required by the manufacturer, shelving and sections of the floor were not in good repair, and equipment and floors required cleaning. This is evidenced as follows. The kitchen was inspected on 12/08/2021 at 9:39 AM. [...]
  2. D
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    F580 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 31, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interviews during the recertification survey, the facility did not ensure to immediately consult with the resident's physician when there was a need to alter treatment significantly for 1 (Resident #57) of 1 resident reviewed for dental services. Specifically, for Resident #57, the facility did not ensure the physician was notified when a physician ordered medication, Kenalog in Orabase (triamcinolone- a corticosteroid used to reduce swelling and ulcers in the mouth) was not available to be administered. This is evidenced by: Resident #57: Resident #57 was admitted to the facility with the diagnoses of rheumatoid arthritis, chronic kidney disease, and diabetes. The Minimum Data Set (MDS - an assessment tool) dated 10/1/2021, documented the resident was cognitively intact, could understand others and could make self understood. [...]
July 12, 2019Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and staff interview during the recertification survey, the facility did not maintain floors and floor coverings in a clean and sanitary manner in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. Floors are to be maintained in good repair and are to be smooth, durable, and not absorbent. Specifically, the floor of the dish machine room and walk in cooler #2 were not maintained in a sanitary manner. This is evidenced as follows. The main kitchen was inspected on 07/09/2019 at 9:39 AM. The floor tiles in the dish room of the main kitchen were not properly grouted, and the floor of the walk-in freezer #2 was covered in a layer of brown debris under the storage racks. [...]
  2. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on medical record review and staff interview during the recent recertification survey, the facility did not ensure that resident and/or their designated representative were fully informed of potential financial liability for rehabilitative services during a non-covered stay. Specifically, the facility did not ensure that residents who remained in the facility and received covered rehabilitative services were provided with the Skilled Nursing Advanced Beneficiary Notice (SNF ABN), Form CMS-10055 or residents who were discharged from the facility were not provided with the Notice to Medicare Provider Non-coverage (NOMNC), form CMS-10123. This was evident for three (3) out of three (3) sampled residents reviewed for Beneficiary Protection Notification (Residents #'s 93, 162, and #439). This is evidenced by: A policy titled Medicare Notice of Non-Coverage dated April 2018 documented: [...]
  3. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews, and record reviews during a recertification survey, the facility did not ensure the assessment accurately reflected the resident's status for two (Resident #'s 36 and #125) of thirty-five residents reviewed for accurate resident assessments. Specifically; for Resident #125, the facility did not ensure the accuracy of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) when the reason for the resident's weight loss was documented as intentional rather than unintentional, and for Resident #36, whose medical record did not include a diagnosis of schizophrenia, the facility did not ensure the Minimum Data Set (MDS) did not include documentation that the resident had a diagnosis of schizophrenia. This is evidenced: Resident #36: The resident was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with the diagnoses of mood disorder, delusional disorder, and major depressive disorder. [...]
  4. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interview conducted during a recertification survey, the facility did not ensure that residents in need of respiratory care, received such care consistent with professional standards for one (1) resident (Residents #37) of one (1) resident reviewed. Specifically, for Resident #37, the facility did not ensure an oxygen tank was replaced when empty. This is evidenced by: The Policy and Procedure for Oxygen Use and Storage, last updated 8/31/17, documented, nurses are to check each shift, or more frequently as appropriate, the oxygen tank to ensure appropriate flow and sufficient oxygen is present in the tank Resident #37: This resident was admitted [DATE], with diagnoses of obstructive sleep apnea, respiratory failure, type II diabetes, peripheral vascular disease, atrial fibrillation and morbid obesity. [...]
  5. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview during the recertification survey, the facility did not ensure a policy was developed for the monthly medication regimen review (MRR) that included time frames for the different steps in the process and steps the pharmacist must take when he or she identifies an irregularity that requires urgent action to protect the resident. This is evidenced by: A facility Policy titled Timeliness of Medication Regimen Review (MRR) Reports approved 1/2/19, documented that when the consultant pharmacist identified an irregularity that required immediate or urgent action, the pharmacist would notify the Director of Nursing (DON) and the assigned nurse at the time the irregularity was identified. The policy did not include the timeframe for contacting the physician. [...]
  6. D
    Have a policy regarding use and storage of foods brought to residents by family and other visitors.
    F813 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 5, 2019
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility did not ensure a policy regarding use and storage of foods brought to residents by family and other visitors was developed to ensure safe and sanitary storage, handling, and consumption. Specifically, the facility did not ensure facility staff would assist dependent residents in accessing and consuming food brought in by family or visitors. This is evidenced by: A Policy and Procedure titled Food From Outside Sources dated 3/19, did not include documentation of how the facility would assist dependent residents in accessing and consuming food brought in by family or visitors. During an interview on 7/12/19 at 10:18 AM, the Food Service Director (FSD) stated the policy did not include a process or procedure to ensure dependent residents could access and consume foods brought in by family or visitors. 10NYCRR415.14 (h)

Fire safety inspections

12 fire safety citations on file: 5 on December 6, 2024, 1 on December 13, 2021, 6 on July 12, 2019.

Every fire safety citation12 citations
  1. F
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · December 6, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have exits that are accessible at all times.
    K 271 · December 6, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · December 6, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · December 6, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Have elevators that firefighters can control in the event of a fire.
    K 531 · December 6, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Have an enclosure around a vertical opening shaft.
    K 311 · December 13, 2021 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · July 12, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · July 12, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. E
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · July 12, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. E
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · July 12, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. E
    Ensure that personnel concerned with handling of medical gases and cylinders are trained on the risk.
    K 926 · July 12, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. E
    Ensure precautions for handling oxygen cylinders and equipment are correctly followed.
    K 929 · July 12, 2019 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNew YorkUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.403.633.86
Registered nurses0.420.710.69
All nursing staff on weekends2.843.183.42
Nurse aides2.01
Licensed practical nurses0.97
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported40.3%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported39.8%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.63 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.62 on weekdays and 2.84 on weekends, 22% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.57 in April to June 2025 to 3.40 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.400.423.622.84 0.0%0 of 90185
Oct to Dec 20253.590.423.862.89 0.0%0 of 92181
Jul to Sep 20253.350.423.612.68 0.0%0 of 92181
Apr to Jun 20253.570.433.812.97 0.0%0 of 91180
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
New York, Jan to Mar 20263.550.683.723.139.8%0.1% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNew YorkUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
25.414.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.50.50.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.41.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.13.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.31.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.112.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.06.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.713.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
24.020.623.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
6.79.612.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.71.71.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.41.41.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: FORT HUDSON NURSING CENTER INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Glens Falls National Bank and Trust Company5% or greater mortgage interestOrganization07/11/2024
Gara, PhilipContracted managing employeeIndividual07/01/2004
Coburn, JohnW-2 managing employeeIndividual04/26/2000
Cruikshank, AndrewW-2 managing employeeIndividual02/28/2000
Waite, AmandaW-2 managing employeeIndividual04/07/2014
Coburn, JohnCorporate officerIndividual04/26/2000
Cruikshank, AndrewCorporate officerIndividual02/28/2000
Gara, PhilipAdp of the SNFIndividual12/09/2024
Waite, AmandaAdp of the SNFIndividual12/09/2024

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on December 6, 2024: "Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options."
  2. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on December 6, 2024: "Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on December 6, 2024: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on December 6, 2024: "Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 2.84 hours per resident per day, below the New York average of 3.18.

Other nursing homes nearby

New York contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in New York. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Fort Hudson Nursing Center Inc's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Fort Hudson Nursing Center Inc 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Fort Hudson Nursing Center Inc get at its last inspection?
6 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on December 6, 2024. The New York average is 8.1.
Has Fort Hudson Nursing Center Inc been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Fort Hudson Nursing Center Inc accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Fort Hudson Nursing Center Inc?
CMS lists 9 owners and managers. Legal business name: FORT HUDSON NURSING CENTER INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection