Find a nursing home

Home / Minnesota / Morgan

Gil-Mor Manor

96 Third Street East, Morgan, MN 56266 · Redwood County · (507) 249-3143

35 certified beds, about 30 residents a day · Non profit - Other · Medicare and Medicaid since 1991

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 245594 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 24, 2025, inspectors cited 10 health deficiencies (the Minnesota average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 29 health citations since August 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.42 hours per resident per day, against 4.19 across Minnesota and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.61 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 29 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
17D
2E
9F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
December 16, 2025Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 26, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review the facility failed to revise the care plan with fall interventions following falls for 1 of 3 residents (R3) reviewed for falls.
  2. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 26, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review the facility failed to comprehensively assess falls for root cause, implement appropriate interventions and implement/revise the care plan to prevent and/or reduce the risk of falls for 1 of 3 residents (R3) reviewed for falls.
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 26, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review the facility failed to ensure Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP)- (an infection control intervention designed to reduce transmission of multidrug-resistant organisms (MDRO) that employs targeted gown and glove use during high contact resident care activities), were implemented or followed during a transfer to reduce the risk of infection to others for 1 of 1 resident (R3).
July 24, 2025Standard inspection · 10 citations
  1. F
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review the facility failed to ensure emergency medications stored in 1 of 1 medication storage room were not expired.
  2. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to have a thorough, ongoing infection control surveillance program that included resolution of symptoms and/or if any transmission-based precautions (TBP) had been implemented during 3 of 3 months reviewed (April, May, and June of 2025). The facility also failed to identify when employees would be able to return to work after having signs and symptoms of potential Norovirus for 8 of 8 staff (Cook-A, nursing aide (NA)-A, Cook-B, dietary (aide)-A, trained medication aide (TMA)-A, the infection preventionist (IP), NA-B, and TMA-B) reviewed for January of 2025.
  3. F
    Designate a qualified infection preventionist to be responsible for the infection prevent and control program in the nursing home.
    F882 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure 1 of 1 infection control preventionist (IP) had provided oversight of the infection control program and the antibiotic stewardship program.
  4. D
    Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
    F552 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to ensure 1 of 5 residents (R1) had a Consent for Psychotropic Medication Use identifying the risks, benefits, and alternative treatments available.
  5. D
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    F582 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to provide the required Skilled Nursing Facility Advanced Beneficiary Notice (SNFABN) CMS-10055 for 1 of 3 residents (R6) reviewed.
  6. D
    Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
    F605 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to have 2 of 6 residents (R4, R11) assessed by a physician for need to continue taking an as needed antianxiety medication.
  7. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBase on interview and document review, the consulting pharmacist (RPh) failed to identify irregularities for 3 of 8 sampled residents (R4, R11, and R28) reviewed.
  8. D
    Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
    F757 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the facility failed to assess the need for continued use of an antibiotic for 1 of 5 sampled residents (R28) reviewed for antibiotic use.
  9. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review the facility failed to ensure 1 of 1 emergency kit had been secured to avoid the potential for drug diversion.
  10. D
    Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
    F881 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 15, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to complete a comprehensive assessment for continued use of antibiotics for 2 of 3 (R1 and R17) sampled residents reviewed for antibiotic stewardship.
June 13, 2024Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. F
    Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
    F726 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure all 20 nurse aides (NA)-A, NA-B, NA-C, NA-D, NA-E, NA-F, NA-G, NA-H, NA-I, NA-J, NA-K, NA-L, NA-M, NA-N, NA-O, NA-P, NA-Q, NA-R, NA-S, and NA-T), and all 3 trained medication aides/NA's ((TMA)-A, TMA-B, and TMA-C) of 37 total nursing staff, were appropriately trained to manufacturer's instructions for the cleaning and disinfection of 1 of 1 whirlpool tub. This had the ability to affect residents who utilized the whirlpool tub for bathing.
  2. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to submit accurate and/or complete data for staffing information, including information for agency and contract staff, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data during 1 of 1 quarter reviewed (Quarter 2), to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), according to specifications established by CMS.
  3. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure 2 of 2 staff (nurse aide (NA)-C and NA-D) appropriately cleaned and disinfected 1 of 1 whirlpool tub according to manufacturers guidelines and failed to provide baseline screenings and/and or testing for 2 of 5 sampled staff (NA-A and trained medication aide (TMA)-B) and 3 of 5 sampled residents (R4, R17, and R11) for tuberculosis (TB) prevention and identification.
  4. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility failed to comprehensively assess 1 of 1 resident (R15) annually, quarterly, and as needed for risk of elopement and need for a wander guard device when R15 went outside to sit on the patio and subsequently eloped off campus, across a busy highway and into a field where farmers with combines were working.
  5. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteThe facility failed to acquire a physicians order prior to discontinuing a WanderGuard device for 1 of 1 resident (R15) who eloped, had a WanderGuard ordered to be implemented by staff, and was discontinued without a physician order or knowledge the next day.
  6. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure 1 of 1 resident (R15) with a history of elopement was appropriately assessed and supervised when R15 went outside to sit on the patio and subsequently eloped off campus, across a busy highway and into a field where farmers with combines were working. Furthermore, the facility failed to ensure 1 of 1 WanderGuard system remained active on the [NAME] wing at all times.
  7. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure staff had not stored in-use medication with expired medication in 1 of 1 narcotic medication box and ensure that expired medication was not administered to 1 of 1 resident (R3).
August 16, 2023Standard inspection · 9 citations
  1. F
    Have a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities.
    F865 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure data submitted to the Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement (QAPI) committee was analyzed and documented to ensure areas identified had oversight for their perspective outcomes brought forth. This had the potential to affect all 31 residents.
  2. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to follow Centers for Disease Control (CDC) guidance for COVID-19 when 1 of 1 facility employee had a positive COVID-19 test on 7/31/23 and was allowed entry into the building 8/1/23 to retest at the facility. The facility also failed to implement transmission-based precautions (TBP) for 1 of 1 resident (R29) who exhibited potential signs and symptoms (S/S) of COVID-19. The facility also failed to test all remaining residents and staff per CDC guidelines after determining current outbreak status. In addition, the facility also failed to have COVID-19 risk assessment to identify the probability of occurrence, level of harm, and any impact on care related to current or future outbreaks in the facility and their response to mitigate potential or actual outbreak of COVID-19. [...]
  3. F
    Conduct mandatory training, for all staff, on the facility’s Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement Program.
    F944 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to provide mandatory training on the facility's Quality Assurance/Assessment and Performance Improvement Plan (QAPI) that included the goals and various elements of the program or how the facility intended to implement the program, staff's role in the facility's QAPI program, or how to communicate concerns, problems, or opportunities for improvement to the facility's QAPI program.
  4. E
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review the facility failed to ensure alcoholic beverages were secure in 1 of 1 activity refrigerators this had the potential to affect 16 of 31 residents with Alzheimer's/Dementia and/or potential wandering behaviors (R1, R7, R8, R9, R10, R11, R12, R13, R14, R15, R19, R20, R21, R22, R27 and R29).
  5. E
    Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
    F883 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure 5 of 5 sampled residents (R2, R21, R29, R30 and R134) were appropriately vaccinated against pneumococcal disease by offering updated PCV-15 or PCV-20 vaccination per Centers for Disease Control (CDC) vaccination recommendations and revise thier policy to reflect updated guidance.
  6. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure 1 of 1 resident (R6) oxygen had physician orders for parameters to tirate (adjust) oxygen flow recieved by the resident in additon to the prescribed dose of delivery.
  7. D
    Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
    F697 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on on interview and document review the facility failed to have appropriate defined parameters to administer either 1 or 2 tablets of hydrocodone/acetaminophen 5-325 milligrams (mg) tablets for 1 of 1 resident (R134) with as needed (prn) medication administration orders for pain control based off assessment of R134's symptoms and pain management.
  8. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview the facility failed to ensure hair nets were accessible upon entrance to the kitchen for staff and visitors and train staff where hairnets were accessible.
  9. C
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 29, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and document review the facility failed to submit any data for staffing information, including information for agency and contract staff, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data, during 1 of 1 quarter reviewed (Quarter 2), to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) according to specifications established by CMS.

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 3 on July 24, 2025, 2 on August 16, 2023.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. F
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · July 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · July 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · July 24, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Conduct testing and exercise requirements.
    E 39 · August 16, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · August 16, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.424.193.86
Registered nurses0.611.060.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.923.713.42
Nurse aides3.18
Licensed practical nurses0.63
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported42.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported38.6%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 2.98 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.62 on weekdays and 3.92 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 19.8% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.16 in April to June 2025 to 4.42 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.420.614.623.92 19.8%0 of 9030
Oct to Dec 20254.300.624.563.63 15.7%0 of 9233
Jul to Sep 20254.060.504.313.39 2.5%0 of 9234
Apr to Jun 20254.160.534.403.56 4.2%0 of 9134
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Minnesota, Jan to Mar 20264.191.054.383.735.2%0.8% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMinnesotaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
14.218.213.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.31.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.72.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.04.03.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.520.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.55.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.817.115.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: MORGAN MEMORIAL FOUNDATION INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Miller, SuzanneW-2 managing employeeIndividual09/03/2014
Rothmeier, TerrieW-2 managing employeeIndividual07/16/2016
Kopischke, DouglasCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2005
Madsen, LynnCorporate directorIndividual03/01/2011
Meyers, TammyCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2011
Pietig, LynnCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2003
Simonsen, DavidCorporate directorIndividual11/01/2008
Rothmeier, TerrieOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/16/2016

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 7 problems in this area, most recently on December 16, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on December 16, 2025: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  3. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on July 24, 2025: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  4. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on June 13, 2024: "Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Minnesota contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Minnesota. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Gil-Mor Manor's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Gil-Mor Manor 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 2 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Gil-Mor Manor get at its last inspection?
10 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 24, 2025. The Minnesota average is 7.1.
Has Gil-Mor Manor been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Gil-Mor Manor accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Gil-Mor Manor?
CMS lists 8 owners and managers. Legal business name: MORGAN MEMORIAL FOUNDATION INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection