Find a nursing home

Home / Massachusetts / North Andover

Meadows, the

575 Osgood Street, North Andover, MA 01845 · Essex County · (978) 725-4100

60 certified beds, about 37 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare since 1997

CMS high performing icon Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 225724 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on June 24, 2026, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the Massachusetts average is 6.8, the national average 9.2).

CMS lists no health citations for this home in the inspections on file.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 5.42 hours per resident per day, against 3.86 across Massachusetts and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.76 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 0 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
0D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
June 24, 2026Standard inspection · 0 citations
August 20, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
September 5, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

6 fire safety citations on file: 6 on August 20, 2025.

Every fire safety citation6 citations
  1. F
    Properly select, install, inspect, or maintain portable fire extinguishes.
    K 355 · August 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · August 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · August 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · August 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · August 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · August 20, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeMassachusettsUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)5.423.863.86
Registered nurses0.760.650.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.983.483.42
Nurse aides2.96
Licensed practical nurses1.69
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported38.2%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.6%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.57 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.60 on weekdays and 4.98 on weekends, 11% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 1.3% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.61 in April to June 2025 to 5.42 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.420.765.604.98 1.3%0 of 9037
Oct to Dec 20254.570.524.734.18 0.0%0 of 9237
Jul to Sep 20255.010.705.234.45 6.3%3 of 9234
Apr to Jun 20255.610.775.835.04 8.6%0 of 9134
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Massachusetts, Jan to Mar 20263.790.613.943.415.0%0.4% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeMassachusettsUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.816.413.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.20.80.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.81.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.43.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.015.414.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.04.24.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
37.321.415.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
16.025.723.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
10.711.912.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.01.91.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.61.51.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: EDGEWOOD RETIREMENT COMMUNITY, INC..

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Edgewood Retirement Community, Inc.5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%05/20/2010
Deveau, BryanW-2 managing employeeIndividual11/19/2018
Macbrien, NatalieW-2 managing employeeIndividual08/20/2012
Rotering, MarleneW-2 managing employeeIndividual05/01/2012
Sullivan, JaneW-2 managing employeeIndividual05/20/2010
Barbadoro, ElizabethCorporate directorIndividual06/09/2020
Consoli, MichaelCorporate directorIndividual06/13/2019
Deveau, BryanCorporate directorIndividual11/19/2018
Hacker, EliottCorporate directorIndividual06/09/2017
Hedstrom, PaulCorporate directorIndividual06/09/2017
Hoyt, MarleneCorporate directorIndividual06/09/2017
Macbrien, NatalieCorporate directorIndividual09/10/2019
Miragliotta, CamilleCorporate directorIndividual06/16/2019
Overdeput, HugoCorporate directorIndividual06/09/2020
Piccirillo, DonaldCorporate directorIndividual06/09/2017
Rahman, SayeedaCorporate directorIndividual06/09/2017
Smith, ThomasCorporate directorIndividual06/09/2017
Sumberg, RichardCorporate directorIndividual06/09/2020
Vaill, TimothyCorporate directorIndividual06/09/2017
White, HenryCorporate directorIndividual06/09/2020
Young, JoshCorporate directorIndividual06/13/2019
Kampersal, MelissaCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2018
Rotering, MarleneCorporate officerIndividual05/01/2012
Sullivan, JaneCorporate officerIndividual06/01/2014

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Common questions

What is Meadows, the's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Meadows, the 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Meadows, the get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on June 24, 2026. The Massachusetts average is 6.8.
Has Meadows, the been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Meadows, the accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Meadows, the?
CMS lists 24 owners and managers. Legal business name: EDGEWOOD RETIREMENT COMMUNITY, INC..

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection