Find a nursing home

Home / Wisconsin / Milwaukee

Milwaukee Catholic Home

2330 N Prospect Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53211 · Milwaukee County · (414) 220-4610

107 certified beds, about 91 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1997

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 525635 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on May 20, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Wisconsin average is 9.5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 13 health citations since February 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

42.5% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Wisconsin average 46.9%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 13 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
11D
2E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
May 20, 2026Standard inspection · 2 citations · risk-based survey (a shorter visit CMS gives only to higher performing homes)
  1. D
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 17, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure each resident received adequate supervision and assistance to prevent accidents for 1 (R4) of 6 sampled residents reviewed for transfers.*R4 was assessed and care planned to transfer with a sit to stand mechanical lift (EZ stand) and assist of 2 staff. Surveyor observed Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)-C transfer R4 with the sit to stand mechanical lift without the assistance of another staff member.
  2. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 16, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility did not maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to reduce the transmission of disease and infection for 1 (R4) of 1 sampled residents observed for incontinence cares. *Staff was observed not wearing appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE) while providing personal to R4. R4 was on Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP).
June 3, 2025Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review, the facility did not ensure food was stored in a safe manner. This practice has the potential to affect all 22 residents located on the 2nd floor rehab unit. *The resident food refrigerators located in the medication (med) rooms have a desired temperature documented on the temperature log of 36 to 45 degrees Fahrenheit (F). The facility food storage policy documents that food refrigerators should be between 35 and 41 degrees. Surveyor observed the food refrigerator located in the 2nd floor Rehabilitation (Rehab) unit med room multiple times during survey. Surveyor observed the food refrigerator temp to be between 44 and 46 degrees on observations. The facility did not always document a temperature on the temperature log located in the 2nd floor Rehab med room.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased Observation and interview, the facility did not ensure the tube feeding pole for 1 (R39) of 1 Residents reviewed for cleanliness of tube feeding equipment, had equipment that was clean and operating in a sanitary manner. Multiple observations were made of R39's tube feeding pole having dried tube feeding splatter and adhered debris to the screen, base of pole and cord.
  3. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 1, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview the facility did not maintain infection prevention and control designed to reduce the transmission of disease and infection for 1 (R39) of 1 resident reviewed for bowel and bladder cares. *On 05/29/2025, Surveyor observed R39 with R39's tubing for their feeding tube under R39 while having a bowel movement, while on R39's bedside commode. Surveyor observed Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)-G disconnect R39's tubing from R39's feeding tube port, remove the tubing from under R39, hang the tubing back on R39's tube feeding pole, then reconnect R39's tubing to R39's feeding tube port once R39 had returned to R39's chair. On 05/29/2025, Surveyor observed CNA-F clean R39 after a bowel movement, then handed R39 a washcloth with unchanged, dirty gloves, to clean R39's peri area. [...]
February 13, 2024Standard inspection · 8 citations
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interview, the facility did not ensure food was stored and prepared safely, in 1 (kitchen on 2nd floor) of 2 kitchens. This deficient practice has the potential to affect residents residing on 2 East who receive their meals from the second-floor kitchenette. *Cook-C used gloved hand to touch ready to eat food after touching multiple surfaces.
  2. D
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    F580 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the Facility did not notify a Resident's representative and attending physician when there was a change of condition involving 1 (R25) of 20 residents reviewed for notification of a representative. * R25 developed a stage 2 pressure injury to the left heel. There was no documentation R25's representative or attending physician were updated when the change of condition occurred.
  3. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview and record review the facility did not revise resident care plans for 2 (R84 and R25) of 20 resident care plans reviewed. *R84 developed a facility acquired stage 3 pressure injury to the right buttock. R84's care plan was not revised to include interventions for the stage 3 pressure injury. *R25 developed a facility acquired stage 2 pressure injury to the left heel. R25's care plan was not revised to include interventions for the stage 2 pressure injury.
  4. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility did not ensure that residents with pressure injuries received necessary treatment and services consistent with professional standards of practice to promote healing and prevent new pressure injuries from developing for 1 of 9 (R25) residents reviewed for pressure injuries. * R25 did not have a comprehensive assessment with measurements or treatment put in place when a new stage two pressure ulcer of left heel was discovered on 1/29/2024 and was missing weekly assessments and measurements for 10 days until 2/8/2024. R25 was observed to not have heels supported off the bed or heel boots on during this time.
  5. D
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    F698 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility did not ensure that 2 (R14 and R46) of 3 residents reviewed received dialysis services consistent with professional standards of practice. * R14 was admitted to the facility needing dialysis and did not have physician orders for hemodialysis and frequency of the dialysis. There was no communication between the facility and the dialysis facility with each visit. * R46 did not have a physician's order documenting the frequency of dialysis treatments or the location of the dialysis center in the community. There was no communication between the facility and the dialysis center with each visit.
  6. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 6, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the Facility did not ensure the drug regimen of each resident was reviewed at least once a month by a licensed pharmacist, and that irregularities identified by the pharmacist were reviewed, and action taken to address the identified concerns. This was observed with 1(R14) of 5 residents reviewed for medication regimen review. * R14 did not have monthly Pharmacy Medical Record Reviews completed and recommendations reviewed by the attending physician or Medical Director.
  7. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review the facility did not ensure 2 (R82 and R14) of 3 resident were free from PRN (as needed) psychotropic medications. * On 12/28/23 R82 was prescribed Lorazepam (anti-anxiety medication) 1 mg every two hours PRN without a stop date. * On 10/17/23 R14 was prescribed Lorazepam 0.5 mg twice daily PRN without a stop date.
  8. D
    Provide or obtain dental services for each resident.
    F791 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 8, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review the facility did not ensure a resident received routine dental services for 1 (R1) of 1 resident reviewed for dental services. The facility did not arrange routine dental services for R1.

Fire safety inspections

14 fire safety citations on file: 6 on May 20, 2026, 6 on June 3, 2025, 2 on February 13, 2024.

Every fire safety citation14 citations
  1. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · May 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · May 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Ensure receptacles at patient bed locations and where general anesthesia is administered, are tested after initial installation, replacement or servicing.
    K 914 · May 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. F
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · May 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · May 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Install a fire alarm system that can be heard throughout the facility.
    K 341 · May 20, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. F
    Develop and maintain an Emergency Preparedness Program (EP).
    E 4 · June 3, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · June 3, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · June 3, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Install properly constructed and protected linen or trash chutes.
    K 541 · June 3, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    To conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors by qualified individuals.
    K 761 · June 3, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. C
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · June 3, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Install a fire alarm system that can be heard throughout the facility.
    K 341 · February 13, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · February 13, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeWisconsinUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported4.213.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.990.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.773.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)42.5%46.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover22.2%39.7%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.85 on weekdays and 5.49 on weekends, 6% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 1.8% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.61 in April to June 2025 to 5.75 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.751.195.855.49 1.8%0 of 9091
Oct to Dec 20255.991.166.155.59 0.9%0 of 9296
Jul to Sep 20255.941.126.115.49 1.5%0 of 9298
Apr to Jun 20255.611.075.785.20 0.6%0 of 91100
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Wisconsin, Jan to Mar 20264.190.954.363.748.8%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeWisconsinUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.316.113.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.72.10.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.32.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.53.33.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.91.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.818.414.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.55.04.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.015.815.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
26.323.123.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
15.215.512.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.51.71.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.22.31.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: MILWAUKEE CATHOLIC HOME, INC..

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Mch Services Inc5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%01/01/2024
Brauer, MichaelManaging control - governing bodyIndividual07/01/2025
Brooks, MaryManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/23/2020
Coffey, BridgetManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/26/2017
Connelly, PaulManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2024
De Vita, RobertManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/26/2017
Doering, JenniferManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/20/2022
Hill, JoanneManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2024
Mullaney, PeterManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/23/2020
Olenchek, LoraManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2017
Pickart, JosephManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2025
Price-Topp, LindaManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/01/2021
Schmidt, RichardManaging control - governing bodyIndividual01/20/2022
Brauer, MichaelCorporate directorIndividual07/01/2025
Brooks, MaryCorporate directorIndividual01/23/2020
Coffey, BridgetCorporate directorIndividual01/26/2017
Connelly, PaulCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
De Vita, RobertCorporate directorIndividual01/26/2017
Doering, JenniferCorporate directorIndividual01/20/2022
Hill, JoanneCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2024
Olenchek, LoraCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2017
Pickart, JosephCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2025
Price-Topp, LindaCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2021
Schmidt, RichardCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2022
Doering, JenniferCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2024
Fulcher, DavidCorporate officerIndividual08/30/2010
Horning, JessicaCorporate officerIndividual01/09/2023
Mullaney, PeterCorporate officerIndividual01/23/2020
Olenchek, LoraCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2025
Schmidt, RichardCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2024
Leadingchoice Network LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization07/01/2016
Carlson, MicheleOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/01/2025
Fulcher, DavidOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/30/2010
Gerou, KateOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/13/2025
Grant, KathleenOperational/managerial controlIndividual03/09/2015
Horning, JessicaOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/09/2023
Volberding, JamesOperational/managerial controlIndividual10/01/2004
Cliftonlarsonallen LLPAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2018
Leadingchoice Network LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization07/01/2025
Fulcher, DavidAdp of the SNFIndividual08/30/2010
Gerou, KateAdp of the SNFIndividual06/13/2025
Grant, KathleenAdp of the SNFIndividual03/09/2015
Horning, JessicaAdp of the SNFIndividual01/09/2023
Volberding, JamesAdp of the SNFIndividual08/11/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on May 20, 2026: "Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents."
  2. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 20, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  3. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 3, 2025: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  4. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on June 3, 2025: "Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Wisconsin contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Wisconsin. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Milwaukee Catholic Home's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Milwaukee Catholic Home 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Milwaukee Catholic Home get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on May 20, 2026. The Wisconsin average is 9.5.
Has Milwaukee Catholic Home been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Milwaukee Catholic Home accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Milwaukee Catholic Home?
CMS lists 44 owners and managers. Legal business name: MILWAUKEE CATHOLIC HOME, INC..

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection