Find a nursing home

Home / Oklahoma / Oklahoma City

North Winds Living Center

3718 North Portland, Oklahoma City, OK 73112 · Oklahoma County · (405) 942-1014

29 certified beds, about 27 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicaid since 2001

CMS abuse icon: cited for abuse in a recent inspection Certified for Medicaid
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 37E568 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on May 12, 2025, inspectors cited 7 health deficiencies (the Oklahoma average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 17 health citations since January 2023, 2 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (2 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.12 hours per resident per day, against 3.79 across Oklahoma and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.38 of those hours.

56.5% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Oklahoma average 55.5%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 17 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
2J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
13D
2E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
May 12, 2025Standard inspection · 7 citations
  1. J
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    F600 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteOn 05/12/25, a past non-compliance Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) situation was determined to exist related to the facility's failure to protect a resident from psychosocial abuse for Resident #2. A nurse note, dated 02/13/25 at 4:00 p.m., showed Resident #79 was heard yelling come out your room mother [explicit]. The note showed Resident #79 stated, get out here faggot. The note showed LPN #1 approached Resident #79 who was repeating come the [explicit] out, I'm gonna [explicit] you up. The note showed Resident #79 was holding a wet floor sign in their hand, slinging it around, and attempting to get into another resident's room. The note showed the other resident did nothing and kept their door shut. The note showed Resident #79 threw the wet floor sign at the door which hit LPN #1 on the lower right leg. The note showed three staff attempted to calm them down. [...]
  2. J
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, isolated · Past noncompliance: already fixed when inspectors found it
    Inspectors wroteOn 05/12/25, a past non-compliance Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) situation was determined to exist related to the facility's failure to thoroughly investigate an allegation of abuse for Resident #2. A nurse note, dated 02/13/25 at 4:00 p.m., showed Resident #79 was heard yelling come out your room mother [explicit]. The note showed Resident #79 stated, get out here faggot. The note showed LPN #1 approached Resident #79 who was repeating come the [explicit] out, I'm gonna [explicit] you up. The note showed Resident #79 was holding a wet floor sign in their hand, slinging it around, and attempting to get into another resident's room. The note showed the other resident did nothing and kept their door shut. The note showed Resident #79 threw the wet floor sign at the door which hit LPN #1 on the lower right leg. The note showed three staff attempted to calm them down. [...]
  3. D
    Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
    F578 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident's complete advance directive was included in their medical record for 1 (#2) of 16 sampled residents reviewed for advance directives. RN #1 identified 27 residents resided in the facility.
  4. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure resident's oxygen tubing was changed according to the standard of practice and physician order for 1 (#18) of 1 sampled resident reviewed for oxygen use. RN #1 identified 27 residents resided in the facility.
  5. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident was not administered the wrong medications for 1 (#4) of 6 sampled residents reviewed for medication administration. RN #1 identified 27 residents resided in the facility.
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure EBP (Enhanced Barrier Precaution) signage was in place to ensure appropriate usage of PPE, for 1 (#24) of 1 sampled resident reviewed for infection control. RN #1 identified 27 residents resided in the facility. On 05/04/25 at 8:17 a.m., Resident #24 was observed in their room, on their bed under the covers, and did not respond to questions. No observation of EBP signage inside the residents room or anywhere outside of the residents room. On 05/05/25 at 12:33 p.m., there was no EBP signage on the outside of Resident #24's room/door. There was a three drawer plastic cabinet in the hall located next to the room which contained gowns, shields, masks, and gloves. Resident #24 stated the staff tape the port for showers. [...]
  7. D
    Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
    F881 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to utilize an infection assessment screening to identify whether or not antibiotics were necessary for 2 (#6 and #10) of 5 sampled residents reviewed for antibiotic stewardship. The Resident Matrix, dated 05/04/25, showed 11 residents with infections resided in the facility.
February 15, 2024Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a care plan had been developed/revised for a resident who received dialysis for one (#8) of 28 residents reviewed for care plans. The Resident Matrix dated 02/12/24, documented 28 residents resided in the facility. One resident received dialysis.
  2. D
    Provide basic life support, including CPR, prior to the arrival of emergency medical personnel , subject to physician orders and the resident’s advance directives.
    F678 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident's code status was identified in their health record for one (#19) of 16 sampled residents reviewed for code status. The Resident Matrix, dated 02/12/24, documented 28 residents resided in the facility.
  3. D
    Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
    F698 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 12, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure there was ongoing communication with the dialysis center and ongoing assessment of a resident before and after dialysis for one (#8) of one sampled resident reviewed for dialysis services. The Resident Matrix, dated 02/12/24, documented 28 residents resided in the facility.
  4. D
    Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
    F730 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to complete annual skills competency for two (CNA #1 and CNA #2) of two CNAs whose employee files were reviewed for skills competencies. The Resident Matrix, dated 02/12/24, documented 28 residents resided in the facility. There were four CNA's documented on the staff roster who had been employed over one year.
  5. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 15, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure medications were administered as ordered for one (#2) of three sampled residents reviewed for medication administration. The Resident Matrix, dated 02/12/24, documented 28 residents resided in the facility.
January 20, 2023Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. E
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure: A. Residents were offered the opportunity to take part in their care plan meeting for two (#17 and #19) of three sampled residents reviewed for care plan meetings and, B. Care plans were revised with each resident assessment for three (#1, 13 and #24) of nine sampled residents reviewed for care plan revision. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report, dated 01/17/23, documented 27 residents.
  2. E
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure collaboration and coordination of care and services with hospice was provided for one (#4) of one sampled resident who was admitted to hospice services. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report, dated 01/17/23, documented two residents were receiving hospice care.
  3. D
    Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition
    F637 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a significant change assessment was conducted for one (#4) of one sampled resident reviewed for hospice services. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report, dated 01/17/23, documented two residents were receiving hospice care.
  4. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure resident assessments were accurate for one (#19) of nine sampled residents reviewed for resident assessments. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report, dated 01/17/23, documented 27 residents.
  5. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 20, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to develop a care plan for hospice care for one (#4) of one sampled resident who was reviewed for hospice service. The Resident Census and Conditions of Residents report, dated 01/17/23, documented two residents were receiving hospice care.

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 3 on May 12, 2025, 2 on January 20, 2023.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · May 12, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · May 12, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Have posted "No-smoking" signs in areas where smoking is not permitted or ashtrays provided where smoking was allowed.
    K 741 · May 12, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · January 20, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Properly provide smoke detection systems in areas open to corridors.
    K 347 · January 20, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.123.793.86
Registered nurses0.380.340.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.233.443.42
Nurse aides2.00
Licensed practical nurses0.74
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)56.5%55.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported53.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 2.16 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.07 on weekdays and 3.23 on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.41 in April to June 2025 to 3.12 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.120.383.073.23 0.0%0 of 9027
Oct to Dec 20253.360.543.443.17 0.0%0 of 9227
Jul to Sep 20253.130.473.073.28 0.3%0 of 9228
Apr to Jun 20253.410.473.393.48 0.0%0 of 9127
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Oklahoma, Jan to Mar 20263.790.323.943.422.2%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.813.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.92.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.54.73.2
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.813.714.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.04.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
27.617.515.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on February 15, 2024: "Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on May 12, 2025: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  3. How are allegations of abuse or neglect reported and investigated, and who tells the family?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 12, 2025: "Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 12, 2025: "Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.23 hours per resident per day, below the Oklahoma average of 3.44.

Other nursing homes nearby

Oklahoma contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Oklahoma. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is North Winds Living Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates North Winds Living Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 4 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did North Winds Living Center get at its last inspection?
7 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on May 12, 2025. The Oklahoma average is 6.4.
Has North Winds Living Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does North Winds Living Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns North Winds Living Center?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection