Find a nursing home

Home / Arizona / Tempe

Tempe Post Acute

6100 South Rural Road, Tempe, AZ 85283 · Maricopa County · (480) 831-8660

60 certified beds, about 71 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare and Medicaid since 1985

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 035106 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 6, 2026, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the Arizona average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 8 health citations since December 2023, 1 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

CMS links it to The Ensign Group, an affiliated group of 344 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 8 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
1G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
5D
2E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
July 30, 2026Complaint inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    F657 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, observations, and staff interviews, the facility failed to ensure that the comprehensive person-centered care plan was reviewed and revised to address Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus for one resident (Resident #6). This deficient practice could result in inadequate monitoring of blood glucose levels, increasing the risk of a hypoglycemic event for the resident. The universe was 70, and the sample size was 3.
  2. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 21, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical record review, staff interviews, observations, and facility policies, the facility failed to ensure that one resident (Resident #6) received needed treatment, monitoring, and care in accordance with professional standards of practice for Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus. This deficient practice resulted in the resident's blood glucose level falling below the normal range, placing the resident at risk for a hypoglycemic event (low blood sugar). The universe was 70, and the sample size was 3.
May 12, 2026Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. G
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    F689 · Quality of Life and Care · Actual harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 27, 2026 · disputed by the home (informal dispute resolution)
    Inspectors wroteBased on documentation, staff interviews, and the facility policy and procedures, the facility failed to ensure that adequate supervision was provided to ensure that Resident #11 did not elope. The deficient practice could result in residents being injured, abused, or lost.
March 6, 2026Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. D
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    F558 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteNumber of residents sampled: Number of residents cited: Based on observations, resident and staff interviews, and record review, the facility failed to ensure that one of the samples resident's (#103) room air conditioning (AC) unit and filters were clean and intact. The deficient practice had the potential health and safety risk for residents residing in the room due to unfiltered air to circulate in the room.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, resident and staff interviews and review of facility policies and procedures, the facility failed to maintain clean and sanitary environment as evidenced by not changing visibly soiled linens in a timely manner for one sampled resident (#103). The deficient practice could result in an unsanitary environment, increased risk for infection, and decreased resident comfort.
  3. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 6, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, and a review of facility policies and procedures, the facility failed to ensure staff followed food safety practices by not wearing gloves while serving food. This deficient practice had the potential to result in food contamination, which could cause illness or food poisoning among residents. Findings Include:On March 4, 2026, at 12:30 p.m., during the procedure of taking the temperature of food from the test tray in the conference room, the survey team observed that Staff #65, who was also the kitchen manager, had a bandage on her right hand. Staff #65 did not wear gloves during this procedure. A red spot was observed on the outer part of the bandage. An immediate interview with Staff #65 was conducted on March 4, 2026, at 12:45 p.m. Staff #65 stated that the cut was a scratch that occurred earlier that morning on March 4, 2026. [...]
November 21, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) December 27, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on clinical review, staff interviews, and facility policy, the facility failed to ensure that physician orders were followed according to professional standards regarding blood sugar monitoring for two out of five sampled residents (#215 and #46). The deficient practice could result in residents with high blood sugar. Findings Include: -Regarding resident #215: Resident #215 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that included Type II Diabetes Mellitus without complications. The care plan for Diabetes Mellitus initiated on November 09, 2024 included an intervention of diabetes medication as ordered by doctor; monitor/document for side effects and effectiveness. The Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] included a brief interview for mental status (BIMS) score of 00 indicating severe cognitive impairment. [...]
December 15, 2023Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 29, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interview, and policy review, the facility failed to maintain a clean and sanitary kitchen. The deficient practice could result in a potential for food borne illness. The resident census is 51.

Fire safety inspections

5 fire safety citations on file: 2 on March 6, 2026, 3 on November 21, 2024.

Every fire safety citation5 citations
  1. F
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · March 6, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · March 6, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. E
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · November 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · November 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. E
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · November 21, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeArizonaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.983.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.700.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.513.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported45.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported43.6%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.70 on weekdays and 2.79 on weekends, 25% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.53 in April to June 2025 to 3.44 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.440.593.702.79 0.0%0 of 9071
Oct to Dec 20253.520.523.762.89 0.0%0 of 9268
Jul to Sep 20254.640.554.913.96 0.0%0 of 9268
Apr to Jun 20254.530.504.763.94 0.0%2 of 9170
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Arizona, Jan to Mar 20263.870.634.053.433.3%0.5% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Arizona

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Arizona, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$21.53$18.43 to $22.4220,320
LPNs and LVNs$37.05$32.10 to $39.366,530
Registered nurses$47.84$39.33 to $52.2073,150
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeArizonaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
13.910.713.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.10.80.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.01.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.02.13.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.31.21.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
20.412.814.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.04.44.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.410.715.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
23.723.723.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
10.410.412.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: WESTERN CANAL HEALTHCARE LLC. CMS links this home to The Ensign Group, a group of 344 nursing homes averaging 3.2 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ortega, AmadorManaging control - governing bodyIndividual08/01/2020
Vij, NeerajManaging control - governing bodyIndividual08/01/2020
Burnam, SoonCorporate officerIndividual04/20/2020
Keetch, ChadCorporate officerIndividual01/01/2014
Peterson, ForrestCorporate officerIndividual04/20/2020
Ortega, AmadorOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/01/2020
Vij, NeerajOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/01/2020
Port, BarryIndividual is an owner, partner or trustee of any ADP of the SNFIndividual07/05/2025
Elati Health Holdings LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2022
Ensign Services IncAdp of the SNFOrganization08/01/2020
Standard Bearer Healthcare Op, LPAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2022
The Ensign Group IncAdp of the SNFOrganization01/01/2022
Ortega, AmadorAdp of the SNFIndividual08/01/2020
Vij, NeerajAdp of the SNFIndividual08/01/2020

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 30, 2026: "Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 30, 2026: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 6, 2026: "Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident."
  4. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on March 6, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."

Other nursing homes nearby

Arizona contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Arizona. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Tempe Post Acute's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Tempe Post Acute 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Tempe Post Acute get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 6, 2026. The Arizona average is 6.4.
Has Tempe Post Acute been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Tempe Post Acute accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Tempe Post Acute?
CMS lists 14 owners and managers, and links the home to The Ensign Group. Legal business name: WESTERN CANAL HEALTHCARE LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection