Find a nursing home

Home / Arizona / Chandler

Sante of Chandler

825 South 94th Street, Chandler, AZ 85224 · Maricopa County · (480) 361-6636

70 certified beds, about 67 residents a day · For profit - Corporation · Medicare since 2011

CMS high performing icon Certified for Medicare
Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 035283 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on February 19, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Arizona average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 7 health citations since March 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.84 hours per resident per day, against 3.98 across Arizona and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.60 of those hours.

CMS links it to Sante, an affiliated group of 5 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 7 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
6D
0E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
February 19, 2026Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    F851 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and review of facility records, policy, and procedure, the facility failed ensure payroll based journal was submitted according to federal requirement. The deficient practice could lead to inability of a third party to audit the facility's staffing. Review of Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Payroll Based Journal (PBJ) Staffing data report dated April 1 - June 30, 2025, revealed the facility failed to submit staffing data for the quarter. An interview was conducted with the facility administrator (Staff #6) on February 18, 2026, at 9:43 a.m. who stated that the facility's process for submitting the PBJ staffing data is through electronic submission, and to submit it by a deadline date. The administrator stated that for the quarter April 1 - June 30, 2025, that the facility tried to submit the staffing data but missed the deadline. [...]
  2. D
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    F684 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 20, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, staff interviews and review of the clinical record, the facility failed to ensure that services met professional standards of quality by failing to prepare medications according to provider orders, requiring surveyor intervention prior to medication administration to one of six sampled residents (#21). The deficient practice has the potential for the resident not receiving the appropriate treatment and for additional errors in treatment administration.
May 31, 2024Standard inspection · 5 citations
  1. D
    Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
    F554 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, clinical record review, staff interviews, and policy reviews, the facility failed to ensure one resident (#269) was assessed to determine clinical appropriateness to self-administer medications. The deficient practice could result in medications not being taken as ordered.
  2. D
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure that services met professional standards of practice during medication administration using a pill cutter. The deficient practice could result in cross-contamination of medications.
  3. D
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interviews, and records review the facility failed to ensure 1 of 1 sampled resident (#57) received appropriate indwelling catheter care and treatment. The deficient practice could result in residents developing complications related to indwelling catheter.
  4. D
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure food was served in accordance with professional standards for food service safety. The deficient practice could result in foodborne illnesses.
  5. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 17, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interviews, and records review the facility failed to ensure appropriate infection control practices were used during catheter care for one resident (#57). The deficient practice could result in the spread of multi-drug resistant organisms (MDROs) to residents.
March 9, 2023Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

1 fire safety citation on file: 1 on February 19, 2026.

Every fire safety citation1 citation
  1. D
    Install corridor and hallway doors that block smoke.
    K 363 · February 19, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeArizonaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.843.983.86
Registered nurses0.600.700.69
All nursing staff on weekends4.173.513.42
Nurse aides2.27
Licensed practical nurses1.97
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported45.1%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported43.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.80 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 5.11 on weekdays and 4.17 on weekends, 18% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 1.7% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.74 in July to September 2025 to 4.84 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.840.605.114.17 1.7%0 of 9067
Oct to Dec 20254.770.605.044.09 3.5%0 of 9268
Jul to Sep 20254.740.575.033.98 3.5%0 of 9268
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Arizona, Jan to Mar 20263.870.634.053.433.3%0.5% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeArizonaUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.41.21.6
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
19.323.723.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
9.510.412.0

Owners and operators

Legal business name: SANTE CHANDLER LLC. CMS links this home to Sante, a group of 5 nursing homes averaging 4.4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Munch Tooke, LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization09/19/2011
Santana Falls LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization09/19/2011
Sp Chandler LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization09/19/2011
Sp Op Chandler LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization09/19/2011
Sterling & Jacqueline Holdings,llc5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization01/01/2022
Clark, Jere5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual09/19/2011
Hansen, Charles5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual09/19/2011
Munch, Michael5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual09/19/2011
Short, Sterling5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual09/19/2011
Tooke, Arthur5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual09/19/2011
Gudino, LoriContracted managing employeeIndividual06/01/2016
Schaefer, JacobCorporate directorIndividual01/01/2022

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on February 19, 2026: "Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals."
  2. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on February 19, 2026: "Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data."
  3. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on May 31, 2024: "Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate."
  4. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on May 31, 2024: "Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality."

Other nursing homes nearby

Arizona contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Arizona. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Sante of Chandler's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Sante of Chandler 5 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 5 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Sante of Chandler get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on February 19, 2026. The Arizona average is 6.4.
Has Sante of Chandler been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Sante of Chandler accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns Sante of Chandler?
CMS lists 12 owners and managers, and links the home to Sante. Legal business name: SANTE CHANDLER LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection