Find a nursing home

Home / North Carolina / Durham

The Forest at Duke Inc

2701 Pickett Road, Durham, NC 27705 · Durham County · (919) 490-8000

4 certified beds, about 2 residents a day · Non profit - Corporation · Medicare since 2008

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: This facility reported a high number of days without a registered nurse onsite.
Quality measures
Not rated
CMS note: Not enough data available to calculate a star rating.

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 345542 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on February 12, 2026, inspectors cited 0 health deficiencies (the North Carolina average is 4.7, the national average 9.2).

None of its 1 health citation since December 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.15 hours per resident per day, against 3.85 across North Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.04 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 1 health citation on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
0D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
1B
0C
February 12, 2026Standard inspection · 0 citations
November 19, 2024Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. B
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    F640 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · deficient, provider has December 13, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to transmit Minimum Data Set (MDS) discharge assessments for 2 of 2 residents reviewed for resident assessment (Resident #5 and Resident #6).
December 6, 2023Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

20 fire safety citations on file: 9 on February 12, 2026, 10 on November 19, 2024, 1 on December 6, 2023.

Every fire safety citation20 citations
  1. F
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. F
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Have an enclosure around a vertical opening shaft.
    K 311 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Have a complete alarm system manually initiated and initiated by fire sprinkler system connection.
    K 342 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. D
    Have simulated fire drills held at unexpected times.
    K 712 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Have a battery powered remote alarm panel in a location accessible by operating personnel.
    K 916 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · February 12, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. F
    Keep aisles, corridors, and exits free of obstruction in case of emergency.
    K 211 · November 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. F
    Have an enclosure around a vertical opening shaft.
    K 311 · November 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. F
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · November 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. F
    Install properly constructed and protected linen or trash chutes.
    K 541 · November 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  14. F
    Meet requirements for operating features, such as evacuation plans, fire drills, smoking regulations, draperies, decorations and the inspection, testing and maintenance of fire doors.
    K 700 · November 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  15. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · November 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  16. D
    Ensure smoke barriers are constructed to a 1 hour fire resistance rating.
    K 372 · November 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  17. D
    Meet fire sprinkler requirement for tall buildings.
    K 400 · November 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  18. D
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · November 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  19. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · November 19, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  20. E
    Have generator or other power source capable of supplying service within 10 seconds.
    K 918 · December 6, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.153.853.86
Registered nurses0.040.620.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.683.423.42
Nurse aides3.12
Licensed practical nurses0.99
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported49.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported45.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.43 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.35 on weekdays and 3.68 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 19.3% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.67 in April to June 2025 to 4.15 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.150.044.353.68 19.3%73 of 782
Jul to Sep 20252.290.152.252.38 0.0%80 of 923
Apr to Jun 20255.670.385.835.25 9.6%65 of 913
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
North Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.650.533.823.258.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUS
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.41.6

Owners and operators

Legal business name: THE FOREST AT DUKE INC.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Bailey-Clayton, Lee AnnCorporate directorIndividual01/06/2019
Garrett, GregoryCorporate officerIndividual04/27/2026
Bailey-Clayton, Lee AnnOperational/managerial controlIndividual01/06/2019
Garrett, GregoryOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/27/2026
Bailey-Clayton, Lee AnnAdp of the SNFIndividual01/06/2019
Little, MiltaAdp of the SNFIndividual08/27/2019

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on November 19, 2024: "Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment."

Other nursing homes nearby

North Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in North Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is The Forest at Duke Inc's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates The Forest at Duke Inc 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and no for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did The Forest at Duke Inc get at its last inspection?
0 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on February 12, 2026. The North Carolina average is 4.7.
Has The Forest at Duke Inc been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does The Forest at Duke Inc accept Medicaid?
CMS lists it as "Medicare", so it is not certified for Medicaid.
Who owns The Forest at Duke Inc?
CMS lists 6 owners and managers. Legal business name: THE FOREST AT DUKE INC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection