Find a nursing home

Home / Oklahoma / Sapulpa

The Gardens

1165 South Brenner Road, Sapulpa, OK 74066 · Creek County · (918) 224-0600

107 certified beds, about 62 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 2002

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 375408 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on July 17, 2026, inspectors cited 6 health deficiencies (the Oklahoma average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

None of its 15 health citations since July 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.65 hours per resident per day, against 3.79 across Oklahoma and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.33 of those hours.

68.8% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Oklahoma average 55.5%).

CMS links it to Phoenix Healthcare, an affiliated group of 6 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 15 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
8D
5E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
1C
July 17, 2026Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. F
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, document review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to implement the interdisciplinary water management process described in their policy and failed to conduct a facility-specific risk assessment of its water system to identify vulnerabilities to water-borne pathogens. These deficient practices had the potential to affect all 65 residents who currently resided in the facility.
  2. E
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to accurately code the Minimum Data Set (MDS) for 3 (Residents #9, #46, and #57) of 5 sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medications.
  3. D
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    F609 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, document review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to timely report an allegation of abuse to the state agency for 1 (Resident #77) of 2 sampled residents reviewed for abuse.
  4. D
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to implement wound treatment when a resident was assessed to have shearing on their coccyx for 1 (Resident #76) of 2 sampled residents reviewed for pressure ulcer/injury.
  5. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure staff cleaned and stored respiratory equipment after each use for 1 (Resident #28) of 21 sampled residents.
  6. C
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 19, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to post the actual hours worked by licensed and unlicensed nursing staff directly responsible for resident care per shift, post the total number and actual hours for registered nurses responsible for resident care per shift, and maintain a minimum of 18 months of nurse staffing data. These deficient practices had the potential to affect all 65 residents who currently resided in the facility.
September 13, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 8 citations
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to manage his or her financial affairs.
    F567 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure residents had access to their trust account money on nights and weekends for three (#3, 17, and #34) of three residents reviewed for access to their trust account money. The business office manager identified seven current residents who had money in the trust account.
  2. E
    Properly hold, secure, and manage each resident's personal money which is deposited with the nursing home.
    F568 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to provide notices to Medicaid recipients trust account holder when balances was within $200 of the resource limit for a medicaid recipient resident for two (#1 and #17) of three sampled residents reviewed for active trust account balances. The Business office manger identified seven residents that have money in the trust account, were current residents and had Medicaid as their payer source.
  3. E
    Notify each resident of certain balances and convey resident funds upon discharge, eviction, or death.
    F569 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to close out trust accounts and convey funds within 30 days for three (#108, 109, 110 and #11) of four residents reviewed for open trust accounts and had been discharged from the facility over 30 days. The Business Office Director identified eight residents who no longer resided in the facilty and trust accounts were not closed out within 30 days.
  4. E
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to perform hand hygiene during wound care and follow enhanced barrier precautions during wound care for one (Res #36) of three sampled residents reviewed for wounds. The administrator identified 61 residents resided in the facility.
  5. D
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    F558 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure a U-bar was accommodated for residents needs for two (#158 and #164) of two sampled residents who wanted the rail for steadying and repositioning. The Administrator identified 61 residents resided in the facility.
  6. D
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to notify a resident's representative of an involuntary discharge for one (#55) of three sampled residents reviewed for closed records. The administrator identified 61 residents resided in the facility.
  7. D
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a resident with a newly identified diagnosis of psychosis and hallucination after admission, submitted a PASRR with the new diagnosis for one (#34) of two sampled residents reviewed for pre-admission screening and resident review. MDS Coordinator #1 identified 35 residents who currently had a diagnosis of a serious mental health condition.
  8. D
    Ensure necessary information is communicated to the resident, and receiving health care provider at the time of a planned discharge.
    F661 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 22, 2024
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview the facility failed to document a discharge summary for one (#55) of three sampled residents reviewed for closed records. The administrator identified 61 residents resided in the facility.
July 19, 2023Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
    F756 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 16, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure the physician received monthly drug regimen reviews, and acted upon recommendations by the pharmacist, for two (#2 and #34) of five residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The Resident Census and Condition of Residents form, dated 07/17/23, documented 48 residents resided in the facility.

Fire safety inspections

3 fire safety citations on file: 1 on July 17, 2026, 1 on September 13, 2024, 1 on July 19, 2023.

Every fire safety citation3 citations
  1. E
    Have properly located and lighted "Exit" signs.
    K 293 · July 17, 2026 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. E
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · September 13, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. F
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · July 19, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.653.793.86
Registered nurses0.330.340.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.493.443.42
Nurse aides2.10
Licensed practical nurses1.22
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)68.8%55.5%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported53.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 3.40 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.71 on weekdays and 3.49 on weekends, 6% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 1.5% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.85 in April to June 2025 to 3.65 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.650.333.713.49 1.5%0 of 9062
Oct to Dec 20254.290.414.404.02 0.0%0 of 9261
Jul to Sep 20254.160.344.263.90 0.0%0 of 9261
Apr to Jun 20253.850.203.973.54 0.0%0 of 9161
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Oklahoma, Jan to Mar 20263.790.323.943.422.2%1.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeOklahomaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.513.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.41.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.02.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.84.73.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.81.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.913.714.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.84.74.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
7.817.515.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
18.027.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
8.116.612.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.42.31.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.73.01.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: PHOENIX HEALTHCARE LLC. CMS links this home to Phoenix Healthcare, a group of 6 nursing homes averaging 2.7 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Phoenix Healthcare LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization09/29/2004
Cain, Larry5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual09/29/2004
Forvis Mazars LLPOperational/managerial controlOrganization10/14/2004
Phoenix Healthcare LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization09/29/2004
Phoenix Rehab LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization09/29/2004
Barnes, CandaceOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/25/2023
Beckner, SuzanneOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/26/2024
Floyd, ShannaOperational/managerial controlIndividual06/14/2010
Lade, ArvidOperational/managerial controlIndividual11/30/2023
Young, CathyOperational/managerial controlIndividual04/24/2009
Forvis Mazars LLPAdp of the SNFOrganization07/18/2025
Midwest Land & Investment CompanyAdp of the SNFOrganization11/01/2005
Phoenix Healthcare LLCAdp of the SNFOrganization07/18/2025
Barnes, CandaceAdp of the SNFIndividual07/18/2025
Floyd, ShannaAdp of the SNFIndividual06/14/2010
Lade, ArvidAdp of the SNFIndividual07/21/2025
Young, CathyAdp of the SNFIndividual04/24/2009

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on September 13, 2024: "Honor the resident's right to manage his or her financial affairs."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on July 17, 2026: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 17, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on July 17, 2026: "Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing."

Other nursing homes nearby

Oklahoma contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Oklahoma. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is The Gardens's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates The Gardens 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 3 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did The Gardens get at its last inspection?
6 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on July 17, 2026. The Oklahoma average is 6.4.
Has The Gardens been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does The Gardens accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns The Gardens?
CMS lists 17 owners and managers, and links the home to Phoenix Healthcare. Legal business name: PHOENIX HEALTHCARE LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection