Find a nursing home

Home / Florida / Fort Walton Beach

Westwood Nursing and Rehabilitation Center

1001 Mar-Walt Drive, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547 · Okaloosa County · (850) 863-5174

60 certified beds, about 51 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1981

Part of a continuing care retirement community Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: This facility did not submit staffing data.
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 105395 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on August 6, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Florida average is 7.1, the national average 9.2).

None of its 3 health citations since January 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

CMS links it to Maximus Healthcare Group, an affiliated group of 7 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 3 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
3D
0E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
August 6, 2026Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. D
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Not yet corrected
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, and record review, the facility failed to provide maintenance services to maintain resident bedrooms in good repair for 1 of 11 sampled resident bedrooms. (room [ROOM NUMBER])
  2. D
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Not yet corrected
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, resident interview, staff interviews, and record review, the facility failed to provide appropriate treatment and services to maintain and prevent further decrease in range of motion for 1 of 1 residents sampled for limited range of motion. (Resident #8)
April 25, 2025Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    F656 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) May 30, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to provide a comprehensive plan of care for 2 of 2 residents sampled for care plans. (Resident #21 and #24)
January 18, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

3 fire safety citations on file: 3 on August 6, 2026.

Every fire safety citation3 citations
  1. F
    Ensure that testing and maintenance of electrical equipment is performed.
    K 921 · August 6, 2026 · Not yet corrected
  2. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · August 6, 2026 · Not yet corrected
  3. D
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · August 6, 2026 · Not yet corrected

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeFloridaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.823.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.730.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.493.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported41.4%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported46.0%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS note on this home's staffing data: This facility did not submit staffing data.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In October to December 2025, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.40 on weekdays and 3.72 on weekends, 15% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.31 in April to June 2025 to 4.20 in October to December 2025.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Oct to Dec 20254.200.484.403.72 0.0%0 of 9249
Jul to Sep 20254.300.504.483.85 0.0%0 of 9248
Apr to Jun 20254.310.514.563.67 0.0%0 of 9150
United States, Oct to Dec 20253.760.623.933.345.3%0.5% of days
Florida, Oct to Dec 20253.790.703.913.461.1%0.2% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Staff pay reports

Staff pay at this home

No staff pay figure for this home has passed review yet. A figure appears only after at least 5 reports from at least 3 different people, sent over at least 60 days, have passed review.

Official wage estimates for Florida

JobMedianMiddle halfEmployed
Florida, all employers
CNAs (nursing assistants)$18.03$17.33 to $20.3496,960
LPNs and LVNs$29.70$28.14 to $31.1138,620
Registered nurses$40.48$37.82 to $48.64229,940
United States, nursing care facilities
CNAs (nursing assistants)$20.67$17.91 to $22.55534,270
LPNs and LVNs$33.86$30.05 to $37.40188,210
Registered nurses$41.11$37.85 to $47.68142,270

Hourly wages; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. BLS has no separate estimate for medication aides. These are survey estimates for whole occupations, not figures for any one home.

How staff pay reports work · CNA pay by state

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeFloridaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
11.98.713.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.30.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.00.71.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.12.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.91.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
22.59.514.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
15.14.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.68.615.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
26.526.123.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
18.99.112.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
0.92.11.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.01.11.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: WESTWOOD OPERATIONS LLC. CMS links this home to Maximus Healthcare Group, a group of 7 nursing homes averaging 4.1 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Westwood Holdings LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%02/28/2016
Rigdon, KarenW-2 managing employeeIndividual09/28/2016
Steinmetz, HenryCorporate officerIndividual02/08/2016

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 6, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely."
  2. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on August 6, 2026: "Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on April 25, 2025: "Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured."

Other nursing homes nearby

Florida contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Florida. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Westwood Nursing and Rehabilitation Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Westwood Nursing and Rehabilitation Center 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 5 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Westwood Nursing and Rehabilitation Center get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on August 6, 2026. The Florida average is 7.1.
Has Westwood Nursing and Rehabilitation Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Westwood Nursing and Rehabilitation Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Westwood Nursing and Rehabilitation Center?
CMS lists 3 owners and managers, and links the home to Maximus Healthcare Group. Legal business name: WESTWOOD OPERATIONS LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection