Find a nursing home

Home / Georgia / Rockmart

Cottages at Rockmart, the

750 Goodyear Avenue, Rockmart, GA 30153 · Polk County · (770) 748-3622

116 certified beds, about 102 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1989

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
CMS note: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 115381 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on January 11, 2026, inspectors cited 2 health deficiencies (the Georgia average is 5, the national average 9.2).

None of its 13 health citations since August 2022 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

30.6% of nursing staff left within the year CMS measured (Georgia average 46.0%).

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 13 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
10D
2E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
January 11, 2026Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. F
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 26, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, and review of the facility policy titled, Date and Label, the facility failed to ensure opened food item in the kitchen's dry storage area, emergency preparedness supply, and refrigerator were properly labeled and dated. The deficient practice had the potential to affect 98 out of 99 facility residents who received an oral diet.
  2. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) February 26, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, record review, and review of the facility policies titled, Catheter Management Care, Anchoring and Changing, and Handwashing/Hand Hygiene, the facility failed to maintain infection control practices related to hand washing during catheter care for one of five residents (R) (R76) with an indwelling urinary catheter. This failure had the potential to cause R76 to have increased urinary tract infections (UTI).
August 22, 2025Complaint inspection · 1 citation
  1. D
    Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
    F610 · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, staff interviews, facility document review, and review of the facility policy titled Abuse Policy, the facility failed to protect residents from sexual abuse by another resident by not completing a thorough investigation of an allegation of resident-to-resident sexual abuse for one of three incidents of abuse reviewed. Specifically, following an incident of alleged sexual abuse involving two residents (R) (R1and R2), the facility did not interview other residents or assess residents who were cognitively impaired to ensure they had not experienced abuse.
November 24, 2024Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 4 citations
  1. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, and review of facility policy titled, Oxygen (O2) Concentrator, the facility failed to ensure respiratory equipment was maintained in a sanitary manner for one of 21 residents (R) (R34) who receive oxygen therapy. The deficient practice had the potential to place R34 at an increased risk of respiratory complications and infection.
  2. D
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    F758 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, staff interviews, and review of the facility policy titled, Medication Orders, the facility failed to ensure a stop date was implemented, not to exceed 14 days for psychotropic medications for one of six residents (R) (R12) reviewed for unnecessary medications.
  3. D
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, facility document review, review of the Center for Disease (CDC) guideline titled, Handle With Care: Protect Your Vaccine, Protect Your Patients, and review of the facility's policy titled, Medication Storage in the Facility, the facility failed to store vaccines under proper temperature controls with twice daily monitoring in two of six refrigerators used to store medications and biologicals. The deficient practice created the potential for residents to receive vaccinations with altered effectiveness. The facility census was 78 residents.
  4. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) January 6, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, staff interviews, and review of the facility's policies titled, Glucometer Disinfection, Laundry, and the User And Care Guide Manual, the facility failed to ensure the infection control process was followed by one Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) on cleaning and disinfecting a glucometer (a device used to measure blood glucose) after using it on one of two residents (R) (R31) with a physician order for a glucometer reading. In addition, the facility failed by not using a barrier before placing the glucometer on any surface. The facility also failed to clean the dryer lint screens from two of twelve dryers.
August 25, 2022Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. E
    Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
    F623 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review, interview, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure three of 21 sampled residents (R) (R14, R20, and R36) and/or their representatives were provided with written transfer/discharge notice that stated the reason for transfer, the place of transfer, and other information regarding the transfer or appeal information.
  2. E
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    F812 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure foods were stored and/or labeled in the snack and kitchen areas in two of four cottages. This deficient practice had the potential to affect 30 of 58 residents who received meals and/ or snacks prepared in the facility's four snack areas and four cottage kitchens.
  3. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview, record review, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure one of 21 sampled residents (R) (R29) was accurately assessed for insulin use and the completion of a level two preadmission screening and resident review (PASARR). This failure could affect the care planning for the resident to receive all required services.
  4. D
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    F644 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure two of three residents (R) (R14 and R20) with new mental health diagnoses received a Level II PASARR review for potential services.
  5. D
    Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
    F688 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, record review, and policy review, the facility failed to provide range of motion (ROM) services for one of 21 sampled residents (R) (R48).
  6. D
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    F700 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) October 9, 2022
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure one of two residents (R) (R14) reviewed for accident hazards was informed of the risks and benefits of assist or enabler bar use while in bed.

Fire safety inspections

4 fire safety citations on file: 3 on November 24, 2024, 1 on August 25, 2022.

Every fire safety citation4 citations
  1. F
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · November 24, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Install an approved automatic sprinkler system.
    K 351 · November 24, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · November 24, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. E
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · August 25, 2022 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeGeorgiaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)not reported3.563.86
Registered nursesnot reported0.500.69
All nursing staff on weekendsnot reported3.103.42
Nurse aidesnot reported
Licensed practical nursesnot reported
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)30.6%46.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnover33.3%44.5%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS note on this home's staffing data: The accuracy of the staffing data for this measure could not be validated by CMS.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 6.07 on weekdays and 5.65 on weekends, 7% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 3.8% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 5.84 in April to June 2025 to 5.94 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20265.940.396.075.65 3.8%0 of 90102
Oct to Dec 20255.770.385.915.44 0.8%0 of 9297
Jul to Sep 20255.860.305.995.53 0.0%0 of 9288
Apr to Jun 20255.840.205.975.50 0.0%0 of 9184
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Georgia, Jan to Mar 20263.500.463.683.033.3%0.6% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeGeorgiaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
26.615.313.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.70.90.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.62.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
9.73.23.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.52.61.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
19.915.214.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.85.64.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
24.519.915.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
36.125.023.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
8.011.612.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.42.11.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
1.61.91.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Ownership data not available

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on November 24, 2024: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  2. Can we see a week of menus and the kitchen, and how are special diets handled?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 11, 2026: "Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on January 11, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on November 24, 2024: "Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited."
  5. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

Georgia contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Georgia. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Cottages at Rockmart, the's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Cottages at Rockmart, the 3 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 1 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Cottages at Rockmart, the get at its last inspection?
2 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on January 11, 2026. The Georgia average is 5.
Has Cottages at Rockmart, the been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Cottages at Rockmart, the accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Cottages at Rockmart, the?
CMS lists 1 owner or manager. Legal business name: Legal Business Name Not Available.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection