Find a nursing home

Home / South Carolina / Union

Ellen Sagar Nursing Center

1817 Jonesville Highway, Union, SC 29379 · Union County · (864) 301-3500

113 certified beds, about 100 residents a day · Government - Hospital district · Medicare and Medicaid since 1967

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 425012 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on May 19, 2026, inspectors cited 4 health deficiencies (the South Carolina average is 3.7, the national average 9.2).

None of its 12 health citations since August 2023 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.36 hours per resident per day, against 3.84 across South Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.46 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 12 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
8D
3E
1F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
May 19, 2026Standard inspection · 4 citations
  1. F
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    F761 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 10, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to ensure medications were properly stored and expired medications were removed from storage, for 4 of 4 medication carts.
  2. D
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    F550 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 10, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure privacy and dignity was maintained for Resident (R)21. Specifically, the facility left R21's Foley catheter bag uncovered while the resident was in public areas, for 1 of 1 resident reviewed.
  3. D
    Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
    F759 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 10, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to ensure the medication error rate was below 5%. Specifically, the medication error rate was 20%.
  4. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) July 31, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of the facility policy, observation, record review, and interview, the facility failed to ensure proper hand hygiene after touching soiled linen and removing PPE (personal protective equipment) for 1 of 1 laundry aides observed. The facility also failed to ensure an excessive amount of lint was removed from lint screens for 2 of 2 commercial clothes dryers in the main laundry room. Furthermore, the facility failed to use appropriate infection control practices when storing medical equipment being used by Resident(R)11 for 1 of 1 residents reviewed.
March 7, 2025Standard inspection · 6 citations
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure a clean, comfortable, and homelike environment by failing to maintain clean floors and walls in common areas.
  2. E
    Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
    F925 · Environmental · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on review of facility policy, observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to maintain an effective pest control program to ensure the facility was free of pests. This was evidenced by the ongoing presence of insects affecting 1 of 2 units observed during the survey.
  3. D
    Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
    F558 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and a review of facility policy, the facility failed to protect the resident's right to receive services by failing to keep Resident (R)38's call devices within reach. This deficient practice affected 1 resident from a total of 40 residents sampled.
  4. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to ensure each resident who received respiratory care and services by the use of oxygen via tracheostomy collar and nasal cannula, had the care consistent with professional standards of practice. The facility also failed to have Physician's Orders for 2 of 7 residents reviewed who received oxygen services (Resident (R)1, R11 and R44).
  5. D
    Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
    F755 · Pharmacy Service · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record review, the facility failed to provide routine drugs to Resident (R)308 as ordered by the physician. This deficient practice affected 1 of 3 residents reviewed for medication administration from a total of 40 residents sampled.
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 3, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record review, facility staff failed to ensure appropriate hand hygiene and gloving practices during the administration of medications. This deficient practice affected 1 of 3 residents, (Resident (R)4), reviewed for medication administration from a total of 40 residents sampled.
August 4, 2023Standard inspection · 2 citations
  1. E
    Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
    F584 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and facility policy review, the facility management failed to provide residents with a safe and clean homelike environment.
  2. D
    Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
    F814 · Nutrition and Dietary · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) August 31, 2023
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and review of the facility policy, the facility failed to ensure trash dumpsters were kept closed. On the first day of survey, two (2) of two (2) trash dumpsters with sliding doors were observed opened. Interviews and a review of the facility's policy revealed the dumpsters should be closed prevent insect and pest infestations.

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeSouth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.363.843.86
Registered nurses0.460.630.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.103.333.42
Nurse aides1.76
Licensed practical nurses1.14
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported45.9%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported42.1%42.9%
Administrators who left0

CMS expects 3.33 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.46 on weekdays and 3.10 on weekends, 10% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 17.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.42 in April to June 2025 to 3.36 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.360.463.463.10 17.0%0 of 90100
Oct to Dec 20253.570.453.613.47 19.9%0 of 9298
Jul to Sep 20253.710.463.803.49 19.8%0 of 9295
Apr to Jun 20253.420.503.553.10 8.8%0 of 9194
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
South Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.620.533.813.137.2%0.3% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeSouth CarolinaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.111.913.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.10.60.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.51.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.53.23.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.01.51.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
4.512.714.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
5.15.14.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
18.715.315.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
25.324.323.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
18.613.912.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.42.01.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.61.81.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: ELLEN SAGAR NURSING CENTER.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Spartanburg Regional Health Services District Inc5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%08/02/2015
Apella Health Management IncDirect ownership interestOrganization01/01/2019
Davis, BruceCorporate officerIndividual01/25/2020
Holstien, ElmerCorporate officerIndividual08/01/2011
Morrow, CharlesCorporate officerIndividual12/04/2023
Apella Health Management IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization01/01/2019
Spartanburg Regional Health Services District IncOperational/managerial controlOrganization08/02/2015
Schaper, ElizabethOperational/managerial controlIndividual08/01/2015
Apella Health Management IncAdp of the SNFOrganization01/29/2025
Melin, KurtisAdp of the SNFIndividual01/30/2025
Schaper, ElizabethAdp of the SNFIndividual01/30/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 4 problems in this area, most recently on May 19, 2026: "Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights."
  2. How are medications reviewed, and how often are antipsychotic or sedating drugs used?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on May 19, 2026: "Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs."
  3. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on May 19, 2026: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  4. Can we see a resident room, a shower room and the dining room on this visit?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on March 7, 2025: "Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.10 hours per resident per day, below the South Carolina average of 3.33.

Other nursing homes nearby

South Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in South Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Ellen Sagar Nursing Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Ellen Sagar Nursing Center 2 out of 5 stars overall, with 2 for health inspections, 2 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Ellen Sagar Nursing Center get at its last inspection?
4 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on May 19, 2026. The South Carolina average is 3.7.
Has Ellen Sagar Nursing Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Ellen Sagar Nursing Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Ellen Sagar Nursing Center?
CMS lists 11 owners and managers. Legal business name: ELLEN SAGAR NURSING CENTER.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection