Find a nursing home

Home / North Carolina / Wilson

Wilson Rehabilitation and Nursing Center

1705 South Tarboro Street, Wilson, NC 27893 · Wilson County · (252) 399-8998

90 certified beds, about 65 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 1992

Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 345423 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on May 20, 2026, inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies (the North Carolina average is 4.7, the national average 9.2).

None of its 3 health citations since February 2024 was rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.

CMS lists no fines against this home in the last three years.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 4.28 hours per resident per day, against 3.85 across North Carolina and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 1.11 of those hours.

CMS links it to Lifepoint Health, an affiliated group of 8 nursing homes.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 3 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
0L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
2D
1E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
0B
0C
May 20, 2026Standard inspection · 3 citations
  1. E
    Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
    F552 · Resident Rights · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 12, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews, and staff, Medical Director, Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner, Pharmacy Consultant, and Guardian interviews, the facility failed to obtain consent and inform the resident or resident representative in advance of the risks and benefits of psychotropic medications or treatment alternatives for 4 of 4 residents reviewed for unnecessary medications (Resident #1, Resident #2, Resident #62, and Resident #46).
  2. D
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    F641 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 12, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on record review and staff interviews, the facility failed to accurately code the physician's documented clinical contraindication of a gradual dose reduction (GDR) of psychotropic medications for 2 of 25 residents reviewed for MDS assessment accuracy (Resident #1 and Resident #62).
  3. D
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    F695 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) June 12, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and staff interviews, the facility failed to place cautionary no smoking signage on the primary entrance to the facility indicating it was a non-smoking facility for 1 of 1 primary entrance to the facility.
February 13, 2025Standard inspection · 0 citations
February 22, 2024Standard inspection · 0 citations

Fire safety inspections

13 fire safety citations on file: 6 on February 13, 2025, 6 on February 22, 2024, 1 on February 2, 2023.

Every fire safety citation13 citations
  1. E
    Inspect, test, and maintain automatic sprinkler systems.
    K 353 · February 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Add doors in an exit area that do not require the use of a key from the exit side unless in case of special locking arrangements.
    K 222 · February 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  3. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · February 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  4. D
    Provide properly protected cooking facilities.
    K 324 · February 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  5. D
    Have approved installation, maintenance and testing program for fire alarm systems.
    K 345 · February 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  6. D
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · February 13, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  7. E
    Have a battery powered remote alarm panel in a location accessible by operating personnel.
    K 916 · February 22, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  8. D
    Use approved construction type or materials.
    K 161 · February 22, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  9. D
    Install smoke barrier doors that can resist smoke for at least 20 minutes.
    K 374 · February 22, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  10. D
    Have properly installed electrical wiring and gas equipment.
    K 511 · February 22, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  11. D
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · February 22, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  12. D
    Have proper medical gas storage and administration areas.
    K 923 · February 22, 2024 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  13. D
    Ensure heating and ventilation systems that have been properly installed according to the manufacturer's instructions.
    K 521 · February 2, 2023 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

CMS lists no fines or payment denials against this home in the last three years. The national average is 0.9 fines per home.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)4.283.853.86
Registered nurses1.110.620.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.423.423.42
Nurse aides2.24
Licensed practical nurses0.93
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported49.0%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported45.6%42.9%
Administrators who left1

CMS expects 3.69 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 4.63 on weekdays and 3.42 on weekends, 26% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 2.6% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 3.96 in April to June 2025 to 4.28 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20264.281.114.633.42 2.6%0 of 9065
Oct to Dec 20254.121.034.463.26 9.2%0 of 9274
Jul to Sep 20253.610.713.813.11 16.4%13 of 9272
Apr to Jun 20253.960.844.223.28 20.4%0 of 9171
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
North Carolina, Jan to Mar 20263.650.533.823.258.0%0.7% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeNorth CarolinaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
21.515.613.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.20.70.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.12.31.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.03.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.01.41.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
39.018.314.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
8.85.54.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
10.214.015.4
Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
23.422.923.8
Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit
Short Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
7.212.912.0
Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
2.21.81.9
Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days
Long Stay residents, 20250101-20251231
3.31.81.8

Owners and operators

Legal business name: DLP WILMED NURSING CARE AND REHABILITATION CENTER LLC. CMS links this home to Lifepoint Health, a group of 8 nursing homes averaging 4 stars overall.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Dlp Wilson Holding Company LLC5% or greater direct ownership interestOrganization100%03/01/2014
Dlp Healthcare LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization03/01/2014
Dlp Partner LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization03/01/2014
Historic Lifepoint Hospitals, LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization03/01/2014
Legacy Lifepoint Health LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization11/19/2013
Lifepoint Holdings 2 LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization03/01/2014
Lifepoint Hospitals Holdings LLC5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization03/01/2014
Wilson Medical Center, Inc.5% or greater indirect ownership interestOrganization03/01/2014
Morse, DeshaeContracted managing employeeIndividual10/28/2020
Carter, JamesCorporate officerIndividual11/16/2018
Grooms, JohnCorporate officerIndividual11/01/2016
Lawrence, CharlotteCorporate officerIndividual02/03/2022
Monte, ChristopherCorporate officerIndividual03/01/2014
Polite, ElmerCorporate officerIndividual12/14/2020
Dlp Partner LLCOperational/managerial controlOrganization03/01/2014

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do residents and families raise a complaint or grievance, and how fast is it answered?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on May 20, 2026: "Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments."
  2. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on May 20, 2026: "Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment."
  3. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 1 problem in this area, most recently on May 20, 2026: "Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed."
  4. How long has the current administrator been here?CMS counts 1 administrator who left in the period it measured.

Other nursing homes nearby

North Carolina contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in North Carolina. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Wilson Rehabilitation and Nursing Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Wilson Rehabilitation and Nursing Center 4 out of 5 stars overall, with 4 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 3 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Wilson Rehabilitation and Nursing Center get at its last inspection?
3 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on May 20, 2026. The North Carolina average is 4.7.
Has Wilson Rehabilitation and Nursing Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines in the last three years.
Does Wilson Rehabilitation and Nursing Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Wilson Rehabilitation and Nursing Center?
CMS lists 15 owners and managers, and links the home to Lifepoint Health. Legal business name: DLP WILMED NURSING CARE AND REHABILITATION CENTER LLC.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection