Find a nursing home

Home / Louisiana / Luling

Luling Living Center

1125 Paul Maillard Rd, Luling, LA 70070 · St. Charles County · (985) 240-0197

117 certified beds, about 51 residents a day · For profit - Limited Liability company · Medicare and Medicaid since 2025

Special Focus Facility candidate Certified for Medicaid Certified for Medicare
Overall
1 of 5
Health inspections
1 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

CMS Care Compare ratings, data as of September 1, 2026 · CCN 195645 · See it on Medicare.gov · Compare with other homes

The record in brief

At its most recent standard inspection, on March 25, 2026, inspectors cited 8 health deficiencies (the Louisiana average is 6.4, the national average 9.2).

Of 16 health citations since March 2025, 2 were rated as actual harm or immediate jeopardy to residents (2 immediate jeopardy).

CMS lists 1 fine totaling $25,002 in the last three years; the largest was $25,002, and the latest is dated March 25, 2026.

Nurses and nurse aides worked 3.65 hours per resident per day, against 3.76 across Louisiana and 3.86 nationally. Registered nurses accounted for 0.26 of those hours.

Health inspections

Federal rules call for a standard inspection at least every 15 months, plus a visit whenever a complaint is filed. Each mark below is one citation, colored by how serious inspectors rated it. How to read a citation.

Under each citation, the quoted text is the inspector's own summary from the federal statement of deficiencies (CMS form 2567), word for word apart from a privacy scrub; CMS removes residents' and staff names before it publishes the text. The full notes are on Medicare.gov.

Potential for minimal harm Potential for more than minimal harm Actual harm Immediate jeopardy Found on a complaint visit

Where its citations fall on CMS's grid

CMS rates every citation by how much harm it caused (rows) and how many residents it touched (columns). The count in each box is this home's, across all 16 health citations on file.

Severity
Isolated
Pattern
Widespread
Immediate jeopardy
0J
0K
2L
Actual harm
0G
0H
0I
Potential for more than minimal harm
4D
8E
0F
Potential for minimal harm
0A
1B
1C
March 25, 2026Standard inspection, Complaint inspection · 8 citations
  1. L
    Provide basic life support, including CPR, prior to the arrival of emergency medical personnel , subject to physician orders and the resident’s advance directives.
    F678 · Quality of Life and Care · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 26, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to ensure licensed nursing staff provided basic life support, including cardiopulmonary resuscitation [(CPR) chest compressions and rescue breaths to maintain blood flow and oxygen to vital organs], in accordance with the resident's physician orders and American Heart Association for 1 (Resident #54) of 1 sampled residents reviewed who had expired in the facility in a total sample of 19 residents. [...]
  2. L
    Administer the facility in a manner that enables it to use its resources effectively and efficiently.
    F835 · Administration · Immediate jeopardy to resident health or safety, widespread · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 26, 2026
    Inspectors wroteI.Based on observations, record reviews, and interviews, the facility failed to be administered in a manner that enabled it to use its resources effectively and efficiently to attain or maintain the highest practicable physical well-being of each resident by failing to implement and maintain an adequate system to ensure administrative staff identified deficient practices, implemented corrective actions, and ensured licensed nursing staff were trained and competent in verifying residents' code status, initiating and continuing CPR until emergency medical services arrived. This deficient practice was identified for 1 (Resident #54) of 1 sampled residents reviewed who had expired in the facility in a total sample of 19 residents. [...]
  3. E
    Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
    F658 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 17, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and record review, the facility failed to ensure medications were administered as ordered by the physician for 1 (Resident #47) of 2 sampled residents reviewed, in accordance with professional standards of nursing practice.
  4. E
    Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
    F686 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 13, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to provide pressure ulcer treatments as ordered by the physician for 3 (Resident #7, Resident #16, Resident #44) of 3 sampled residents investigated for pressure ulcers.
  5. E
    Provide routine and 24-hour emergency dental care for each resident.
    F790 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and record reviews, the facility failed to ensure a resident received dental services as required for 1 (Resident #47) of 1 sampled residents investigated for dental services.
  6. E
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 17, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and record review, the facility failed to maintain complete and accurate medical records for 6 residents (Residents #2, #7, #16, #27, #44, #47) of 6 sampled residents reviewed for accurate documentation.
  7. D
    Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
    F693 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 15, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record review the provider failed to ensure staff administered a resident's hydration through an enteral tube (a tube inserted directly into the stomach) per a Physician's Order for 1 (Resident #4) of 1 sampled residents investigated for enteral tube hydration.
  8. D
    Arrange for the provision of hospice services or assist the resident in transferring to a facility that will arrange for the provision of hospice services.
    F849 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) April 2, 2026
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews and record reviews, the facility failed to coordinate hospice care and obtain required information from the resident's hospice agency. This deficient practice was identified for 1 (Resident #23) of 1 sampled residents investigated for hospice services.
August 27, 2025Complaint inspection · 7 citations
  1. E
    Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
    F690 · Quality of Life and Care · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 11, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to ensure:1. A resident's indwelling catheter tubing and bag were changed as needed (Resident #1); 2. Residents with an indwelling urinary catheter received catheter care as ordered (Resident #1, Resident #2); and,3. A resident's urinary catheter order was completed (Resident #2). This deficient practice was identified for 2 (Resident #1, Resident #2) of 2 (Resident #1, Resident #2) sampled residents investigated for urinary catheter care and Urinary Tract Infections (UTI).
  2. E
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    F842 · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 13, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observation, interviews and record reviews, the facility failed to ensure a resident's medical record was accurately documented for 2 (Resident #1, Resident #2) of 3 (Resident #1, Resident #2, Resident #3) sampled residents investigated for accurate medical record documentation.
  3. E
    Develop, implement, and/or maintain an effective training program that includes effective communications for direct care staff members.
    F941 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and interviews, the facility failed to ensure direct care staff were provided effective communication training for 5 (S10Certified Nursing Assistant [CNA], S13CNA, S14CNA, S15CNA, S16CNA) of 5 (S10CNA, S13CNA, S14CNA, S15CNA, S16CNA) sampled direct care staff investigated for training requirements.
  4. E
    Conduct mandatory training, for all staff, on the facility’s Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement Program.
    F944 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on record reviews and interviews, the facility failed to ensure direct care staff were provided Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement (QAPI) training for 5 (S10Certified Nursing Assistant [CNA], S13CNA, S14CNA, S15CNA, S16CNA) of 5 (S10CNA, S13CNA, S14CNA, S15CNA, S16CNA) sampled direct care staff investigated for training requirements.
  5. D
    Conduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.
    F838 · Administration · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 18, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure the facility assessment included active involvement from direct care staff, residents, and residents' representatives in its development and the current number of residents in the facility at the time of the assessment.
  6. D
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    F880 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 25, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations, interviews, and record reviews, the facility failed to ensure staff wore proper personal protective equipment (PPE) and completed hand hygiene while performing incontinence and/or wound care for residents on Enhanced Barrier Precautions (EBP) for 2 (Resident #1, Resident #3) of 2 (Resident #1, Resident #3) sampled residents observed for incontinence and/or wound care.
  7. B
    Post nurse staffing information every day.
    F732 · Nursing and Physician Services · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, pattern · found on a complaint visit · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) September 2, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on observations and interviews, the facility failed to post the required nurse staffing information at the beginning of each shift daily for 3 (08/25/2025, 08/26/2025, 08/27/2025) of 3 (08/25/2025, 08/26/2025, 08/27/2025) days observed for nurse staffing information.
March 10, 2025Standard inspection · 1 citation
  1. C
    Designate a qualified infection preventionist to be responsible for the infection prevent and control program in the nursing home.
    F882 · Infection Control · No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread · Corrected (the home has a date of correction) March 17, 2025
    Inspectors wroteBased on interviews, the facility failed to ensure that the individual designated as the Infection Preventionist had completed specialized infection prevention and control training.

Fire safety inspections

2 fire safety citations on file: 2 on March 10, 2025.

Every fire safety citation2 citations
  1. D
    Ensure that special areas are constructed so that walls can resist fire for one hour or have an approved fire extinguishing system.
    K 321 · March 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)
  2. D
    Have proper openings in smoke barrier doors.
    K 379 · March 10, 2025 · Corrected (the home has a date of correction)

Fines and payment denials

DatePenaltyAmount or length
March 25, 2026Fine $25,002

A payment denial means Medicare and Medicaid stopped paying for new admissions for that period.

Staffing

Hours of care per resident per day, from the payroll records every home sends CMS. Higher means more staff time with each resident.

MeasureThis homeLouisianaUnited States
All nursing staff (RN, LPN and aides)3.653.763.86
Registered nurses0.260.310.69
All nursing staff on weekends3.083.213.42
Nurse aides2.10
Licensed practical nurses1.29
Nursing staff turnover (share who left in a year)not reported47.6%45.8%
Registered nurse turnovernot reported41.6%42.9%
Administrators who leftnot reported

CMS expects 2.93 hours a day for residents as sick as this home's (its case-mix figure). The staffing star compares the two.

Staffing by quarter, from daily payroll records

Every nursing home sends CMS its staff hours for each day (the Payroll Based Journal). Here they are added up by quarter. The latest quarter is the one behind the figures above. In January to March 2026, nursing staff hours per resident were 3.89 on weekdays and 3.08 on weekends, 21% lower on weekends (nationally, weekends ran 15% lower). Contract or agency staff worked 0.0% of nursing hours, against 5.3% nationally. Total nursing hours per resident went from 4.73 in April to June 2025 to 3.65 in January to March 2026.

QuarterAll nursing staffRegistered nursesWeekdaysWeekendsContract staff shareDays with no RN hoursResidents a day
Jan to Mar 20263.650.263.893.08 0.0%0 of 9051
Oct to Dec 20253.700.243.913.15 0.0%0 of 9249
Jul to Sep 20254.140.224.403.47 0.0%0 of 9241
Apr to Jun 20254.730.305.063.91 0.0%0 of 9133
United States, Jan to Mar 20263.750.623.923.335.3%0.5% of days
Louisiana, Jan to Mar 20263.640.263.863.103.6%0.9% of days

Hours per resident per day: staff hours in the quarter divided by resident days (the daily census CMS derives from resident assessments). Registered nurses include the director of nursing and RNs with administrative duties; aides include nurse aides in training and medication aides, as in CMS's own staffing measure. How these are calculated.

Quality measures

The measures CMS uses for the quality star. Lower is better for every one of them.

MeasureThis homeLouisianaUS
Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
31.417.813.9
Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
1.21.20.8
Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
0.02.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
2.03.53.2
Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication
Short Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
6.73.11.6
Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
17.117.914.1
Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
3.55.64.6
Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Long Stay residents, 2025Q2-2026Q1
12.622.715.4

Owners and operators

Legal business name: LULING LIVING CENTER.

NameRoleTypeShareSince
Guillot, Clint Paul5% or greater direct ownership interestIndividual80%07/16/2002
Guillot, Clint PaulCorporate officerIndividual07/16/2002
Guillera, MichaelOperational/managerial controlIndividual07/01/2024
Guillot, Clint PaulOperational/managerial controlIndividual02/17/2002
Guillot, Clint PaulGeneral partnership interestIndividual07/16/2002
Guillera, MichaelAdp of the SNFIndividual07/01/2024
Guillot, Clint PaulAdp of the SNFIndividual01/01/2020
Parikh, ParimalAdp of the SNFIndividual02/24/2025

As listed in the CMS ownership file, which names owners with a 5% or greater stake and the people and companies with operational or managerial control.

Questions to ask on a visit

Chosen from this home's own inspection record.

  1. How do you prevent falls and pressure injuries, and how are families told when one happens?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2026: "Provide basic life support, including CPR, prior to the arrival of emergency medical personnel , subject to physician orders and the resident’s advance directives."
  2. Who is the administrator and director of nursing, and how long have they been in the job?Inspectors cited 5 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2026: "Administer the facility in a manner that enables it to use its resources effectively and efficiently."
  3. When is the care plan meeting, and can family attend it?Inspectors cited 3 problems in this area, most recently on March 25, 2026: "Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality."
  4. What changed in infection control since the last inspection, and who on staff is the infection preventionist?Inspectors cited 2 problems in this area, most recently on August 27, 2025: "Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program."
  5. Who is on the floor on Saturday and Sunday, and how many residents does each aide care for?Weekend nurse staffing here was 3.08 hours per resident per day, below the Louisiana average of 3.21.

Other nursing homes nearby

Louisiana contacts for a concern about a nursing home

These are the official offices in Louisiana. NursingHomeClear cannot take or act on complaints.

Common questions

What is Luling Living Center's Medicare star rating?
CMS rates Luling Living Center 1 out of 5 stars overall, with 1 for health inspections, 3 for staffing and 4 for quality measures (CMS data as of September 1, 2026).
How many deficiencies did Luling Living Center get at its last inspection?
8 health deficiencies at the standard inspection on March 25, 2026. The Louisiana average is 6.4.
Has Luling Living Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $25,002 in the last three years.
Does Luling Living Center accept Medicaid?
It is certified to take Medicaid (CMS lists it as "Medicare and Medicaid"). Certification does not mean a Medicaid bed is open: ask the admissions office.
Who owns Luling Living Center?
CMS lists 8 owners and managers. Legal business name: LULING LIVING CENTER.

Sources

Find a nursing home Read an inspection